We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found at Mahogany Hill”
Review of Tryall Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tryall Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We just returned from an 8 day stay at Mahogany Hill, a beautifully appointed villa at the Tryall Club. You can't get better than this. My husband and I are seasoned travelers and were blown away by the luxury and shear relaxation of this vacation. We were greeted by the wonderful staff with cool, scented towels...this set the tone for our entire vacation. The rooms were beautiful, the views were breathtaking, and the cool breeze that found it's way into our gazebo was exactly what the doctor ordered.

This was a true vacation! The staff was absolutely amazing. Favian proved to be a wonderful host and terrific mixologist. Maureen dazzled us with her made-to-order eggs in the morning and four-course dinners. We're all still talking about her poolside lobster salad! Your laundry is done every day and delivered to you wrapped in clean linen towels each evening.

We were a party of 10 adults and 2 children and we could not have asked for more from our vacation. We're already trying to figure out how we can return!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. One room has twin beds that can be converted into a King. Three rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melliempa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 524 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were lucky to stay in a wonderful and large villa on the Tryall Estate, which was fantastic and were very well looked after by superb staff, but this review is about the wider Tryall Resort facilities shared by villa and Great House guests.

When we looked for a Caribbean villa holiday, initially we were looking for a stand-alone house, not one on an estate or resort. However, having ended up booking a Tryall villa we never regretted it.

We made good use of the Tryall facilities. Staying in a villa here gives you the freedom and independence of a “villa” holiday, but the ability to make use of the facilities of a hotel. It also means that if you get “cabin fever” in the villa, you can at least see other friendly faces down at the beach (or on the tennis courts or golf course). We made good use of the golf course (quiet in low season, but immaculately kept – challenging, but manageable) and tennis. All the staff at the golf and tennis facilities were extremely professional, and very accommodating and went to great lengths to meet all our needs. There is a good driving range and well stocked pro-shop on the golf course, and a full range of coaches, hitting partners and ball boys on the tennis courts.

Also, the beach team will keep you busy in the water either sailing the Hobie Cats, or helping you find the best shell-finding spots. The snorkelling was a bit disappointing but perhaps we did not try hard enough. TJ, the in-house naturalist, does great kayaking and walking tours highlighting the local wildlife – great for children and adults alike. The wonderful wildlife at Tryall is a huge advantage, and we saw Mongoose, Pelicans, Magnificent Frigatebirds, Humming Birds, Eagle Rays, huge crabs and plentiful lizards and toads, not to mention the ever present Turkey Vultures who circled the estate.

The Great House has a well-stocked Commissary (grocery store) whose prices were not as scary as we had anticipated. There was also an excellent beautician who we used for manicures etc.

If anyone was restless in the afternoon, then they would hop in one of the villa’s golf buggies and go for a drive around the huge estate, and cool down. The whole estate is immaculately kept, although the broader landscape remains more than sufficiently rugged and untamed (it is pretty much rain forest) to ensure that you do not think you are holidaying in a suburban “gated community”.

We only ate once in a Tryall restaurant which was the Wednesday night beach BBQ. The food was fine, and there was “Jamaican” entertainment after dinner. The show was undoubtedly very touristy, and even slightly tongue-in-cheek, but the children loved it, and several of the performers – particularly the limbo dancers and contortionist – were genuinely jaw-dropping and highly entertaining. We had drinks in the Great House Bar, and the Beach Cafe – both of which were quiet, but despite that were great locations to sip something and watch the sun go down.

Although I am sure that the Tryall properties vary from villa to villa, we were very pleased with the “central” services provided by Tryall, and would very much have missed them had we “gone it alone” on a stand-alone property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just returned from a week long stay at this beautiful beachfront villa. My husband and I travelled with our 22 year old daughter and two of her friends. We all had an amazing vacation and there was enough space in and around the villa, for the privacy we all wanted at times.

There is absolutely no comparison to a real villa experience (as opposed to the "mock" villas and "personal" butlers provided by other resorts). Sunset villa included four personal staff members, spacious and luxurious accomodations in stunning settings, incredible meals on your schedule, no dress code, 180 degree beach views, pools large enough to actually swim laps, beautiful outdoor seating even during inclement weather, wireless internet (that actually works) everywhere, ultimate privacy and one of my favourites, daily laundry service. Every meal is an occasion, with beautiful table settings, impeccable service, incomparable meals and stunning views. Did I mention the homemade peanut butter cookies, apple crumble, plantain chips, lemon and chocolate souffles, decadent chocolate cake and the best cheesecake we've every eaten?
Suzie our chef, Sonia our housekeeper, Maureen (Sassy) the laundress and Alton the gardener are a marvelous team that met and exceeded every one of our expectations and anticipated our needs to the fullest extent. We can't thank them enough for their service, wonderful personalities, courtesy and humour.
Snorkeling off the beach to the nearby reefs was wonderful, the beach impeccably clean and the views from the Great House stunning. We and the girls enjoyed exploring the Tryall property via the provided golf cart.
While we were somewhat disappointed that we didn't get to experience afternoon tea at the Great House (check to see what activities are offered during low season) we found Richard in Tryall Guest Relations to be courteous, professional and very accomodating.

Sunset was our second villa stay and we are astounded at how economical they are. We travelled in a party of six last May, and this time we were a party of five. On both occasions, the entire stay, including a generous staff gratuity, was less expensive than a stay for two adults, in a top butler suite, off season at those other popular Jamaican resorts.

We will definitely be returning to Sunset at the Beach and for a family reunion, are seriously considering a larger villa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sandybeachOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We went to Ma' Moura with two other couples and everyone had a wonderful time. The staff was awesome - we had a week without a single worry. Wayne, our butler, made sure everything went smoothly - attentive but very unobtrusive. Jasmine, the chef, did a superb job with every meal & her chocolate souffle elicited signs from everyone at the table. Patsy and Nancy kept the villa clean, freshly decorated with flowers and our clothes were washed & pressed everyday. The pool is centrally located in the villa, so convenient, and was kept sparkling clean by Maurice. The private beach was a quick golf cart ride away & the water was perfect. The beach had a nice cafe as well as an outside shower to rinse the salt away before you lounged on your chaise under your cabana. We were so relaxed that we didn't need a massage but got one anyway and we highly recommend Tiffany. Took day trip to Negril (you must get a driver - Roy was great - the roads & drivers are pretty crazy) and we liked the RockHouse Restaurant at sunset. Skip Margaritaville and Rick's Cafe is okay for drinks and watching the cliff divers.
If you are looking for a tropical getaway that melts away stress and worries this is it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the sundance villa. The staff was amazing. The food was delicious. The beaches were clean and the water was warm. August is a great time to go because there was no one else there!! Totally and completely relaxing. I actually teared up when we left.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at Tryall for a family vacation and wedding this past August. Upon arrival, I was immediately impressed with how well the lush tropical grounds were maintained. The golf greens were immaculate. The beach area was well taken care of. Check in was very efficient and the Reception staff was very friendly.

The villa we stayed at was the Xanadu, and TripAdvisor's featured pics are true representations. Travelling with our extended family (2 grandparents, 6 adults, and 4 grandkids), we were so pleased with the size of the villa. It’s open and breezy floor plan and tropical decor in many sitting areas and 5 bed rooms was ample room for all of us. This villa itself boasts one of the most spectacular views of the beach and bay area. It’s charming private pool was the favorite feature of our kids. The villa also had internet connectivity which was important to some of us.

The Xanadu had several golf carts which we were free to use to explore Tryall’s grounds or zip to the beach. Grocery shopping at the onsite commissary was convenient, although we were very comfortable venturing in town to a nearby grocery store. The onsite Kids Club featured daily activities such as face painting and arts & crafts. We took advantage of the onsite Beauty Salon. We also enjoyed having cocktails at the Great House bar.

Finally, what made our vacation so spectacular was the wonderful service that the Xanadu staff provided. Lurlene - is a first class cook and made sure we were all very feel fed. Morris - the butler was so accommodating and set the most gorgeous table settings for our family meals. Karen - one of the housekeepers was extraordinarily friendly and attentive to our needs; Ionie - the other housekeeper, along with Karen, kept our villa spotless. Finally Derrick - the Gardener kept the pool and grounds very well maintained.

All in all, this vacation was nothing short of perfect.
The most memorable family vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LLVAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our first trip to Tryall. We had previously stayed at Round Hill a few years prior. We unfortunately experienced problems from the beginning of the trip.

When we arrived, our housestaff reported that they had not expected our arrival, although Tryall staff had picked us up from the airport. We were then informed that there was no cook for our place in the the Great Villa as she was on vacation. We asked for 2 rollaway cots for our kids for our room. We were not informed that there was additional expense for these per night. The Great House Villa had already been payed in advance with the disclosure of 2 adults and 2 children.

Our housekeeper was very sweet, but told us on numerous occasions that her hours were only until 4:30-- unfortunately we had arrived closer to 5 pm. Our place was cleaned daily, but the bathroom were "stocked" only with one towel to share between the 4 of us. The rest were kept locked in the linen closet.

On numerous occasions during our stay, the A/C broke. Although we informed the manager, it was not fixed until 2 days later-- only to break again.

Our staff required punctual eating, which is difficult for 2 small children. Minimal meals requests were offered to us. My husband had unfortunately needed to bring some work with him on the vacation. At one point, the staff asked him to put his work away so he would eat his meal "on time". This was then followed up with a comment along the lines of, "you shouldn't be working on your vacation." Although minor in comment, on the heels of everything else, this was difficult to tolerate.

The pool was intermittently nice. On our first day, it was not swimmable with the sea of bugs on the surface. There were no staff to attend the pool. No towels were offered. On our last day, the bathroom next to the pool was actually locked.

Midtrip we scheduled an outting to leave the resort. We were not informed of the transportation costs ahead of time. We received inaccurate information about our site as well. A walk in the waterfall is not ideal for little children.

Our stay unfortunately closed with incorrect billing. Earlier they had set us up to leave the day after arrival. We straightened this out immediately and had confirmed our exit day. On the day just prior to our actual departure, we were informed that we were being charged for an extra day. Attempts to straighten it out immediately were difficult as the property manager was in New York. despite us showign the front desk staff the confirmation email we had received. Only after repeated attempts by us, not the front desk staff, were we able to straighten this out. On our way to the airport, we attempted to stop at a restaurant we knew for lunch. It was about a 3 minute drive just past the airport. Unfortunately it was closed. The driver demanded payment for the drive plus the anticipated "wait time" he would have had if we had eaten lunch there. At this point we simply gave him the money to be done with them all.

Highlights of the trip: monopoly game we could borrow. nice beach. Watch out for the golf carts as they barrel down the same tunnel that pedestrians use to walk to the beach fro mthe Great House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RFerdy, Guest Relations Manager at Tryall Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Connie P,

Its is unfortunate that you felt you had to write this review, after your friends you travel with wrote a similar review on July 11, 2011 - to which we have written an apology letter. I was happy to hear from your husband yesterday, after your friend advise him of my communication with them. We are pleased for the feedback - and once again apologize for your experience with us - as you can tell from our other reviews - this is not the norm at Tryall.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to show you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
64.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,336 reviews
110.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
63.5 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
3.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryall Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryall Club

Address: 1 Rte. A, Sandy Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: $473 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryall Club 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Caribbean country club resort, spread out over a lush 2,200-acre property on the quiet, pristine north coast of Jamaica.Add an 18th-century Georgian Great House, a celebrated golf course, a state-of-the-art tennis center and a white-sand beach. Complete the picture with 69 villas, all privately owned, tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with a welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tryall Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryall Club Hotel Sandy Bay
Tryall Hotel Montego Bay
Tryall Resort Montego Bay
Tryall Club Jamaica/Sandy Bay - Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing