We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor standard of accommodation”
Review of The Reef Motel

The Reef Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Reef Motel
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We expected this accommodation to be basic but not filthy. The shower cubicle had thick black mould, as did the toilet seat and cistern. The hand basin was dirty with built up grime. There were no mattress protectors and the mattresses and pillows smelt foul. Our towels were dank. The shower waste was clogged. In their favour they did call a plumber. We endured our two night stay there as we had nowhere else to go but will not be returning and would discourage anyone considering this place to stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for luxury accommodation on Rarotonga, this is not it! But travelling on a budget, u can't really ask for more. The cheapest rooms are basic, with a bathroom, bed, fridge and wardrobe. But that's all you really need if you are just using the hotel as a base and exploring all day long. The rooms were relatively clean on arrival, but look a little run down. The bed linen and room itself doesn't get cleane or changed, so I advise you try and keep the room as clean as possible during your stay. The bed itself was spacious and comfortable. The only really big downfall wa the cockerels that coca-doodle-doo at about 5am! So take ear plugs!
However, you can't knock the scenery, literally a minute from your own private beach with amazing views and endless sandy beaches. There is a BBQ available for dinner times, we just bought some BBQ food and Cooke that. But there are a couple of resteruants nearby if you don't feel like cooking.
All in all a good motel on a budget!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Денис К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimiliano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bbgi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nummer 2 ist optimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_nterf641999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
57 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
653 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Motel

Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range: $72 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Reef Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Reef Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Motel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing