We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$227
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$185
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$292
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$245
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$369
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
$119
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove(Vaimaanga)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
194
19
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
19
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdennis and pattino kids policyminute walk down the beachcook islandsgreat poolpalm treesour home away from homegarden bungalowin seasonpeace and quietcar or scootersituated rightswimming poolother guestssound of the wavesfresh fruita wonderful holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 220 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 6 marvelous and unforgettable weeks in bungalow number one at Sunhaven. Patti and Dennis have created a small paradise on the beach in Rarotonga. The bungalows are sparkling clean and tastefully decorated. It is a beautiful and peaceful environment with only the sound of the surf breaking on the reef. There is nothing like having dinner on the veranda watching the spectacular sunsets or taking an afternoon nap in one of the hammocks under the coconut palms. It was truly our home away from home. A special thank you to Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shyna for their friendly service during our stay. Thank you, Patti and Dennis for the many kindnesses that you extended us during our stay on Rarotonga. We hope to return one day in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTeach23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Kia Orana WorldTeach23,

Congratulation on being our longest stay guests. Six marvelous unforgettable weeks to become immersed in what Sunhaven is all about. "Tranquility on the Beach"

I have passed on your gratitude to our friendly staff. We hope you will return to our beautiful and peaceful paradise on the beach and your "home away from home" in the near future.

Thank you for a super review.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had planned and saved for our 25th wedding anniversary as we hadn't had a honeymoon.We chose the the garden room as it was slightly more secluded, but still near to the beach and pool. With its vaulted chapel ceiling, tiled floors and paneled walls, it's simple charm oozed relaxation.
The child free environment meant that the pool was always available and this became a meeting point for couples to chat about their day- recommending cafes,beautiful places or not saying anything as we all marveled at the sunset or read books in hammocks....enough space to be on your own....but as Sunhaven caters for people who wish for a quieter simpler space, we seem to be similar people who enjoyed each other's company. The service, by the unobtrusive but helpful staff meant that the well maintained gardens and rooms reflected the feeling of comfort and leisure....Restaurants are nearby but we also cooked the odd meal. Our fried bananas idea caught on!Thank you, a honeymoon that will be remembered with fondness for many years...Go!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Orana Julia A,

Vaulted chapel ceilings....I like that. Very descriptive indeed. Our high ceilings are designed for maximum airflow for natural cooling on hot days. The same reason we have ceramic tiled floors. Yes the pool is an ideal place to 'bat the breeze' with fellow guests after a fun filled day enjoying the sites and activities Rarotonga has to offer. And no children around to interrupt a quiet conversation or while reading in a hammock is soooo relaxing. Fried bananas with whipped cream and a dash of Maple Syrup....yum.

Thank you for your excellent review. I enjoyed reading every word.

Best wishes for the next 25 years and we will look forward to seeing you again - hopefully long before your golden anniversary.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Couldn't fault this place at all, friendly staff, great view of the ocean from our room and spotless rooms. Well done to all the staff (particularly Ali who was very helpful) would definitely stay again on our next trip

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nekkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Kia Orana nekkro,

Thank you for your helpful review. We really appreciate it. We'll look forward to seeing you both again on your next trip.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal & Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Sunhaven for almost 2 weeks during an extended around the world trip. Usually we check Tripadvisor to make sure we get a decent accommodation, and we were not disappointed with the Sunhaven - the great reviews are absolutely justified. Dennis & Patti and the whole staff were really making our stay something special - they were making _us_ feel special. They gave us the impression we were the only guests and they would do anything to make us feel comfortable - and this hospitality was genuine and authentic. The bungalows were super clean, had a great location with the beach almost in front of our door step and were well equipped. Shari on the front desk arranged all our reservations (very convinient: Some restaurants offer pick-up/drop-off service), always with a smile and with a friendliness you hardly experience even in a 5-star hotel. Over all, the service was just top notch - you can hardly ask for more. Great compliments to Dennis & Patti for keeping everything so clean and having a great staff all together.
The sunset is one of the best on the island, as the bungalows are on the west side of the island, which offer great views every night at sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for beach bungalows - the sun set/sea view is much nicer here than from the garden bungalows.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonnOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Kia Orana BonnOnTour,

It gives me pleasure to see that, after reading our many great reviews on TripAdvisor, your expectations of Sunhaven were fully realised and that we made you feel so special and comfortable while providing 'top notch - 5 star service'. I've passed on your praise to Shari and the rest of our staff. They always get a kick out of seeing their efforts recognised by our happy satisfied guests.

Thanks very much for your generous review and we hope to see you again when you next venture to our side of the world.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from 12 days holiday at Sunhaven in Rarotonga. WOW!!!! What can we say!! We even saw whales going by!! We have had many island holidays but have never felt like one of the family like we did at Sunhaven. From Patti, Dennis ( The owners), Shari in the office to the cleaners you are all amazing!!
The cleanliness was second to none and nothing was too much trouble. The pool, gardens and beach were all beautifully maintained by the staff with a friendly hello and smile on their faces which was contagious!!
Talking to all the returning guests was awesome we learnt so much and soon all became friends and had lots of laughs, although we still had our privacy because of the layout of the resort.
Thank you Patti for the best ever banana cake and the hot scones were great too. All the extras like washing, fresh fruit and flowers were awesome!! Thank you also to Dennis for organising dinner for us on our arrival and taking us to Kikau Hut.
So Patti, Dennis, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal many many thanks for making our stay so memorable. Hope to see you all again soon. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Lynn and Alyson

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 2 but all rooms look great
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Kia Orana Lynn and Alyson,

Well we ticked all your boxes didn't we? It's always nice to read reviews from our many happy guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their short time at Sunhaven. Thanks very much for doing that.

Twelve days gave you enough time to mix and mingle with our friendly return guests while still having your privacy and relaxation to enjoy our facilities when you wanted to.

Hey - don't go telling everyone about Patti's best ever banana cake and hot scones will you? Let's keep it our secret! Between you and me her chocolate cake is to die for.

Take care and see you again .... soon.

From all "The Sunhaven Family",
Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews