We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave and Penny C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was 11 nights of pure relaxation. Dennis and Patti were excellent hosts and the motel staff kept the whole complex so clean and were very friendly. Looking forward to staying next year. I loved the staff giving us fresh fruit from their trees each day. It is very central and easy to get to other places on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Kia Orana Dave and Penny C,

Thank you for your positive feedback. Relaxation is what we do best at Sunhaven. Well our guests do anyway! I wish Patti and I could get some of that! You will be missing our sweet bananas and paw paws by now. Always nice for breakfast each day. And when you want more, go pick your own.

Take care and we'll see you again next year.

Kind regards & kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra & Anjila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 207 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thank you Dennis and Patti for a great holiday. Nothing was too much trouble, the bungalows and gardens were beautifully clean and tidy, and your staff are fabulous and friendly. Your complex is small enough to be anonymous, but large enough that you can make some new friends if you want to. Close enough to town and some great restaurants, yet quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Kia Orana Jennifer M,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We like to hear that our guests have had a great holiday at Sunhaven. As they say good things come in small packages and small we are. Trust you made some new friends and perhaps will keep in touch with them.

Kind regards and Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra & Anjila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent a week on Raro at Sunhaven. It was incredibly quiet & peaceful. The gardens Patti keeps are beautiful and Dennis is a kind and helpful host. We had fresh flowers in our room each day, they kept the place immaculate, and the staff were super friendly. The lagoon was beautiful, with lots of life. So glad we chose Sunhaven!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenGwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Kia Orana JenGwin,

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback.

And we're so glad you chose Sunhaven for your week of peace and quiet. Yes the gardens are quite lush and beautiful this time of year with just enough rain and plenty of sunshine to make them grow. I trust you saw some whales from our beach.

Hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti and all the super friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Property absolutely immaculately kept, with daily cleaning service and fresh flowers (although we slept through this on some days) and mid week bedlinen change. We had the Garden bungalow but there were plenty of options for lounging / sitting beachside. Kayaks and snorkelling gear provided. Lots of books and DVD's to borrow.

Room Tip: more private not in 3 or 5(or 8?) which are next to the path
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Kia Orana and thank you B1952. We value your feed back. Must have been on our tippy toes not to have woken you at that hour. Hope to see you again.
Kia manuia,
Dennis and Patti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Loved everything about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows.Being right on the water was a lovely bonus and we enjoyed listening to the waves cash onto the reef. Dennis and Patti were great hosts and staff Ali, Sandra and Anjila were very friendly and do a wonderful job cleaning the rooms as they truly are immaculate, the lawns, gardens, beach and pool are also kept to a very high standard.The bungalows are all private so you only have to see other guests if you wish to which is a great bonus of boutique style holiday accommodation . We also loved Pattis scones, and enjoyed our chats with her each day.We will return to Rarotonga and we will also return to Sunhaven Bungalows.Thanks for a great relaxing holiday...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Kia Orana Vickie M,

Many thanks for your review. Seems Patti's famous scones are the talk of the town these days. They sure are delicious with lashings of Black Doris plum jam. Patti and Doris should start up a scone factory ;-) We are all pleased you had a 'better than expected' holiday at Sunhaven and look forward to your next visit.

Kia manuia,
Dennis, Patti, Ali, Sandra and Anjila.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After our first stay at Sunhaven last year we were counting the sleeps until we could return and the year just didn't seem to go quick enough. FINALLY the day arrived and we started another perfect 10 days in the most perfect holiday accommodation. How many times do you look at the website and find the reality lacking??? Sunhaven is even more brilliant than the photos on the website. The rooms are spotless, the staff are friendly and efficient, the pool is perfection, the beds are super comfy and Dennis and Patti couldn't be more helpful. Both times we have stayed at Sunhaven we have found the other guests to be really friendly - it's more like staying with family than in a motel, but a family where you still get heaps of privacy. Dennis picked us up at the airport AND arranged dinner out for our first night as well as our scooter hire! The beautiful home made scones Patti gave us on arrival were to die for! It is all the little things that makes me think we were totally right to avoid the resorts and stay at this brilliant boutique motel. I guess the biggest recommendation I can give Sunhaven Beach Bungalows is that we have booked again for next year .... so once again we are counting down the sleeps!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K1MEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncledennis, Owner at Sunhaven Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Kia Orana K1MEEE,

Thanks heaps for an excellent review. We're so happy you regard us as your 'family away from family'. Keep counting those sleeps and we look forward to seeing you again at Sunhaven next year.

Kind regards,
Dennis and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sunhaven Beach Bungalows were a very comfortable option in Rarotonga. They are right on the water's edge and you can hear the surf on the reef at night. The bungalows were absolutely immaculately maintained as were the lovely gardens and after our rooms had been serviced each morning there were different simple flower arrangements around the room which were charming. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were happy to be close to the dive centre at A'roa as we found the snorkelling there to be fantastic.

Room Tip: We had the cabin which was the smallest available - priced accordingly - and it was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taswegian074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Kia Orana Taswegian074,

Thanks for your helpful review. We hope you can sleep at night now without the therapeutic sound of the waves lashing the reef at night.
Remember where we are and we hope to see you again.

Kia manuia,
Dennis and Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
1.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhaven Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhaven Beach Bungalows

Address: Main Rd, Arorangi., Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range: $145 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhaven Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront. A private secluded boutique property hidden amongst mature tropical palms on a pure white sand beach on the west sunset side of Rarotonga. Superbly equipped modern self contained bungalows, suites & studios. See breathtaking views from your verandah of the lagoon and the Pacific Ocean beyond with tropical sunset backdrops. Huge freshwater pool with BBQ area. Catering mostly for couples looking for total relaxation. Our NO CHILDREN policy ensures peace & quiet. Good old fashioned friendly personal service by owner hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunhaven Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Hotel Arorangi
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing