We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elysian Plain Villa- Fabulous”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 30, 2007

I just got back from Tryall yesterday and had to post a review. My family absolutely loved our experience at Elysian Plain. This was our annual family vacation with 7 adults and 2 young children. We felt completely pampered the whole vacation. The staff was great, they took amazing care of us. From doing our laundry every day, to cooking whatever meals you want at whatever time you want it, to just watching out for us and interacting with the kids, they were there to help.

Other members of my family golfed and really liked the course. I spent a lot of time in the pool and the beach, both great. The view from the house is amazing -- you are right on the water and have a great sunset view too. There is a tidepool at the water's edge, a favorite for my 3 year old niece, we checked out the starfish every morning. We were there at the low season and the resort felt like it was ours alone to enjoy... but I am sure that in the winter it is packed. Staying in a gated community allowed us to feel completely safe the whole time.

The house is great, two of the bedrooms connect which was great for my sister and her kids. The cottage bedrooms are lovely and have great views. I highly recommend this villa to anyone looking for a seafront view.

One note, there is a lot of tipping to be done (caddies, shuttle drivers, house staff, etc) so bring lots of small bills. US dollars are taken everywhere but the local farmers market. Food was much more expensive that we were expecting as well, so be prepared.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravelGirlSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 548 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

Our family of four (myself, husband and two girls ages 13 and 10) just returned from a week stay at Tryall Villa (stella). Let me just say, this was the most relaxing and enjoyable getaway our family has ever had! The amazing staff at Villa Stella (a five bedroom villa) pampered us and took extra effort to make sure we were happy. The meals were fabulous and the drinks were such a treat! The Club at Tryall was great. The family beach area was always so nice and never crowded. All kayaks and boats were free for us to use, as was beach towels, snorkeling gear, sand toys were available for free, just for the asking. Loved the beverage service offered on the beach too. The kids tried the Kids Club which was fun during the day but not as much so in the evenings. The activities offered were appealing to kids of many ages and our kids actually asked us to go there. The Quiet Beach was great if you need some privacy and peace. We cannot wait to return. I googled "Jamaica accomdations" and found this Club and villa. We booked our stay through Linda Smith jamaica villas.com and they went above and beyond to make sure our trip was planned to our specific needs. They had a driver waiting for us as soon as we stepped off the plane in Jamaica. He greeted us with a cooler full of ice and a variety of drinks, which after a long day of traveling was a sight for sore eyes! Took us directly to our villa without any problems. Please consider taking your next vacation at Tryall. There is something for everyone. My husband said the Golf was amazing and the tennis courts were great, and the "ball girl" was so helpful. Gorgeous resort! A++++

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jill2babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We just got back from a trip to Montego Bay, Jamaica. We were a group of 9 and rented out a Villa in Tryall club. It was called Karma Bay, and was fully staffed with cook, butler, gardener and on the beach. We would highly reccoment the Villa was families and large groups.

The weather for the most part was excellent. In the entire week we had 3 days of thunderstorms that lasted for a couple of hours in the afternoon, but the weather was still warm and clear.

We did a few day trips to Negril, Dunn River Water falls in Orchois. The beaches are awesome - warm and shallow and it was safe to leave the kids to wade around.

7  Thank Lalitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
123
Reviewed May 9, 2006

We just spent a wonderful week at Tryall in Jamaica. There were six of us - four adults and two toddlers staying in the three-bedroom Pinnacle villa. The Tryall website doesn't do this villa justice. The villa has been updated recently, and is top-notch throughout. The staff is very nice and did a great job. They worked hard to accommodate any wishes that we or our two little ones might have. Special notice to Beverly and Rose, the two main staff members, who kept the home running smoothly and provided tasty meals and snacks for all.

Resort seemed deserted - What is amazing about Tryall is that while the "resort" was ~60% occupancy, it seemed deserted. Combining this with the villa experience means that you can really relax and get away from everything.

Golf - Could not believe that only 15 people or so were playing per DAY. As a result, it was very easy to walk-up and get out at any point during the day. It’s a challenging, but fair course in good condition. I would definitely rate it higher than Half Moon (played many times over the last ten years), and almost on par with the terribly punitive White Witch. I played 6x during the week and wanted to stick-around for more. Our caddies were "Brown" and "Devon", both blessed with a good sense of humor and patience for our strict adherence to "army golf" (left-right-left-right...). In addition, the staff in the pro shop as well as the caddie master were very nice folks and took great care of us.

Linda Smith – Definitely consider using Linda and her team. They just made the entire process so much easier. Their site [---] is wonderful and provides great insight into the villa vacation. I spent far too much of their time on the phone asking many questions about the resort and our villa in particular – they did a great job making us feel comfortable that this vacation was right for us.

Nanny service - This is available and very inexpensive (~$4.50/hr). We requested two "swim nannies" to help with the twins (3 yr. olds) while we were on the golf course in the morning. They were very nice and the kids loved them. They often went to the Kids Club, the main resort pool as well as the beach.

One concern – Unlike Half Moon, which we visited a number of times, the golf course is a bit lax on the security (the remainder of the resort has top notch security at all times – we never ever felt concern for our safety at any time of day). At HM, no one ever approached us to sell us golf balls or random wood products (fish, bowls, dogs, cats, signs…). At Tryall, random people on the course would try to sell us balls at least five times per round. I didn’t really have a problem with these folks – they were nice and not terribly aggressive and would listen to a “I don’t need any more balls…thank you”. Let’s be clear, I did not need any balls, but we still bought 1-2 dozen per round for “respect”. The real problem was the guys selling wood products at the tee box of the seventh hole (in the shadow of the waterwheel). Once again, out of “respect”, we purchased 7-8 products in the first two days that we did not need, but bought to support the local folks. We thought that that would do it for the week. Instead, new guys showed-up every day and aggressively pushed the product – they really tried to intimidate us and made us fear in some small way for our safety (at times we had 1-2 women in our group). This just should not happen on vacation. We complained to the our caddies and the caddie master – it stopped for one day…but then quickly started-up again the next day. I really don’t want to blow this out of proportion, because EVERYTHING else on the vacation was just great.

In summary, we will definitely be back to Tryall and Pinnacle next year and for many to come.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2006

The Roundhouse is a great place to relax. We were there in February and we will return in late May. The view is wonderful and with 7 bedrooms, all air conditioned, it easily accomodates 14 people. The staff has been there a good while and do all possible to make every visit memorable. Delroy, Marcie, Maureen, Calvin, Earl and Beverly become a part of your family and it is difficult to say goodbye. We've stayed at the Roundhouse many times over the years and it is always predictably wonderful.

Stayed: February 2006
9  Thank Radiovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

We stayed at the Seafore Villa, one of the smaller ones, but it accomodated the six of us (4 adults, 2 children) wonderfully. The staff of 5, led by Naomi the cook, was first rate. Everything is effortless - meals cooked to your liking, house and grounds continually cleaned, clothes washed and pressed and a sparkling pool. You just can beat it. We paid a peak-time rental fee of $5,000/week, $1,200 for food and drink (we special-ordered lots of seafood and food in general is very expensive in the islands) and a $500 staff tip. This covered all six of us. There were incidentals such as greens fees and tennis fees but it remains a remarkable bargain.

The Golf, Tennis and Beach Clubs were all first rate. Clean, well groomed and supervised. $85 greens fee (with half price for youth) very reasonable for a resort.

Stayed: February 2006
13  Thank JadedDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new england
114
Reviewed February 4, 2006

We spent a week in Tryall and fell in love! This wasn't our first trip to Jamaica but previously we stayed in a hotel and it didn't compare to the villas! My family of five visited in April with three other families. We stayed with another gruop of five in Tradewinds. It was perfect, we had a beach front villa with an amazing staff. The meals were delicious perfect for children and adults, I reccomend the pumpkin soup! The children's ages ranged from six to sixteen and everyone was entertained! Golfing, tennis, and relaxing by the pool were the adults main priority while the kids fell in love with the water trampoline, regaee dance classes, and splashing in the pool! Tryall is a great family place but I reccomend going with a big group. While we were there we went out on a sailboat stopping for scuba diving and of course Margariteville! Make sure to check out the hilarious slide, a big thumbs up on both adults and kids. Back at Tryall we made sure not to skip tea and cookies and for the adults, happy hour! Going home was sad as always but we all agreed we missed our staff the most. Not only were they amazing cooks, gardeners, laundresses, and butlers, they were the kindest most loving people. We left Tryall with new friends, big laughs, and lasting memories!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
515 reviews
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,355 reviews
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
259 reviews
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
14.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: $451 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing