We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive, compared with 5 star accom in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive, compared with 5 star accom in Thailand”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were first class. Comparing Rarotonga and the Recommended and Best Hotel in Rarotonga, Crown Beach Hotel, with Hotels in Thailand, the overall cost for the package including airfares was way over the top and very expensive. The house restaurant + food selection was at best, average. We would recommend the hotel however not at the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrynheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Kia Orana.

Thank you for your constructive feedback about Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. One of our three restaurants, Oceans Restaurant & Bar, is undergoing an operational upgrade (new sous chef, new menu's, new product style) to ensure it delivers a value for money product. Our fine dining restaurant, Windjammer Restaurant & Bar, continues to wow discerning guests seeking first class cuisine. Our newest eatery, Tang Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, is scheduled for opening in February 2011 and will feature authentic Spanish tapas.

All these upgrades & developments will give our guests a great deal of choice during their stay with us.

Your comment on the high cost of your holiday package needs to be explained. The Cook Islands import 90% of its product from New Zealand at great cost which is passed on to consumers (visitors and local residents alike). One simply cannot compare the Cook Islands to Thailand. We simply dont have the industry, population, economies of scale, nor the volume of visitors to achieve competitive pricing. Furthermore, airfares to Rarotonga can be crippling, especially during high season (the Cook Islands is served by two airlines, Thailand has over 30 airlines bringing in millions of tourists per year).

Our hotel operates expensive 'back of house' systems (sewage treatment, water treatment, food production, floriculture, etc) to ensure a fully functional resort for only 36 couples (our maximum capacity).

All in all, we will continue to refine our product to ensure we deliver a value for money product & experience.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    151
    47
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
488
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We arrived, as usual, after midnight on the Auckland flight - emerging into the sauna that is Cook Island wet season! Garlanded as we climbed into the taxi, we were talked at by our smiling driver. At the resort an efficient staff drove us by golf buugy to our villa - thoughtfully the air-con had been on all evening, so blissfully cool inside with sprays of fresh hibiscus everywhere.
Breakfast in the ~Oceans Restaurant next morning was run by a lovely group of ladies and the ever-smiling Tangi: he always wafted around (the only way to last if your shift is 9hrs in 35deg heat!); slick service with beaming smiles.
I was tempted by the lagoon 20m away, so kayaked after breakfast (like the snorkel equipment: free), then went for a swim in their good sized pool next to the bar. By lunchtime the late flight caught up so we slumped in hammocks conveniently slung between palms by the waters edge: snacks and drinks are brought to you: all v reasonably priced . and so it went on. There are live music and cultural shows each evening to accompany the excellent a la carte meals. Fine diners get great dishes in the Windjammer restaurant, the whole site is populated by smiling obliging staff who each seem dedicated to showing off the v best of Cook Islanders.
Then there's the "evening fairies"!! Each evening around 6pm these ladies pop in to the villa, turn down the sheets, put an hibiscus bloom on each pillow and light a tea-light on each bedside table, before switching on the verandah light so we could find our way back later!! The sea inside our part of the lagoon was full of gorgeous fish, we used the wonderful bus service: ancient ex-chinese coaches which run "clockwise" or "anticlockwise" because it took only 40 mins to circle the entire island.
My final bill for drinks, snacks, 4 evening dinners - for two of us was barely 600$!!! (ie around £300, which we considered amazing) and typical of their staff: a waitress, Rose, came to sit and chat with our group of departing guests whilst we waited for the transfer, even though she had just finished a 7hr shift: typical.
An amazing week!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikplowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Crown for 8 days for our wedding on the day we arrived we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff which continued through out our stay.The wedding events organiser David was very efficient to all our needs.Our wedding photographer Ine was also very efficient and we were very thrilled with the photos.We had meals at the crown restaurant and for our wedding tea Alan the head chef at the Windjammer and the Crown organised our wedding dinner which was beautiful and we highly recommend both restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collinspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We went to lunch at Crown Beach where family were staying. I can only say this was the best meal we had in Rarotonga and great service. Other places food was bland, not much service. I would recommend this restaurant. Also well priced.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The resort is absolutely amazing the beach is raked every day the standard of cleanliness is tops, the villas are spacious and beautiful. we were fortunate enough to stay in one of the spa villas on the beach what a dream to wake up with the views of the ocean and the beach every day was amazing.The food in the Ocean restaurant is beautiful we had our meals at the restaurant every night as we couldn't see the point in leaving to go somewhere else when they offered everything there. The island night was exceptional and we really enjoyed it. Happy hour every night from 4-6 2 for 1 drinks including cocktails waht more could one want. we both highly recommend this resort and would have to say it is one of the best on the island. We love everyone there and will definately be going back next year cannot wait.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romancer-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Crown Beach for five nights in a one bedroom villa. It was a delayed honeymoon/anniversary trip and the place was great. We were a little disappointed that they didn't make any fuss over the fact that it was our honeymoon/anniversary, but the staff were friendly enough. I think in general for the Cook Islands you just have to accept that its a more laid back way of life and that also means that they don't fuss over you the way you might expect that a hotel of this price range would elsewhere. Island time can also get annoying unless you just surrender and go with it!!

The rooms didn't quite measure up to the pictures online, they are a little old but for Rarotonga I suspect they are quite flash, and there was really nothing wrong with them, but not what you would usually get for 4.5 stars at home. But there was a nightly turndown service and the breakfast was fine.

The hotel was clean and the rooms were set away from each other and quite private, and the beach was pristine and not crowded at all. The hotel has great cocktails (although they are expensive so buy them during happy hour every day when they are two for one) and you can't beat bar service to the beach!

If you are looking to go to the day spa, book before you arrive as we had alot of trouble getting in when we arrived. And they claim to have the only air conditioned gym in Rarotonga, but there was no airconditioner to be seen!

Also, check out the Tumunu Tavern just up the road. It's very quaint!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Well I am just back from my first trip to Rarotonga with my partner and already talking about a second trip. To set the picture, Raro is a place you go to relax and don't expect people to run around after you, so for people who have complained about lack of proactiveness on the resorts part, all I can say is pull out finger and look at yourself first.

Arrived late hours on a Saturday nite to a nice cold towel and drink at the airport. Upon arrival we found that we were upgaded for free to a private courtyard suite with pool. This may have been due to the resort been 1/2 empty due to the season but who is going to argue.

We were left alone for the stay but the times we asked questions, it was both friendly and helpful. Did the kayak and snorkelling in the lagoon and attended the island night that got crowd involved and smiles all around. Still can't swing my hips like they can!!!!

Food was good, suite was serviced twice a day and overall it was excellent. Did visit the Edgewater and while nice and clean, if you don't want a hotel type stay or crowds, maybe the crown is the place.

Only down side was been advised to report for transport to my flight 1 hour before it took off but this was soon corrected. And the fact they have "cable" TV when the unit had rabbit ears and only picked up the local "grainy" TV.

Oh yes the resort does have two cats, midnight and sunlight. To the skinny cook that came running over to us while we were relaxing with midnight at a table on the beach..........there was no need to pick him up and throw him against the wall of one of the units. Your comment of "we don't encourage this type of thing", was weak and stupid.

Apart from this......hope he can cook...........the stay was good a two thumbs up to the reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank q51304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing