We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience”

Crusoes Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The food was great, service was amazing. Everyone was so polite. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great portions- great price!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The restaurant does different themes for each night that are all good value with something for everyone!
Love the big portions and tasty food,
Definitely worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank greerybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arorangi
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little surprise...”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Called into the Castaway Resort as it was on the way home from a few drinks with friends. To be honest, we should have started at Castaway.

The staff were welcoming and pleasant. It was explained that there were two bar areas - Crusoes, which surrounds the swimming pool / and Wilsons Bar, which is closer to beach but only a short 30m walk away. Won't get into why the name Wilsons Bar - because I can leave that up to the owner Paul to explain. Very nice man.

We ordered a seafood platter to share - and it was ample. A mixture of fish bites / prawn twisters / ika mata / scallops / squid and a couple of dipping sauces.

After this experience we have decided to return and try the pizza and beer night. i am picking it will be equally as good quality and value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RarotongaBigBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go on Seafood Night”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We ate lots of seafood while on the island and we loved it here. The beach front restaurant"Wilson's" had a great feel about it. The staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of funky places to go on the island but this was certainly one of our best selections. enjoy, relax and have fun!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love this spot”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We absolutely love this little hideaway. Nothing fancy. Very small, very sweet and simple garden to walk through on the way to the beach. We did not stay here but looked over the room details while visiting the beach bar/restaurant and would definitely plan a stay here. It's a very special little spot. Dropped by for a sunset cocktail and were greeted and welcomed very graciously by the proprietor. We happened on a night when they bar food was pizza. We ordered the meat lovers and it was fabulous! Cocktails were delicious and we loved listening to the two musicians. An added plus for us. We were not expecting entertainment. The sunset . . . well just look at my photos. Spectacular. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbirds259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crusoes Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Crusoes Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing