We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the sunny Sunhaven Beach Bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“the sunny Sunhaven Beach Bungalows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

From our pick up to our delivery back to the airport (sadly), our experiences with the Bungalows, the staff, the village was exceptionally fantastic. We had to do NOTHING but enjoy Arorangi and Sunhaven Bungalows.Staff booked scooters, visits,advised on cultural visits,handled laundry,units. A GREAT TIME was had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11phil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Kia Orana 11phil19,

Thanks very much for writing a review. It's good to see you had a GREAT TIME and had NOTHING to do but enjoy yourselves during your time at sunny Sunhaven Beach Bungalows.

Hope to see you again next year for another exceptionally fantastic time.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sheekal, Sandra and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from our no:4 trip to Rarotonga and our second time staying at Sunhaven and was just as good as the first!!! They go all out to make our time there relaxing without any intrusion.
Anybody that visits Raro and stays at Sunhaven is onto a good thing!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Kia Orana Karen B,

It was great having you stay with us again and hearing that you enjoyed yourselves just as much as you did the first time makes us very happy. Thanks a lot for your review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again for the third time.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Ronald and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can't recommend Sunhaven highly enough. The location is fabulous, private and beachfront ~ the staff are incredible, THANK YOU Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari and crew, you made our stay top notch. We felt like we walked into a postcard when we arrived and that did not change throughout our 6 night stay. We travelled as a group of 11 and each and everyone of us was amazed that Shari remembered our names from arrival and each time you walked into the office you were welcomed and acknowledged by name, so lovely! Nothing was too much to ask, the bungalows were immaculately clean and just lovely - the fresh fruit every morning was devine. The pool was wonderfully clean & inviting, the BBQ cleaned after use, hospitality plus. There is no 'possibility' of a return for me personally, I WILL be back and I can't wait. Thank you so much once again. A refreshing break and I feel very blessed to have been fortunate enough to have stayed with you.

Room Tip: Our group had 5 of the bungalows and I think all were just great - I was in bungalow # 3 which was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMacKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Kia Orana LisaMacKinnon,

‘We felt like we walked into a postcard’ - 'Exceeds all expectations'. That pretty much says it all. We’re very happy to hear that you all enjoyed Sunhaven’s hospitality plus, fabulous location, amenities and immaculately clean bungalows during your 6 night stay with us. We enjoyed meeting all of you and having you here.

Looking forward to seeing you again when you need another refreshing break. Perhaps Shari will still remember all your names :-)

And thank you very much for your high recommendation. We really appreciate your review.

All the best
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal & Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Seriously guys, this place is incredible!!! It´s not big place like other resort, but it is what makes Sunhaven such a beautiful place :-) Quiet, friendly, everything clean. If I´ll come back - this is the best decision where to stay. Thank you all of you, you made my holidays unforgettable. Jana

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyneska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Kia Orana Jana,

Thank you for your glowing review. Glad to see you had an "unforgetable" vacation and that it was your "best ever" Being a small boutique property we are able to provide a friendly personal service whilst maintaining a quiet peaceful atmosphere for our guests to enjoy, as you have.

Hope to see you again when you next journey to this side of the world.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Patti and Dennis spared no effort in making our stay amazing. The location of the bungalows is superb and the beach views uninterrupted. The accommodation was spotless; staff friendly; and Patti's banana pancakes stole the show!! This is the best holiday that we have ever had in the most beautiful location. Strong words for well seasoned travellers but all true. Clearly we can't recommend Sunhaven enough and look forward to our next stay! Thank you!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanandRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Kia Orana Ivan and Rich,

We are so pleased to hear you had an amazing stay and your "best holiday ever" at Sunhaven. That's quite a recommendation for well seasoned travellers like yourselves. Yes we are very fortunate having such a superb location with postcard panoramic views from your verandah.

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again and if you're good there might be more banana pan cakes for you.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We discovered Sunhaven in the Lonely Planet and then reviewed Trip Advisors comments. It was peoples' comments and how quickly Dennis replied to my first email that convinced me to book our holiday. Not being of a suspicious nature but always believing that there are 2 sides to a story, I was wondering if the numerous positive comments would live up to the reality. They do and did! Peoples comments are spot on, Patti and Dennis' Sunhaven is exactly what everyone says. Clean-Patti runs a tight ship, no ants are allowed, lovely spot, quiet, except for the stupendous roar of the ocean, helpful staff-thank you Ali, Sherri and Sandra, sunsets were an extra bonus, as well as the hammocks. Dennis is always in the background, either in the office or working hard in the heat, even doing more upgrades! I didn't find the Cook Islands cheap, but would we go back, absolutely. Love the islands, the people, culture and our accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranjibhimji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Kia Orana Ranjibhimji,

I'm glad Sunhaven lived up to your high expectations after reading all our great reviews on TripAdvisor. It's gratifying to know we are keeping up the high standard we strive for in giving our valued guests a quality product, the best personal service and a memorable holiday.

The upgrades are now all done for this year and Sunhaven is ready for the upcoming high season.

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and new boy Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Well all the other reviews say how lovely the place is, and I do not disagree. We stayed in the 'no frills' bungalow and it was excellent, even in hot season we had no need for air con, the housekeeping staff are exceptionally attentive; the best part was the sun seemed to set right outside the window!
As a comparison, due to a long delay in our flight at the end our trip we got to stay in one of the larger resorts for a night and it made us realise just what a great decision we had made in choosing Sunhaven! It's so peaceful and secluded but as the island is so small hire a scooter or car and you have access to everything.
Thanks again to Patti & Dennis and all the staff for a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Kia Orana Terry M,

Thank you for your review and for endorsing our other TripAdvisor reviews.

So your delayed flight had a positive side in that it gave you the opportunity to compare the big resort atmosphere to that of the peaceful secluded Sunhaven. If you get back this way again you'll know where to book.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing