We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
$295
$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$204
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$175
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$245
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$369
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$128
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
$120
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
193
19
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdennis and pattino kids policyminute walk down the beachcook islandsgreat poolpalm treesour home away from homegarden bungalowin seasonpeace and quietcar or scootersituated rightswimming poolother guestssound of the wavesfresh fruita wonderful holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 219 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you're looking for the quintessential South Pacific holiday, look no further then Sunhaven. Our dream holiday was a bungalow on a secluded beach with a light breeze to cool us off while laying in a hammock. Add in amazing sunsets, spacious and spotless rooms and the personal touch offered by Dennis and Patti and you have Sunhaven. We stayed here the first time in 2000 and were so awed that we just returned home from our 12th visit. A stay at Sunhaven is more then a holiday, it's an experience. One that everyone should have the chance to enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelbert13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Kia Orana Jelbert13,

After 12 holiday experiences at Sunhaven you've sure become part of the furniture around here every year. We look forward to seeing you each time and enjoy our discussions about the improvements we have made to the place since the last visit.

Jelbert13 indicates number 13 maywell be your lucky number. If that is the case then we would like to confirm that. To celebrate your 13th "experience" at Sunhaven, we would like to offer you a special treat. Patti and I would be very happy if you would accept 13 nights free accommodation as our way of thanking you for your loyal support and business over the past 12 years.

Thanks very much for the high recommendation and sharing your thoughts. We truly appreciate it.

Until next year,

Kia Manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Ronald.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week and found it a great choice. The staff were so friendly - particularly the house-keepers who serviced our room daily! The room was so clean when we arrived and the staff do all they can to keep it that way and bug-proof. The room was very spacious and had great kitchen facilities, which meant that we could stay at the hotel some days for lunch etc. The bungalow did have a wee brunch cottage out the front but this was not open during our stay. Our room was right beside the pool and had a deck to sit on, which I did most of the time while my partner enjoyed the refreshing, clean pool. The office also had snorkeling equipment for use which was handy. We were also able to borrow some dvds to watch in our room on the rainy nights which we really appreciated. The decor of the rooms is not anything flash but it does the job and is kept well! The only down-side is having to pay an extra $30 per night if you want air-conditioning in your room but we managed to get by without it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dannijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Kia Orana Dannijean,

It would appear that we met most of your needs and you both had a really good time enjoying our property. The complimentary DVD library sure comes in handy on a rainy night. And what better time for it to rain, leaving the days mostly fine and sunny.

I have passed on your praise to the housekeeping staff who kept your room up to scratch.

Thanks very much for reviewing your stay at Sunhaven and we hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra and Sheekal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

After 2 amazing stays at Sunhaven - 6 years apart, we believe it is one of the best self-cater beach accommodations in the South Pacific. Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali and the rest of the team are second to none. The bungalows are perfect and clean as a whistle. The pool makes for a relaxing break after snorkelling right off the beach. We can't say enough positive things about Sunhaven. It is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life. We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Kia Orana Colin K,

Now there's a good catch phrase "the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life". I like that.
We're all happy to hear you enjoyed your second time at Sunhaven and found it to be as amazing as it was 6 years ago. We strive to be consistent with our delivery of product and service and have done so over our 14 years in this business.

Hope to see you back before another 6 years pass us by.

Take care and kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

For the last 5 nights of our Cook Island visit we chose to stay at Sunhaven, which was definetely a great choice.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the beachfront studio suites which was a nice
suprise.
The rooms are super clean, very well equiped for cooking and nicely set on the beach with a great sunset view right from your veranda. Sunhaven was the only place on our trip without any rooster around!!! Paradise!!! As silly as this sounds, this is something you will for sure appreciate, once you've spent some time elsewhere on the Island.
Patti and Dennis are great hosts and very helpfull with everything, they truely created a little sunhaven on Rarotonga. A perfect place to lean back, relax in one of the sunloungers, the hammoks or right on the beach.
We had a great time and are looking forward to coming back on our next Cook Island visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Kia Orana and Hallo der_Reisende_10,

Oh the sweet sound of no roosters. We try to catch and relocate any roosters that come our way so our guests can sleep in peace.

I'm glad you were able to "lean back and relax" during your 5 nights at Sunhaven and were happy with your choice of accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel all this way to the Cook Islands.

Thank you for your review, it's very much appreciated.

Kia manuia and Auf Wiedersehen,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

A great 4 night stay. Friendly, helpful staff. A bowl of fresh tropical fruit was a great touch. Rooms very well maintained. We will be back. It was great to cook on the bbq and then grab your drink sit on the benches and watch the beautiful sun set. Being picked up at the airport was big help, as well as arranging the restaurant to pick us up and return us after our meal, that was fantastic. While there we made new friends.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Kia Orana A TripAdviser Member,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the fresh tropical fruit bowl which all our guests receive on arrival for their first breakfast. Nothing better than tree ripened fruit with your cereal. We hope you can stay a bit longer than 4 nights next time.

Appreciate your review thank you.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews