We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This was my 4th trip to Tryall and every time it is more amazing... The staff treat you like royalty and will do every thing to make your stay comfortable.....They make it so hard to leave and to think of the day you will be returning

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkHomeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    41
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
223
59
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at Fairwinds in May with our daughter & her husband & 2l month old granddaughter. I can't say enough for all the help we were given by Lisa, Patricia, & Stephanie from Jamaican Treasures & also Melanie, the villa manager. They did everything possible to make sure we were happy. No questions or concerns were too small for them to handle, and always with a smile. They absolutely want your villa experience to be a great one,
We stayed at Fairwinds & the villa was very nice. The staff were very friendly, meals were always on time, & the service was great. The pool was fantastic & had a lounge/bar area next to it with a small fish pond. This was very convenient not only for drinks & snacks, but we were able to escape the sun if necessary & yet still be next to the pool with the beautiful view. We ate once at the beach bar & the food was very good. The beach was also bigger then we thought it would be & the water was beautiful.
We hope to go back again in the near future since we have been going to Jamaica for 30 years & have never met friendlier people. I also would definitely use Jamaican Treasures again as they provide excellent service & really want you to return to Jamaica again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We went to the Tryall Club in Montego Bay, Jamaica, to attend a family wedding. We all stayed in Villa's and ours was right on the Caribbean Sea with a built in swimming pool in the back yard. We had three bedrooms where we each had our own bathroom and one main room where we ate and could sit and in the living area to relax. Our cook made anything that we wanted, (the food was delicious and prepared just as we wanted) and our housekeeper served us and kept everything clean. Our laundress washed and ironed our clothes daily and our gardener kept the pool and the grounds spotless. We could go to the beach, snorkel, take a sail boat out or swim in the pool. We couldn't have asked for better service, including check in and check out. I would recommend the Tryall Club to anyone who wants to just relax and let everyone else do the work.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Our party of 10 just returned from a week at Anticipation Villa. We have stayed in many villas throughout the Caribbean over the past 20 years, and Anticipation Villa ranks as one of the best. There are wonderful sea views from every room. All bedrooms are comparably sized and equally appointed making it perfect for couples traveling together. There are lovely private outdoor sitting areas outside each bedroom as well. The villa is beautifully furnished, and the photos on the web site do not do it justice. For those who are into 'tech' things-large flat screened tvs throughout, ipod docking stations in each bedroom, and a villa wide sound system. Bed linens and towels were first rate. There were children in our party and all loved the pool that had both a deep and shallow end. The Tryall Club itself was lovely. The 2 golf carts provided by the villa made quick trips to the beach easy. A fabulous villa!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohiotraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Tryall is an incredible club, loaded with things to do and beautiful surroundings.--tennis, golf, beach, swimming, walking, croquet, sunbathing, gourmet food-truly the best resort we have ever been to. I have tried and failed to find a resort with the same amenities. The staff is very friendly, always waving hello to everyone, but in a very sincere yet respectful way. The villas are gorgeous--every one of them. Ours, Pinnacle, is tastefully decorated and has many special amenities--thermus of cool water at bedside, fresh soaps, helpful and efficient staff, excellent food, maid service and laundress, warm pool, relaxing chaises, etc I could go on and on. This is truly a vacation ladies--no need to think about anything except your next activity, nap or cocktail. You will cherish every moment and then the memories afterward. Just go.

  • Liked — Amount of different things to do--or not.
  • Disliked — Price means I cannot come as much as I'd like to.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribbeantraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We just returned from Tryall a few days ago. The weather in Jamaica is apparently always in the mid 80's... it was a welcome change from the early December freeze of Maryland! I know I speak for my entire family when I say that it was our best family vacation ever. We returned refreshed and happy and we are already planning to return!

We had a wonderful time. We stayed at "Sugar Hill" which is one of Tryall's newest villas. It is perched up high up on the hillside with breathtaking views of the Caribbean. There were 15 of us and we had plenty of space. It is a fantastic property complete with an adjoining guest house, pool, Jacuzzi, gym and game room. Attention to detail in the furnishings and decoration was evident all over the villa. We found out that quite a few of the pieces were actually made by local artisans. The spectacular guest rooms were large and had comfortable beds. We have two small children that the Sugar Hill staff had made arrangements for even before we arrived.

The architecture at Sugar Hill is quintessential Jamaica: high ceilings with spacious gathering areas yet at the same time cozy and warm. At Sugar Hill there are large porches seemingly everywhere with stunning views of the Caribbean and you get the very pleasant feeling that the line between outside and inside of the house is somehow blurred. I will never forget how nice it was to leave the doors open and let the warm sea breezes blow through the entire house. We never had any problems with bugs, even at night!

The staff at Sugar Hill and around the Tryall Club were always very attentive and friendly. The house was kept immaculately clean despite having four young children running around. The food was fresh, tasty and satisfying and sometimes included local ingredients. Our chef was also able to provide vegetarian meals to my niece that she really seemed to enjoy. My wife is a gourmet cook and she was also favorably impressed and was always asking for the recipes! Having your laundry done for you every day by the staff was also a real treat and it allows you to pack very light even for a long stay. Our butler was very friendly and attentive and was available to help us with whatever we needed. After a few days we felt like the entire staff were part of our family! We felt pampered and cared for every step of the way. We all felt what I believe is so important on a vacation like this: you become so comfortable in your surroundings that it just “feels like home”.

We had the opportunity to tour a few other large villas at the resort. They are given by request on just a few days of the week and only on villas that are unoccupied. A guest relations specialist from Tryall accompanied us on the tour. I can honestly say that Sugar Hill was the most inviting and cozy of the properties we visited. After the tour, everyone said, "I'm so glad we are staying at Sugar Hill!"

The golf at Tryall is terrific. The views of the Caribbean are spectacular. The course is well-maintained. The greens are paced just right for the sometimes steeply sloped greens. Caddies are required and they can be very helpful in reading putts (but mostly they are great at finding your golf ball for you!) Tennis is also available and the facilities appeared to be top-notch and not crowded at all. The beach facilities were also a nice surprise... they have everything you could want available for the asking. The beach waiter kept us all happy too!

As I stated at the beginning, we have already decided to return because everyone had such a pleasant and relaxing time. It’s clear the management of Tryall and the staff at Sugar Hill are committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We can’t wait to go back!

  • Liked — The staff at Sugar Hill and the overall fantastic experience
  • Disliked — Having to say goodbye!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DJohn12402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We booked Tradewinds Villa with Lisa Clarke of Jamaican Treasures, she was fantastic to deal with...extremely prompt responses and never made us feel like we were a bother! Lisa is always very accurate in her listings and advice, I have booked a few Jamaican villas through her in the past and she has always been amazing to work with. Tradewinds was so wonderful, we traveled with our extended family ages 4-74... with 3 teens! Everyone loved their stay, our second one at this particular villa. Tradewinds has a seaside private pool, beautiful seaside dining; private rocky beach and is short walking distance to Tryall's sandy beach, the house is lovely with 4.5 airconditioned bedrooms all with bathrooms ensuite, all kept spotlessly clean, perfect for our group of 9 people. It is so nice to travel light, knowing that your laundry will be done to perfection each day and returned to you folded, pressed and in perfect condition. What is always extremely important in a fully staffed Jamaican villa vacatiion is the staffF. The staff at Tradewinds is absolutely professional, always available, but never in the way. Gina deserves special mention as she is smart, kind and a wonderful hostess, she made us feel welcome and comfortable...which is sometimes difficult when you are worried about the whole idea of "staff". She did the job of taking care of 9 of us with such style and grace, she almost made it look easy...never flustered and always helpful. Tryall is immaculate and every person you come into contact with on property is friendly, kind and helpful. The teens could drive about the grounds on golf carts, touch base with those all important friends back home with the free internet service and computers in the airconditioned greathouse computer room, buy a snack for themselves at the commissary shop and even have a lunch alone at the beach side grill with their "charge cards" attached to our credit cards for payment at the end of the trip. It makes a world of difference for teens to have some sense of freedom while we know they are safe on the property. The new fitness room is wonderrful, with new and excellent machines and weights.... the sea view is spectacular. The nanny service was wonderful for our 4 year old, Marcia took him to the Hummingbird Kid's Club and played with him beautifully, we didn't use her services much since there were no other children in the Kid's Club during our stay, but the break for us (and him) was nice and only $4.50 per hour -- though I must admit I tipped almost 100% because it seemed like way too little to pay and she was so wonderful. We will be back at Tryall over and over again. I welcome any questions regarding Tradewinds or the villa vacation experience generally. We are huge fans. Many thanks to all of the lovely people at Tryall, but especially to Gina, Ray, Tina and Dudley who all made our family vacation absolutely magical.

  • Liked — Villa Staff were outstanding.
  • Disliked — it was all good...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank srayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
226 reviews
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
14.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Property: Tryall Club
Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing