We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent slice of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Well all the other reviews say how lovely the place is, and I do not disagree. We stayed in the 'no frills' bungalow and it was excellent, even in hot season we had no need for air con, the housekeeping staff are exceptionally attentive; the best part was the sun seemed to set right outside the window!
As a comparison, due to a long delay in our flight at the end our trip we got to stay in one of the larger resorts for a night and it made us realise just what a great decision we had made in choosing Sunhaven! It's so peaceful and secluded but as the island is so small hire a scooter or car and you have access to everything.
Thanks again to Patti & Dennis and all the staff for a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Kia Orana Terry M,

Thank you for your review and for endorsing our other TripAdvisor reviews.

So your delayed flight had a positive side in that it gave you the opportunity to compare the big resort atmosphere to that of the peaceful secluded Sunhaven. If you get back this way again you'll know where to book.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
142
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely self catering bungalows with veranda, great ocean views (sunset!!!). The little resort was spotless and it seemed the staff did not even WANT to sit back and relax. Every single one of them was very caring and it was highly appreciated that Patti dropped by for a chat now and then. The beach right in front of the bungalows is not really suitable for swimming but simply walk about five minutes to the south and you will find a shallow sandy beach.
Sunhaven was a fantastic experience. No need to look any further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trendyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Kia Orana trendyfox,

We're glad you had a "fantastic experience" at Sunhaven enjoying your lovely self catering bungalow with verandah looking out to the great ocean views and sunsets. I have passed on your postive comments to the staff. Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate you taking the time.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you're looking for the quintessential South Pacific holiday, look no further then Sunhaven. Our dream holiday was a bungalow on a secluded beach with a light breeze to cool us off while laying in a hammock. Add in amazing sunsets, spacious and spotless rooms and the personal touch offered by Dennis and Patti and you have Sunhaven. We stayed here the first time in 2000 and were so awed that we just returned home from our 12th visit. A stay at Sunhaven is more then a holiday, it's an experience. One that everyone should have the chance to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelbert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Kia Orana Jelbert13,

After 12 holiday experiences at Sunhaven you've sure become part of the furniture around here every year. We look forward to seeing you each time and enjoy our discussions about the improvements we have made to the place since the last visit.

Jelbert13 indicates number 13 maywell be your lucky number. If that is the case then we would like to confirm that. To celebrate your 13th "experience" at Sunhaven, we would like to offer you a special treat. Patti and I would be very happy if you would accept 13 nights free accommodation as our way of thanking you for your loyal support and business over the past 12 years.

Thanks very much for the high recommendation and sharing your thoughts. We truly appreciate it.

Until next year,

Kia Manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week and found it a great choice. The staff were so friendly - particularly the house-keepers who serviced our room daily! The room was so clean when we arrived and the staff do all they can to keep it that way and bug-proof. The room was very spacious and had great kitchen facilities, which meant that we could stay at the hotel some days for lunch etc. The bungalow did have a wee brunch cottage out the front but this was not open during our stay. Our room was right beside the pool and had a deck to sit on, which I did most of the time while my partner enjoyed the refreshing, clean pool. The office also had snorkeling equipment for use which was handy. We were also able to borrow some dvds to watch in our room on the rainy nights which we really appreciated. The decor of the rooms is not anything flash but it does the job and is kept well! The only down-side is having to pay an extra $30 per night if you want air-conditioning in your room but we managed to get by without it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Kia Orana Dannijean,

It would appear that we met most of your needs and you both had a really good time enjoying our property. The complimentary DVD library sure comes in handy on a rainy night. And what better time for it to rain, leaving the days mostly fine and sunny.

I have passed on your praise to the housekeeping staff who kept your room up to scratch.

Thanks very much for reviewing your stay at Sunhaven and we hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

After 2 amazing stays at Sunhaven - 6 years apart, we believe it is one of the best self-cater beach accommodations in the South Pacific. Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali and the rest of the team are second to none. The bungalows are perfect and clean as a whistle. The pool makes for a relaxing break after snorkelling right off the beach. We can't say enough positive things about Sunhaven. It is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Kia Orana Colin K,

Now there's a good catch phrase "the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life". I like that.
We're all happy to hear you enjoyed your second time at Sunhaven and found it to be as amazing as it was 6 years ago. We strive to be consistent with our delivery of product and service and have done so over our 14 years in this business.

Hope to see you back before another 6 years pass us by.

Take care and kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

For the last 5 nights of our Cook Island visit we chose to stay at Sunhaven, which was definetely a great choice.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the beachfront studio suites which was a nice
suprise.
The rooms are super clean, very well equiped for cooking and nicely set on the beach with a great sunset view right from your veranda. Sunhaven was the only place on our trip without any rooster around!!! Paradise!!! As silly as this sounds, this is something you will for sure appreciate, once you've spent some time elsewhere on the Island.
Patti and Dennis are great hosts and very helpfull with everything, they truely created a little sunhaven on Rarotonga. A perfect place to lean back, relax in one of the sunloungers, the hammoks or right on the beach.
We had a great time and are looking forward to coming back on our next Cook Island visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Kia Orana and Hallo der_Reisende_10,

Oh the sweet sound of no roosters. We try to catch and relocate any roosters that come our way so our guests can sleep in peace.

I'm glad you were able to "lean back and relax" during your 5 nights at Sunhaven and were happy with your choice of accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel all this way to the Cook Islands.

Thank you for your review, it's very much appreciated.

Kia manuia and Auf Wiedersehen,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

A great 4 night stay. Friendly, helpful staff. A bowl of fresh tropical fruit was a great touch. Rooms very well maintained. We will be back. It was great to cook on the bbq and then grab your drink sit on the benches and watch the beautiful sun set. Being picked up at the airport was big help, as well as arranging the restaurant to pick us up and return us after our meal, that was fantastic. While there we made new friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Kia Orana A TripAdviser Member,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the fresh tropical fruit bowl which all our guests receive on arrival for their first breakfast. Nothing better than tree ripened fruit with your cereal. We hope you can stay a bit longer than 4 nights next time.

Appreciate your review thank you.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing