We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and thought the resort was stunning! The resort has spacious villas in ours, was right on the beach. The view was incredible, staff were friendly and the restaurant was great! The wedding at least from a guests point of view, was well organised. My husband and I will definitely be back. Next time I'd probably book the villa with the private pool.

Room Tip: Either choose villa 1 or one with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our ultra spacious Beachfront Villa with direct access to the sandy beach and turquoise snorkelers lagoon.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cuisine presented by our restaurants, especially the beautiful wedding ceremony and reception on the beach at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

Our Courtyard Pool Suites offer an ultra private option with high stone walls, an outdoor dining gazebo and your very own private pool.

We look forward to seeing you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 712 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

We arrived late in the day and we're greeted with friendly service. Unfortunately no meal service available due to being booked out. Room clean and tidy and serviced daily with everything we needed. Well kept grounds and friendly staff. We had villa 3 back from beach. Nice and quite.
We found all amenities were great for our stay. Although out front of resort the reef was more for snorkeling, either side had areas to swim. Pool wasn't used but we found it great for chilling out. Enjoyed our stay, meals at ocean's bar good, recommended the breakfast. Will visit again.

Room Tip: If its quite you want pick a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Beachfront Villa # 3, right on the white sandy beach and just steps away from our snorkelers lagoon filled with reef fish and coral; and not to mention, daily spectacular sunsets!

We are sorry that we were not able to fit you in at Oceans Restaurant on arrival, our other restaurant - Windjammer - was open and offers beautiful Italian cuisine by Chef de Cuisine - Carlo Poli of Venice.

We have a fantastic swimming spot 30m to the right of the resort - with a large sandy opening devoid of coral - and bring close to the reef, our lagoon area is regularly flushed out ensuring absolute lagoon clarity.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The overall appearance of the resort was disappointing. There was quite a bit of maintenance work going on during our 3 night stay at the end of November, including pruning the coconut palms with a chainsaw which was not very relaxing!
The Windjammer restaurant was also closed for refurbishment so our only eating option was the Ocean's Restaurant. The food there was good, especially the Cultural evening buffet and the steak. There was a good choice of cocktails priced at $15 with $2 off before 6.30pm. The complimentary breakfast had plenty to fill you up although the croissants and pastries were rather soggy. The service was friendly although sometimes a little slow.
The pool was not very inviting as it needed a good clean. We wished we had upgraded to a private courtyard villa but arriving at the resort after 1am meant there was no-one on reception and we were shown to our garden villa by security guards!
The beach was disappointing as it is a coral reef so not good for swimming and snorkelling and kayaking is dependent on the tide. There are warnings about going too near the reef because of the currents and they advise you to wear reef shoes but don't sell them in the shop!
Our villa was spacious with a large fridge which was supplied with a jug of fresh water every day and milk for tea & coffee. The shower was roomy and very powerful and the bed was comfortable. The air-conditioning was great and easy to control, we even got too cold on the first night it was that efficient.
The room was kept clean although there were a few small insects around the bathroom sink by the third day. The turndown service was a nice touch with flowers on the bed and tea light candles.
We rented some DVDs as there were no TV channels worth watching but the picture quality was not good.
We paid $250 to keep our room until 9pm so we could freshen up as we had a late pickup.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read you found the One Bedroom Villa functional, comfortable and clean. We have a progressive refurbishment program in place which will see a total revamp to our villas and suites.

We encourage guests, where possible, to pay a small surcharge to upgrade to our ultra private Courtyard Pool Suites with high stone walls, private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo; or go further to upgrade to our ultra spacious Beachfront Villas with direct beach access and commanding views of the turquoise lagoon & daily sunsets!

Our gardens require constant attention in order to maintain its beautiful presentation. Coconut palms become hazardous when nuts form and require pruning from time to time. The use of chainsaw is relegated to hardwood trees only. Coconut palms are pruned with machetes or garden saws. Our gardeners always try to be as quiet as possible.

Windjammer Il Veliero Restaurant was closed for heavy kitchen maintenance and reopened from the 6th December 2013. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Island Night Buffet as well as our Steak & Ribs Buffet dinner. Our restaurants are very popular with locals and visitors from around the island.

Our breakfast pastries will be baked for 5 minutes longer to ensure they fully rise and crisp up nicely.

Our snorkelling lagoon offers fantastic marine life with reef fish and coral. Swimming/snorkelling is best between tides. Reef shoes are available from downtown Avarua.

We offer free DVDs for houseguests to watch. These are available at reception.

All hotels & resorts in the Cook Islands, and indeed the world over, expect guests to check out between 10-11am. Extensions require a full night stay. We offer a phased late check out product: to 3pm = $150; to 6pm = $200; to 9pm = $250; beyond = full night charge.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and we hope you continue to holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands!

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Wonderful Courtyard Pool Suite with private pool and garden dining area. Food was decent and service is top notch. Suite was serviced twice daily and with romantic candle light and flower bed at night.

The beach was a little too rocky to get in and out of, a little hard navigating around the rocks while snorkeling.

Don't rent a car, don't catch a bus, rent a scooter and ride around the island. It feels great and you can visit all the special places on the island, especially the abandoned sheraton/hilton hotel, the sight and history of the abandoned land is amazing.

Room Tip: Choose Courtyard pool suite if you like privacy. THe ocean view rooms are expensive and people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed the Polynesian hospitality presented by our team of 85 with service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is one of the best on the island.
We stayed in a sea-view room one back from the beach which was just lovely.
Everything was spotless, the room was actually like a little cottage with a separate lounge and bedroom.
The only thing lacking was loungers on the deck, and no TV!! Just one chanel - no sky or cable - that shocked us. There is a DVD player but take your own DVD's - the resorts selection, though free, is terrible unless you are happy to watch Bruce Willis for a week. Plus they don't seem to have the covers so you can't read about what the DVD's are about first.
No real library here - just a handful of books - so bring plenty.
No umbrellas in the room either so BYO.
One wee moan, they are mean on towels here so bring a spare if like me, you like to have two.
The resort staff are wonderful, they are friendly and helpful and professional.
The food here is magic- well worth dining here, though some cushions on the chairs would make me want to stay longer and drink more!
The pool is lovely and quiet for a change, no screaming kids or splashing, just quiet lounging.
The beach is gorgeous though very rocky in the water, but if you walk 30 metres down the beach you will see a lovely clear all tide swimming area.
The snorkelling is average, lots of fish, not much coral.
The resort is well looked after, though showing it's age. It's not sumptuous and could do with some nice lounging areas and the wifi and internet is dreadful but it's still really comfortable and relaxing - we loved it here and would come back at the drop of a hat.
We did move to another resort on the island after this one, which was so bad it really emphasised how good this place actually is!
Oh, and the full American Breakfast is divine!

Just one real negative here:
We booked this resort as we wanted to stay where there were no children - but sadly, this resort does allow children to dine here ( they come up from the Edgewater next door) and they even allow children to stay here if there is a wedding - we think this is appalling and a breach of advertising standards and totally unacceptable to guests who believed all the "adults only" hype.
So it's the luck of the draw if your stay is child free or not.
For us, a wedding at the end of the week with children and babies staying ruined a lot of our earlier good impressions.

As a tip, you may want to call first and see if Windjammer is open if it is something you were looking forward to as it never opened once in the whole week we were here.
Also there is a lovely beach and nice snorkelling just up the road at Black Rock if you want to get out of the wind or have a change.
Edgewater Resort is an easy walk up the beach and an adequate option for dining, if like us, you hate the cultural nights ( one or two a week at Crown Beach) & their expensive buffets and are sick of the sound of drums! They are friendly and don't mind you eating there as visitors.

Room Tip: Go for the most you can afford - the dearer they are, the better they are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabbity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our One Bedroom Villas located one block behind our Beachfront Villas with partial views of the turquoise lagoon and daily magical sunsets.

We have ordered new outdoor furniture for our One Bedroom Villas including two chaise-lounges with new 8cm foam mattresses for maximum comfort. We will also introduce a new in-house movie system with great entertainment options. All villas and suites have 2 umbrellas each, located in the wardrobe (our 2-Bedroom Villas have 4 umbrellas).

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurants. Our two Chef de Cuisine at both Windjammer Restaurant and Oceans Restaurant pay special attention to their kitchen operations to ensure food quality is constantly high quality.

We are an adults only resort, however, we do permit families to dine in our restaurants. From time to time, guests from other resorts visit us and swim in our pools - we discourage this and ask families with children under 16 years to exit the pool area.

Our resort-wide wifi service is now fully functional (tested today) and we offer a competitive product at $10 per 100MB. Hooray!

All in all, we are constantly upgrading our resort and improving service standards to ensure we deliver a memorable holiday experience. You have presented some great ideas that we will incorporate into our future plans. Thank you.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 days in a Courtyard Pool Suite . The accommodations were fabulous - and the Private pool was a definite bonus.
The people taking care of our Suite were wonderful ,never intrusive . The place was always spotless.
We paid the extra charges for early check in and late check out . Not cheap , but worth it in our opinion.

The front desk staff were all fantastic . Each request was handled in an efficient and friendly manner . Bus directions to Muri , no problem ( there is only bus ! Ok two , one going clockwise and one anti- clockwise ) - plus a great place to eat when we were there.

Breakfast was fine - and the service in Oceans was always efficient and friendly .

Had dinner at Windjammer - and it was super ( separate review to follow) Great meal by any standard. With excellent service to compliment the evening .

By Island standards this hotel is five *****.

With a coral reef off shore , the lagoons are picturesque , but with rocks throughout, reef shoes are a must . Not the easiest beach to "run in for a swim"

Room Tip: Courtyard Suite a must and worth the extra $$$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBHMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurants - with notable mention of Windjammer Il Veliero Restaurant with modern Italian cuisine by Chef de Cuisine - Carlo Poli.

Our snorkelers lagoon is teeming with reef fish and coral. 30m to the right of the resort is a large sandy opening in the lagoon that is perfect for swimming, and our close proximity to the reef ensures the lagoon is flushed out every 6 hours with refreshing water that optimises water clarity!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hospitality from our team of 85 with service from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have just left the hotel after being there 5 nights and being fairly disappointed with our choice of hotel. We arrived 12.30am Thursday morning and checked into our Courtyard Pool Suite number 32. The room was really nice, nice and private courtyard, when we went to get into bed we pulled the sheets down and found a ants in the bed. The next night the ants were worse, the following morning we were woken by a phone call at 9am by our cleaner 'Tina' saying that she had seen our 'Do Not Disturb' sign and wanted to know if we wanted our room services that day. I notified the receptionist of the ant problem as there were also ants in the toilet room and lots of baby spiders around the wet bar area and also told her about Tina. That night the ants were worse again, the following morning I notified them of the ants in the bed again they said they had sprayed it the day before but it didn't seem to have made any difference. We then decided to pay for a standby upgrade to a beach villa as the ants were to much and we hadn't been offered another room or any thing. The beach villa had a great view and location, straight onto the sand, the room was not as nice as the courtyard pool suite it was very dated. Could be a great hotel, but at best as is would not rate 4 star and definitely not worth what you pay to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrmanager, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We have commenced an organic bug spraying program at Villa 32 to eradicate the ant nest in the gardens. We are confident this will be resolved quickly.

We apologise for not moving you to an alternative room much earlier in your stay. The upgrade surcharge should not have been applied to you. We will fully refund your upgrade surcharge.

We apologise for our housekeeping team for invading your privacy at 9am, especially when your 'do not disturb' sign was placed on your gate. We will ensure all team members observe guest privacy requests.

We hope you give us another try in the near future.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $305 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing