We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunhaven Beach Bungalows: paradise on Rarotonga, Cook Islands””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunhaven Beach Bungalows: paradise on Rarotonga, Cook Islands””
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sunhaven [owners and hosts = Patti and Dennis] have the right formula!
From the pickup upon our arrival at the airport, until our departure, what they provided was spot-on for our needs. Our bungalow was spotless with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival.
We understand that between every hire of the bungalow, the rooms are cleaned extensively, top to toe; bedding is also fully aired in the sunshine [weather permitting]. And every day of your stay, Monday to Saturday, a high level of cleaning is undertaken by the conscientious staff under Patti's watchful eye.
All of the staff are well trained, most friendly and very helpful.
The location is magnificent, as is the beach it sits on. We spent a lot of time discovering the island, and felt that at the end of our trip our choice of Sunhaven was an inspired one. It is NOT a resort, just a nice piece of paradise best suited to those wanting to do their own thing from a clean, tidy, quiet & well run facility.

Room Tip: If you want maximum privacy close to the sea, try for room 1. If small size is not an issue, try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Kia Orana Wendy and Albie N,

Nice to see that we were "spot-on" with providing your needs during your stay. Yes every room is "spring cleaned" between guests to ensure they stay spotless and fresh. Sure is a lot of work for Patti and the team but everyone agrees it's worth the extra effort and is a big part of the "right formula" we have developed over the last 13 years.

Thanks very much for your helpful review and we hope you can make it back this way again sometime.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
144
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From our arrival at the airport to our departure we could not have asked for more.
Our bungalow was spotless with fresh fruit and flowers on arrival. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was so lovely and quiet, and falling asleep each night to the waves crashing on the reef was fantastic!
Patti is an absolute delight and is always prepared to go that extra mile, even when you aren't looking for or expecting it!
This property is absolutely immaculate and Patti and Dennis can be rightly proud.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 2 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JETWATSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Kia Orana JETWATSON,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Sunhaven. Yes Patti is full of surprises. You never know when she'll appear with some goodies. Thanks very much for your review. Hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Shari, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we have just returned from the cook islands on our 10 day break. We stayed at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows which was all we expected and more.

Patti and Dennis are great hosts and make the holiday special as one feels like family. The bungalows are immaculate and kept that way each day.

We enjoyed the lovely pool, and stepping from our home onto the sand and water. we also had long walks along the beach especially at sunset . Thank you Patti and Dennis for a great break.

Kath and Trevor Polley

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath-polley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Kia Orana Kath and Trevor,

Glad to hear you found Sunhaven to your liking, that we met all your expectations and more and you felt part of our family. I bet you're missing the long beach walks at sunset. If you were doing that now you'd be seeing the whales that have come early this year.

When you need another break - let me know? Thanks heaps for the review.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Shynal and Sheekal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews on this site for Sunhaven I was excited to be staying here for ten days and also having our very private wedding (just the two of us!!) on the beach during our stay. Unfortunately for some reason things didn't seem to live up to our expectations which was so disappointing when I can see that for many others they seem to have had a brilliant experience here. The staff were delightful so friendly and smiley. As mentioned the rooms are spotless and the gardens are beautiful. What let this property down for us was that as it is such a small resort the relationship with the owners is integral to the overall experience and this is what let our stay here down. Unfortunately we didn't get to know Patti properly until our last night (and she seems delightful) but that was when she was apologizing to us on behalf of Dennis. For what ever reason it just seemed to us that whenever we approached Dennis to ask a question or to ask for his help it just seemed that it was always to hard. After this occurred numerous times I mentioned to him that his attitude had put a dampner on our stay. This may have been a one off and it seems from other reviews that this is not normally an issue so would recommend this resort if you are after a peaceful relaxing holiday in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey-Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Kia Orana Tracey-Lee S,

Thank you for your positive review of our property and subsequent recommendation. While we try to welcome our guests into the Sunhaven "family" we are at the same time very conscious that not everyone wants to be fussed over and may prefer to be left alone in their own space. You indicated from the outset that you wanted a very quiet private wedding (just the two of you) with no fuss or outside guests. I therefore got the impression you wanted "your space" to enjoy each other without our intrusion and did my best to ensure that this was achieved. Obviously somewhere along the way something went awry – I apologise for this misunderstanding.

It's good to know that your wedding went off as you planned and everything worked out so that would have made you both very happy. We wish you both the very best of luck for your future together and once again thank you for your review and recommendation.

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stepped off the plane and had our first experience of the wonderful reception from a member of the staff from Sun Haven. After settling in our spotless bungalow Patti arrived with two large scones with butter and jam, what a welcome. The staff under the direction of Patti and Dennis were both helpful and friendly. No one could ask for a more enjoyable place to stay if they want a relaxing holiday and to be treated as family, you would find this 100% in all aspects. We thank you for fifteen days of Paradise. We will highly recommend Sun Haven to our travel agent to refer their clients to this wonderful place.
Alma & Arthur Otaki.

Room Tip: Room four is a very private one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Kia Orana Alma & Arthur,

So nice to see you found Sunhaven "a great and wonderful surprise". Patti thought the scones would save you looking for dinner after your late Sunday afternoon arrival. Fifteen days is a good time to really get to know what Sunhaven has to offer as you both found out. Thank you for your encouraging review and I hope your travel agent takes your recommendation on board. I have passed on your comments to the staff.

We all hope to see you both again sometime. Until then......

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal, and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife & I just enjoyed our first holiday in the Cook Islands & were so glad we chose Sunhaven for our accomodation. Owners & staff very helpful & pleasant, magic position with our unit right by the pool & barely 50mtrs from the beach, comfortable & cleaned daily with the added bonus of fresh seasonal fruit & flowers. When Patti says "if you need anything just ask", you better believe she means it! Even down to a last minute personal lesson in dehusking your own coconut when I mentioned we hadn't done that. We'd love to return & we'll stay at Sunhaven if we do. Thank you Dennis & Patti.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kia Orana Jim L,

Great to hear that you would like to come back to Sunhaven. I'm glad that you saw your room in a magic position being so close to the beach. Actually it is more like 20 - 25 meters to the beach than 50. Depending on the tide it could be 50 meters to the waters edge. If you can remember which way to hold the coconut to husk it you should be capable of providing yourselves with a never ending supply of fresh nu to drink next trip. Thanks a lot for your review which is most appreciated. Love the picture of your dinner with the blue hue over the pool. If you send me that I will add it to my picture gallery.

Until next time,

Kia manuia,

Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra, Shynal, Sheekal and Shari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Thank you so much Patti and Dennis for another magical holiday at Sunhaven Rarotonga. When Clayton and I decided to return to Rarotonga there was no question we would return to Sunhaven. We love your fantastic bungalows, cleaned to the highest level ever single day, fresh flowers, fresh fruit and everyone is so friendly and happy to help. We love bungalow 1, it has everything we want in accommodation and Sunhaven is so nice and quiet all of the time. This is true beach front relaxing, laying out in the hammocks, listening to the waves crashing on the reef! See you again in about 2 years!

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach front bungalows. Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Kia Orana Sally W,

You're very welcome. It was good seeing you both again and I'm pleased to see you had another magical holiday at Sunhaven. We all look forward to catching up with you again in two years. And thanks a lot for the great review.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Shari, Ali, Sandra, Sheekal and Shynal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing