We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sands Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Sands Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from 8 days at Coral Sands where we stayed in one of the three bedroom apartments. The accommodation was great - better than we anticipated. The three bedroom apartments are very roomy & well set out with two bathrooms. All of the apartments are modern, well maintained & have every thing you need - plus a bit more. Bob and Karen were really great to deal with. Very customer focused & went to considerable lengths to be helpful. Would definitely recommend this to others. Sarah, Matt, Rachel & Josh (Wellington NZ)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
45
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We didn't book Coral Sands Apartments but we were very pleased that Bob and Karen came to our rescue. This is our second time to Rarotonga - the first was almost 10 years ago sans children for our honeymoon. This time we were a family of 5 - Mum, Dad & 3 under 8's. We stayed in a house literally metres away from Coral Sands for the first week and then moved to another property on the other side of the island as the first house couldn't accommodate us for our whole holiday. When we moved, we found ourselves very disappointed with the house and so were desperate to try and find alternative accommodation for the remaining 6 days. Thankfully Bob & Karen had space despite it being the high season. Although squeezing a family of 5 into a one bedroom apartment sounds a little tight, the apartments are so well appointed and the whole complex so well set up that it was actually a lot of fun. Bob & Karen provided a cot as well as milk & juice to get us started and plenty of good advice about places to go and see and eat and swim. Their 3 bedroom double story apartments would have been absolutely ideal for us but they were unfortunately booked but Bob & Karen went out of their way to try and make our stay as comfortable as possible. Linen and towel changes made it easy for a family to stay tidy and they have thought of everything you might want and need, down to a blender for those tropical fruit smoothies and cocktails that are a must. And being beachside, it's perfectly located to wander down to the beach with a drink and a nibble to watch the sun set. After all, it is on the western (sunset) side of the island with spectacular sunsets. The snorkelling is also fabulous and safe for children and seems to be more sheltered than the eastern (Muri) side. Not to mention watching the passing migratory humpback whales! The BBQ area is perfect for cooking up the fresh Big Eye tuna fillets or Mahimahi and the salt water pool got a real workout by our children. Some snorkelling gear is provided, as are kayaks and life jackets and they have an extensive DVD library for the adults to watch once the kids are in bed. Bob & Karen even hunted out some children's DVD's to keep our children happy. When it came time to leave, Bob very graciously helped transport our luggage to the airport as it was a squeeze in our very small rental car to get everything in. And this was at midnight! Bob could not do enough to help us and we are very grateful that they came to our rescue. Would highly recommend Coral Sands to anyone who wants comfortable, modern, well appointed accommodation run by lovely caring people. We'd love to go back Bob, but we might book the 3 bedroom apartment next time!!!

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments can sleep 4 with a pull out couch but would recommend families stay in the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank simana3493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Coral Sands for 4 weeks and it was truly our home away from home while in paradise ! As first time visitors to Raro we were so pleased we chose Coral Sands. Our 1 bedroom apartment was very quiet, clean and comfortable, very modern, well equipped, and very conveniently located to beaches, diving and snorkelling, shops, restaurants, vehicle hire, airport and Avarua township. The apartment had WI-FI access and even came with its own mobile phone and the beach was just 40 metres away from our front door. Bob and Karen were fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble. From pick-up and drop off at the airport at a ridiculously early hour, advice about local sights, activities, shopping hints and restaurant tips, Bob and Karen were just terrific. We didnt want to leave Coral Sands and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Rarotonga. We will be back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Rarotonga look no further than the Coral Sands. We stayed here for just under 4 weeks in May/June 2013 and we were so glad we chose the Coral Sands over the many other properties we had looked at. Myself and my fiancé have travelled extensively and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star accommodations and the standard at the Coral Sands is well up there. Everything necessary is provided for self catering including an unexpected welcome breakfast pack including local seasonal fruit. The accommodation is perfectly clean, both towels and bedding changed regularly. The BBQ on premises is excellent for cooking, especially the local fish. In addition to the modern well furnished apartments the location is excellent, steps away from the beach where you are guaranteed a beautiful sunset every evening. There is free use of kayaks and snorkelling equipment so no need to bring your own. Five minutes walk away there is a very reasonably priced scooter/car rental shop.(Scooter is the way to go in Raro)
Bob and Karen were amazing hosts and went out of their way to help and give advice. Late pick up and drop off was a super service and very much appreciated. When we go back to Raro we will definitely stay here again and we will highly recommend this little paradise to all our friends and family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Coral Sands are amazing self contained apartments, with hosts that go way further than the extra mile! 1st days lovely food left for you, picked up and dropped off from the airport at whatever time you arrive or depart. Gorgeous pool, and only steps to the beach. Convenient location on the Island, and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Coral sands beachside apartments was an amazing place to stay and I would recommend to anyone who asked. Perfect location with a perfect set up. Bob and Karen are fantastic hosts who look after you perfectly while your staying with them. We had an absolutely fantastic stay here and made new friends with others staying in the complex. Thanks so much for having us Bob and Karen! A birthday i will never forget =)
Thanks Courtney NZ

Room Tip: We had a 2 story bedroom villa which was perfect for us as a group. Came with 2 bathrooms and 3 bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful island! Great accommodation with everything you need! Fresh fruit, bread, milk, juice, butter, cereal! Don't forget your duty free when you land as the apartment has a blender for cocktail time,(with so much beautiful local, cheap fruit it would be rude not too!) as the beach is only a few meters away it was nice to make a cocktail an go enjoy the sunset on the beach, before you head off too try out some of the amazing restaurants! ! Snorkelling equipment and kayaks to fill you days exploring the lagoon when your not doing one of the many trips you can do on the island! ! We had a great holiday and it was all made easy with the help from Bob, (unfortunately we didn't get to meet karen but she was very helpfull when booking!)his local recomendations are well worth listening too! Thanks for everything hope too be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo_and_Pete_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 13 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Apartments

Property: Coral Sands Apartments
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 3033, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 7-roomed resort, which caters for travellers who like indepedence and to be away from the hustle & bustle of larger resorts. The apartments are self-catering which means you can take care of your own dining needs, whether in the fully appointed kitchens or the guest barbeque. Towels are changed on request, and bed linen is changed every 7 days. The rooms are serviced on departure. The Coral Sands is ideal for small groups and if you wish to make a block booking, please contact us to arrange. The lagoon is only footsteps away where there is an abundance of colourful marine life, kayaks are available, along with reef shoes and snorkel equipment. The swimming pool is perfect to cool off as well. There are celing fans in all rooms, air con available (at an additional cost, there is access to WIFI, TV/DVD, security screens on windows, and there is a guest laundry on site. Come and enjoy the relaxed lifestyle of the Rarotongan people, no traffic jams or traffic lights here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Sands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Apartments Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing