We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big room and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“big room and friendly hosts”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

we stayed half a night in the Cooks Oasis arriving from Aitutaki at lunch and leaving to Auckland by midnight. Christine had prepared a really nice light lunch with fruits, yogurt, toast, butter, jam, cheese, biscuits and orange juice.
We stayed in the garden villa. Everything is perfectly organised in the room and you quickly feel at home. The only down side would be that the patio area is not really separated from the small road/entrance of the property.
They've got complimentary kayaks for guests and the beach is really nice with fine sand.
There is a store next door and the choices of 3 restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrix_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Kia Orana chrix_20,
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your time in doing this especially as your stay was short!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooks Oasis and that you managed to check out the beach, facilities and local area.
Hoping you had a great time in the Cook Islands and we hope to see you back again. Maybe for a longer stay so you can enjoy this side of the island and our lovely local beach and facilities. All the best :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    59
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
128
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gore, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Cooks Oasis as it was recommended by our son who stayed here last year.
This was our third trip to the Cook Islands and the Johnson Family are the best hosts we have ever experienced.The purpose of this trip was for our son's wedding and Kiel even assisted us to source some last minute flowers.The room was light, bright and clean and the bed was very comfortable.We enjoyed the lovely fresh breakfast tray all ready for us in the fridge and on our last morning when my husband asked for some more of their yummy homemade yoghurt- they gladly provided it-on the house! Not forgetting the fresh cream doughnuts on Sunday-delicious.The personal service and attention was second to none.The location was good as it wasn't too far from town and the airport.The beach was nice and the complimentary use of the kayaks and snorkelling gear was great.The only negative for us was that the shared driveway was busy, although there had been a death in the neighbouring family so the circumstances were exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Part Owner/Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Kia Orana Shona, many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and are sure you will have wonderful memories of your holiday (also given that you celebrated a very special occasion here in the Cook Islands!). All the best and hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only spent 3 nights here before flying to Aitutaki, but it was a great 3 nights. Chrstine and Kiel are amazing hosts, very imformative and helpful (booking us a rental car before we arrived, booking a table at a restaurant foir us etc).

Our room was very nice and clean, and the air conditioning was great. Free breakfast on arrival, and they even gave us some doughnuts one morning!

The beach was very close (50 meters or so from the unit) and there was quite a bit of coral/rocks around in the water, there was a big clear spot just up the beach. Also it is located on the sheltered side of the island, which is great.

They provide free snorkelling gear, kyaks even reef shoes.

If we were to stay on this side of the island again we would definitely stay at the Cooks Oasis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Kia Orana James,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay, we really appreciate it and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are only too happy to help with recommendations and bookings for activities and dining out, also arranging scooter or car hire. We like to assist in helping to make our guests stays as enjoyable as possible!
Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights as this was the end of our 2 week trip but the attention to detail was second to none - from the fresh complimentary breakfast on arrival. to the beautiful flowers on the bed, the helpful medical advice when i got an ear infection, to bringing in when it showered!

only seconds walk to the most amazing beach, just stunning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70jac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at Cooks Oasis before meeting up with family who had booked us into alternative accommodation with them. Our hosts at Cooks Oasis were very friendly, hospitable and generous and consequently we would happily stay there again. The inside of our studio was pleasant with a wonderful large comfortable bed, though the outside of our room was overhung by other buildings. Had a great meal at Kikau Hut which was a few metres walk away and we enjoyed the beach at the end of the track.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our time at Cooks Oasis was great and met all our expectations, maybe even more!
The beach is great for snorkelling (even though some reviews point out the amount of rocks) and offers amazing sunsets every day. They also offer free snorkelling gear which is very useful.
Christine and Kiel are the best host ever: they provide very acurate information on things to do, where to eat...They also have a great attention to detail offering us donuts on sunday and a little chocolate egg for Easter! They are always available to help: on our arrival, we were heading to the market with our big suitcases...and hopefully met Kiel along the way who drove us there and brought our suitcases back, a relief!
The rooms are huge, well decorated and kept very clean, it is definitely worth the cost! The kitchen contains everything to cook normal meals and there is even salt and peper on offer: a really good idea which prevents anyone from buying big packs for only a few days.
It is also a great base to explore rarotonga being between the town and the best snorkelling beaches. If staying 5 days, you are offered a free scooter which also makes it easier!
Thank you very much Christine and Kiel for a great stay!
Julie and Laurent

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Lovely accommodation, comfortable, clean and well-equipped -- close to airport. Great base to explore Rarotonga (and you can be anywhere on the island within half an hour thanks to the efficient "clockwise" and "anti-clockwise" bus service that stops every hour just outside) Christine and Kiel wonderful hosts!
Owen & Tina

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWCAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
553 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Property: The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Address: PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas are located in Arorangi, Rarotonga. We have 8 self catering villas nestled within tropical gardens. Enjoy our fresh water cool-off pool and other great complimentary facilities including snorkelling gear, sun lounges, kayaks and beach towels. We are on the western, sunny and sheltered side of the island where you can watch the fantastic sunsets. The Arorangi district is only 15 minutes to the main Township of Avarua and 10 minutes to the airport. Take less than a minute stroll down the path to the white sand beach and beautiful lagoon. Perfect for sunbathing, relaxing, and watching the whales cruise by (in winter). For some family fun try out our kayaks, or go snorkeling and view the tropical fish. Self-cater or enjoy eating out at one of 6 restaurants in easy walking distance. Our secluded property with its comfortable and stylish pacific rooms combined with our excellent location on the island and excellent service really are a winning combination. We pride ourselves on running a “boutique” look, feel, and service property without the high-end expense. We are family owner operators. Our main focus is to ensure our guests have a great stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoy their time in Rarotonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooks Oasis Hotel Avarua
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing