We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, reasonably priced accomodation.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Arorangi, Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
RobertJP7...
Picton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, reasonably priced accomodation.”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We rented the one bedroom apartment and found it clean, private, quiet, and well priced for Rarotonga. It is in a good area, fairly close to the beach, and has a lovely patio and garden. The hosts, Roberta and Carlo are very friendly and accommodating. (Also, Carlo is a great cook !!) There are several good restaurants near-by. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts !!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Hi Robert, thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and was a pleasure meeting you. We would love to host you - and of course your kind wife - whenever you are heading this way again. Ciao Carlo & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleswj...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem Home Away From Home”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

During our two day stay Carlo and Roberta went out of their way to make us feel welcome at their Tree House and in the Cook Islands. Our apartment, set in a lovely garden, was a home away from home. It was thoughtfully and creatively appointed, meticulously clean and tidy, so welcoming and comfortable. Our thoughtfully prepared and beautifully presented breakfasts, served to us on our verandah at whatever time suited us, were much appreciated. The proximity to the beach, easily swimmable at all tides was most welcome. We found it easy to walk to other restaurants and beach areas. Nothing was too much trouble for Carlo and Roberta. Their friendliness, shopping tips, restaurant advice, availability of copious Cook Island brochures and their willingness to show us the island en route to and from
the airport at times to suit us are further evidence of what genial hosts they were.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Hi Kym & Wayne, thanks again for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to write this kind feedback, we do appreciate it. We do try and give our guests as much privacy as they require so, as we say, we are here if you need us and out of sight if you don't :-) It was nice to meet you both and I am glad you and Wayne enjoyed your time and look forward to your next visit when we might catch up for a bit longer chat and sharing a nice meal with a superb glass of wine. Ciao, Carlo and Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthonymm...
1 review
“A lovely location, clean & spacious accommodation”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Five of us (2 adults + 3 teenage boys) stayed for a week. The location was private & lovely. Also spacious enough to accommodate a family, 2 full bathrooms, 2 lounge areas (both with tv's & plenty of free movies for nights we stayed in). Also cooking facilities were adequate for our needs (breakfast & lunch although in future I would bring over meat & do more dinners in the kitchen or BBQ). The beach was a 2 min walk down a path and snorkeling there was great. Carlo & Roberta were lovely hosts, always on hand when we needed help or information. I would recommend this house to any family that wants a beach bach holiday (as opposed to a resort). We would return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you so much Michelle, Anthony and Kids for taking the time to post your review and your feedback, we do appreciate it. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and are always looking for ways to improve the Tree House and enhance our guests' experience. Anytime you are ready to head back over this part of the world, we would be more then happy to have you here. Ciao Carlo & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becs B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Misleading!”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We were so disappointed with our stay at the Treehouse.
I have never written a bad review on accommodation, however I feel people should know about this so they don’t book and get a shock like we did.
The advert for this was a complete misrepresentation. The ad says there are two different units/flats available for hire. However the photos on the website are the majority of the front unit which is actually self-contained with its own kitchen etc. The unit we had was obviously an afterthought and was a bit of a makeshift setup.
Our advertised self-contained kitchen in fact consisted of an outdoor sink on wheels which had a garden hose as a tap, so we washed our dishes very awkwardly outside with cold water.
Inside was a shelf with the hotplate and microwave and toaster and mini fridge all plugged into the one power board. So when we cooked our bacon and eggs all of the appliances kept cutting out, we had to move our toaster onto the floor in the lounge to toast our bread as the appliances couldn’t be used at the same time.
There was a homemade type partition with cardboard and masking tape which wrapped around the stairs of the owners home which partitioned off the owners house from our accommodation downstairs. It was noisy in many aspects; we could hear the owners footsteps above including when she had her TV going. This included the noise from the guests next door, this also was only blocked off by some slatted bi folds with a wooden block placed through the handles to separate the two rooms.
The bathroom had a light that didn’t work and the one that did work kept buzzing and flickering on and off, not to mention the leaking/dripping shower head which fell off on the last day there and shooted water everywhere.
There was no privacy, which was worse at night, we couldn’t even sit in the lounge as you could see right in from outside. The blinds consisted on flax/bamboo type hangings over the windows which did nothing for privacy. The only place that did have curtains was the bedroom.
All I can say is, thank goodness we only booked for two nights and had booked accommodation 30 metres down the road for our remaining 4 nights.
VERY DISAPOINTED AND COMPLETWELEYT MISLEADING!
The reason why we booked this was the great reviews on trip advisor, I’m assuming these reviews weren’t from the unit we stayed in that’s for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2016
I don't know where to begin with all of your criticisms and complaints (many of them seem so trivial), especially since you never said a word to me personally while you were here. First of all, this comment coming from a reservation not made on this tripadvisor website listing and second you get informed before by a phone & write conversation about the only availability of the back unit with limited cooking facility (electric plate, microwave, kettle, toaster, blender etc). Therefore to make your 2 nights stay more comfortable, I was thinking to set up in the covered veranda a temporary sink (bio dishwash provide), grill bbq, extra table and chairs. You get a very discounted deal, a lot cheaper then a budget hotel room rate around and inclusive of transfer. Probably better to let the other 20 plus positive reviews of people who had a wonderful time staying here, speak for themselves, and wish you well You remind me of that famous saying "One woman's weed is another woman's rose".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mardiwate...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed but no breakfast”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is very clean and very tidy accomodation. It's location is also ideal with easy scooter ride to town and access to the lagoon which has a great beach and very good snorkelling. It's very private and easy to access. A few issues though.Even though advertised as a bed and breakfast there was no breakfast supplied at all for our entire visit (3 nights). The beds are a bit dated and really need upgrading. The linen and towels are also a bit scratchy but no problem with cleanliness. Finally we ended up having cold showers. It was possibly due to the overcast weather and solar water heating...a electric booster system would have helped. Finally though the host was very friendly and we appreciated the pick up and drop off to the airport. It is budget accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
“Hi Wes and friends, thank you for your review and glad you had a pleasant stay also without a morning breakfast. As appear in our listing the breakfast is optional, not included in the apartment rate (clearly separately priced) and you never ask before or during your stay about breakfast to be served . The hot water is generated by a solar system and when cloudy or not sun at all, there is an electric buster easy to be switched on by press the on/off wall switch. Regarding the beds we are quite surprise about your comment… because we bought the two new mattress just three months ago. Your suggestions are most helpful and we will do what we can to constantly improve and keep all the fitting updated. Cheers, Carl Robert "
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy, super clean place to stay with great owners”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay and would definitely stay again or recommend it to others, i wasnt sure about the look of the place from the online photos, im super paranoid about spiders, insects, mosquitoes in the house, we saw none and the house was very well equipped, as a matter of fact i found there was so much kitchen stuff to cook with etc i had trouble finding a place to put groceries we bought lol, if you looking for a nice, well priced place, give this a go, you will be glad you did :D

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place was super clean and comfortable and welcoming
Liked least: not alot of room to store groceries in the cupboards or benches, but loads to use to cook, so its good
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
Thank you Kim for the appreciation note and was a real pleasure meeting you. Hope to see you again in the near future and in the main time have a Wooooooooooooooonderful New Year. Ciao Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagoon967
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location great hosts and delicious meals”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I invited our daughter to join us. She has lived in Italy, as I have too and the thought of Italian hosts, in-house catering, a lovely tropical garden and the beach just minutes away sounded ideal.

It certainly was, Carlo and Roberta are absolutely charming. They made us so welcome, and offered to show us around the island the first day as there were no hire cars available, we in fact ended up never bothering to hire a car! It was just so easy to have a lift with Carlo at such a great rate per person, per trip!

They used to have the best restaurant on the island and Carlo was available to chef for us, every other night, a candle light dinner on our verandah, three courses, and always the fresh fish of the day - really quite stunning cuisine!

We had our own rooms with generous bathrooms, a comfortable living room and lots of verandah, covered and uncovered generously furnished.

We would highly recommend the Tree House and are looking forward to returning next year.

The day we left we were flying on to Aitutaki and our daughter was going home. Carlo took us to the airport checked us in then nipped us round the Saturday Market! Roberta took our daughter to enjoy the big Saturday Market and they then shared a tasty lunch in town before her early afternoon flight.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2015
Dear Mirren and Family, thanks for a very generous and detailed review. Our sincere gratitude to you for the time you took out to write this note remembering your stay at our place. It's been a pleasure serving and meeting you. We feel immensely inspired by your kind remarks. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a pleasant overall stay. We would love to Welcome you again and again, Ciao,
Roberta & Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing