We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Sands Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We sought out this place after a week at a timeshare resort. What a great find, in hindsight we wished we had spent our entire 2 weeks at the Coral Sands. The place is maintained to a very good standard with plenty of lovely touches (eg tropic fruit bowl, free DVDs, kayaks and even a torch and umbrella to use). Another great side is the hosts Bob and Karen - be sure and join them at the RSA on Friday nights. Great people and we wish you guys all the best. Thanx for a great stay, Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaryCaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
47
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beachlands, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to be able to go to Rarotonga for our honeymoon and what a place to stay at coral sands. It seemed to us that coral sands is positioned in the perfect spot, as the airport and the town is a short distance in one direction and Miri beach and the fruits of Rarotonga (which is amazing for snorkelling and fruit smoothies/cocktails) is not far in the other direction. We spent a lot of our time in the pool at coral sands which is lovely as it is not chlorinated (but salt water treated). We really loved how coral sands is self catering. We took some food over to Rarotonga with us and coral sands is well equipped to cater for your own cooking needs. They have a good stovetop, pot/pan ware, fridge, cooking utensils. The fans and aircon helped to keep things cool. Thanks soo much bob and Karen for picking us up and dropping us off at ridiculous times in the morning. Couldn't have had a better stay. See you next time. J & H

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided to fly up to Rarotonga and get away from it all. We could not have found a more perfect place for a complete break. In fact we had the whole complex to ourselves as this is a very quiet time of the year for travel to the pacific islands. Even though the weather could have been better it was no bother to us as we had a perfect apartment to bunker down in. We agree with most things that have already been by previous reviewers and there is not much to add. Thank you Karen and Bob for greeting us in the early hours of the morning and also for the lovely touch of giving us leis. Also Bob for depositing us back to the airport for our departure. We prefer to use self catering accommodation when we travel and this would be one of the best set ups we have encountered. All the little things had been thought of, a little torch, fly spray, dishwashing detergents etc. more than one tea towel, Towels changed frequently and even the sheets half way through the week. So if you want to do your own catering you will find almost anything you might need. We cooked a very nice Christmas Dinner and found everything we needed. because there is also a electric fry pan and BBQ. Would love to come and stay again one day if we return to Raro.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chivalrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Rarotonga is a beautiful place. I enjoyed riding the motor scooter but watch out for dogs running on road. The lagoon is fantastic for swimming. It was great to make use of the kayaks provided at Coral Sands. Went to Wigmore Waterfalls. Wouldn´t reccommend this, a bit of a non-event. There are plenty of restaurants on island. Fabulous to have th BBQ on site at the accommodation when you don´t want to eat out. Easy to buy fresh meat from supermarket in town. Lovely fresh fruit provided by the hosts. New experience drinking milk from the coconuts. Very good for you apparently. Hosts picked up at airport on our early morning flight and told us about places of interest and things to do. Would book again if I returned to Raro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is a real gem! Bob and Karen, the hosts, go out of their way to ensure your holiday is everything you want. They organised transfers, our scooters, even drove us around the island to meet with family. The accommodation is spacious, with all the amenities you would need for self-catering, though there are magnificent restaurants within a short stroll down the beach. The fruit basket and stocked fridge were a special treat, along with the kayaks, snorkels, on-site laundry, stockpile of books and DVD's - the list goes on. It's the perfect place to lounge by the pool, or stroll the beach and watch the sun set. Our holiday was perfect in every way, and I want to thank Bob and Karen for everything they did to help make it perfect. Can't wait to come back and stay with you again! Matt & Mel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Dear Karen and Bob
Hi guys...it was so neat to meet you both..... from a kiwi bloke's point of view to sum it up - you guys are bloody good buggers. Loved the fruit bowl and other small touches. Neat place, great accomodation and fantastic hosts. I appreciate what you did beyond the call of duty taking me to the airport at a late notice. Thankyou so much. See you guys next year!! :-)

Gary

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were originally booked to stay at Castaway Beach, but when we arrived there, we were told that we were being moved to Coral Sands. We didn't know what to expect, but we were extremely pleased when we arrived to the Coral Sands Beach Side Apartments. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, which was immaculate and very spacious. Everything looked brand new! Between the kitchen in the room and the BBQ right outside, we ended up cooking dinner for the 2 nights that we stayed and eating right outside our room. The pool and beach are right there and kayaks, reef shoes, snorkeling gear, etc. are provided for your use. It's almost like you have your own private beach! The laundry facilities are also very nice. We could not have been happier with our stay here. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Rarotonga, we will definitely be staying at the Coral Sands!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MEFPDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Apartments

Property: Coral Sands Apartments
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 3033, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small 7-roomed resort, which caters for travellers who like indepedence and to be away from the hustle & bustle of larger resorts. The apartments are self-catering which means you can take care of your own dining needs, whether in the fully appointed kitchens or the guest barbeque. Towels are changed on request, and bed linen is changed every 7 days. The rooms are serviced on departure. The Coral Sands is ideal for small groups and if you wish to make a block booking, please contact us to arrange. The lagoon is only footsteps away where there is an abundance of colourful marine life, kayaks are available, along with reef shoes and snorkel equipment. The swimming pool is perfect to cool off as well. There are celing fans in all rooms, air con available (at an additional cost, there is access to WIFI, TV/DVD, security screens on windows, and there is a guest laundry on site. Come and enjoy the relaxed lifestyle of the Rarotongan people, no traffic jams or traffic lights here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sands Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Apartments Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing