We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay on Rarotonga!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place to stay on Rarotonga!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

After 2 amazing stays at Sunhaven - 6 years apart, we believe it is one of the best self-cater beach accommodations in the South Pacific. Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali and the rest of the team are second to none. The bungalows are perfect and clean as a whistle. The pool makes for a relaxing break after snorkelling right off the beach. We can't say enough positive things about Sunhaven. It is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Kia Orana Colin K,

Now there's a good catch phrase "the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of life". I like that.
We're all happy to hear you enjoyed your second time at Sunhaven and found it to be as amazing as it was 6 years ago. We strive to be consistent with our delivery of product and service and have done so over our 14 years in this business.

Hope to see you back before another 6 years pass us by.

Take care and kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
143
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

For the last 5 nights of our Cook Island visit we chose to stay at Sunhaven, which was definetely a great choice.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the beachfront studio suites which was a nice
suprise.
The rooms are super clean, very well equiped for cooking and nicely set on the beach with a great sunset view right from your veranda. Sunhaven was the only place on our trip without any rooster around!!! Paradise!!! As silly as this sounds, this is something you will for sure appreciate, once you've spent some time elsewhere on the Island.
Patti and Dennis are great hosts and very helpfull with everything, they truely created a little sunhaven on Rarotonga. A perfect place to lean back, relax in one of the sunloungers, the hammoks or right on the beach.
We had a great time and are looking forward to coming back on our next Cook Island visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _der_Reisende_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Kia Orana and Hallo der_Reisende_10,

Oh the sweet sound of no roosters. We try to catch and relocate any roosters that come our way so our guests can sleep in peace.

I'm glad you were able to "lean back and relax" during your 5 nights at Sunhaven and were happy with your choice of accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel all this way to the Cook Islands.

Thank you for your review, it's very much appreciated.

Kia manuia and Auf Wiedersehen,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

A great 4 night stay. Friendly, helpful staff. A bowl of fresh tropical fruit was a great touch. Rooms very well maintained. We will be back. It was great to cook on the bbq and then grab your drink sit on the benches and watch the beautiful sun set. Being picked up at the airport was big help, as well as arranging the restaurant to pick us up and return us after our meal, that was fantastic. While there we made new friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Kia Orana A TripAdviser Member,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the fresh tropical fruit bowl which all our guests receive on arrival for their first breakfast. Nothing better than tree ripened fruit with your cereal. We hope you can stay a bit longer than 4 nights next time.

Appreciate your review thank you.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 6 marvelous and unforgettable weeks in bungalow number one at Sunhaven. Patti and Dennis have created a small paradise on the beach in Rarotonga. The bungalows are sparkling clean and tastefully decorated. It is a beautiful and peaceful environment with only the sound of the surf breaking on the reef. There is nothing like having dinner on the veranda watching the spectacular sunsets or taking an afternoon nap in one of the hammocks under the coconut palms. It was truly our home away from home. A special thank you to Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shyna for their friendly service during our stay. Thank you, Patti and Dennis for the many kindnesses that you extended us during our stay on Rarotonga. We hope to return one day in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTeach23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Kia Orana WorldTeach23,

Congratulation on being our longest stay guests. Six marvelous unforgettable weeks to become immersed in what Sunhaven is all about. "Tranquility on the Beach"

I have passed on your gratitude to our friendly staff. We hope you will return to our beautiful and peaceful paradise on the beach and your "home away from home" in the near future.

Thank you for a super review.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had planned and saved for our 25th wedding anniversary as we hadn't had a honeymoon.We chose the the garden room as it was slightly more secluded, but still near to the beach and pool. With its vaulted chapel ceiling, tiled floors and paneled walls, it's simple charm oozed relaxation.
The child free environment meant that the pool was always available and this became a meeting point for couples to chat about their day- recommending cafes,beautiful places or not saying anything as we all marveled at the sunset or read books in hammocks....enough space to be on your own....but as Sunhaven caters for people who wish for a quieter simpler space, we seem to be similar people who enjoyed each other's company. The service, by the unobtrusive but helpful staff meant that the well maintained gardens and rooms reflected the feeling of comfort and leisure....Restaurants are nearby but we also cooked the odd meal. Our fried bananas idea caught on!Thank you, a honeymoon that will be remembered with fondness for many years...Go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Kia Orana Julia A,

Vaulted chapel ceilings....I like that. Very descriptive indeed. Our high ceilings are designed for maximum airflow for natural cooling on hot days. The same reason we have ceramic tiled floors. Yes the pool is an ideal place to 'bat the breeze' with fellow guests after a fun filled day enjoying the sites and activities Rarotonga has to offer. And no children around to interrupt a quiet conversation or while reading in a hammock is soooo relaxing. Fried bananas with whipped cream and a dash of Maple Syrup....yum.

Thank you for your excellent review. I enjoyed reading every word.

Best wishes for the next 25 years and we will look forward to seeing you again - hopefully long before your golden anniversary.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Couldn't fault this place at all, friendly staff, great view of the ocean from our room and spotless rooms. Well done to all the staff (particularly Ali who was very helpful) would definitely stay again on our next trip

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Kia Orana nekkro,

Thank you for your helpful review. We really appreciate it. We'll look forward to seeing you both again on your next trip.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal & Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Sunhaven for almost 2 weeks during an extended around the world trip. Usually we check Tripadvisor to make sure we get a decent accommodation, and we were not disappointed with the Sunhaven - the great reviews are absolutely justified. Dennis & Patti and the whole staff were really making our stay something special - they were making _us_ feel special. They gave us the impression we were the only guests and they would do anything to make us feel comfortable - and this hospitality was genuine and authentic. The bungalows were super clean, had a great location with the beach almost in front of our door step and were well equipped. Shari on the front desk arranged all our reservations (very convinient: Some restaurants offer pick-up/drop-off service), always with a smile and with a friendliness you hardly experience even in a 5-star hotel. Over all, the service was just top notch - you can hardly ask for more. Great compliments to Dennis & Patti for keeping everything so clean and having a great staff all together.
The sunset is one of the best on the island, as the bungalows are on the west side of the island, which offer great views every night at sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for beach bungalows - the sun set/sea view is much nicer here than from the garden bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BonnOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Kia Orana BonnOnTour,

It gives me pleasure to see that, after reading our many great reviews on TripAdvisor, your expectations of Sunhaven were fully realised and that we made you feel so special and comfortable while providing 'top notch - 5 star service'. I've passed on your praise to Shari and the rest of our staff. They always get a kick out of seeing their efforts recognised by our happy satisfied guests.

Thanks very much for your generous review and we hope to see you again when you next venture to our side of the world.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing