We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay in Rarotonga” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The only weakness we have found with this hotel have been the transit arrangements from the airport. We were very early off the plane and had to wait ¾ of an hour for the bus to fill and head off. Then there is inevitably a queue to check in. Had we realised (and we should have it was exactly the same 20 years ago) we would have taken a taxi and been in time for happy hour at the bar.

There is a superette and liquor store opposite so no need to buy the expensive drinks from the bar (after the first night). Our beachfront apartment is spacious clean and well appointed (including a fridge for the aforementioned drinks).

Cook Island Telecom have an internet hotspot just over the road so no need to use the expensive hotel hotspot which you have to go to the lobby for in any case.

We have found the staff uniformly helpful and friendly so 5 out of 5 for the Crown Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 4 are right on the beach. There are two others that are just back from it but still get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We apologise about the wait at the airport for other hotel guests on a 'seat in coach' transfer service destined to stay at our resort. We do offer a private car transfer service (at a surcharge) with champagne & other trimmings with immediate departure to the resort. Alternatively, taxi's are available as well as rental cars available for collection on arrival.

Our beverages prices are on par with most restaurants & bars & resorts on Rarotonga. We do have the best happy hour program from 3-6pm where you buy one drink and get the 2nd for free.

We will be rolling out our own wifi system with unlimited access for a flat fee of NZD25 per day. This arrangement will make our offer similar to other hotels around the world.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hospitality from our team of 85 with service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    148
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
63
475
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just spent eleven days at this excellent resort and cannot praise it enough. I have re-read some of the bad reviews and can't believe they are for the same place. DO NOT take any notice of them! We have travelled extensively and are very fussy but Crown Beach ticked all the right boxes. We had a garden villa which was extremely comfortable and private with our own courtyard and pool. The super-king-sized bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. The venue itself is absolutely beautiful and the gardens are immaculate. Both restaurants were very good, and the staff amazing - so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were very extensive with buffet fruit, (huge passionfruit - yummy) yoghurt, cereal, muffins, toast etc etc and this was followed by a choice of hot meals (eggs benedict, omelettes, pancakes and many more. Any little queries were attended to within a matter of minutes. We would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: I wanted a beach front villa, but my husband talked me into a garden villa and I'm glad he did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter and Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your 11-night stay in our ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with the high stone walls, private swimming pool, and outdoor dining gazebo. In our winter months, the path of the sun shifts a few degrees north shading part of the outdoor courtyard. Some guests like full sun exposure, whilst others like partial sun exposure (opting for more shade). In any case, we are happy to move guests to rooms that offer the right level of sunshine.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurants; as well as the service from our team of 85 who ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We have embarked on a long term pursuit of excellence and will be upgrading & improving hardware & services to ensure we continue to meet (and hopefully exceed) the needs of our discerning guests.

We hope to see you both again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 6 nights here as part of a family group in January this year and had a fantastic time. Our 2 bedroom and 1 bedroom garden villas were a good size and very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was great - we liked having the continental buffet and then being able to order a hot meal (ie eggs benedict, pancakes, bacon + eggs) as well if we wanted to. The outlook is so beautiful right on the lagoon! We especially enjoyed the cultural show and buffet - it was great vaule at about $45NZD (I think), the food was fantastic and the show amazing!!! Highly recommend! Staff were also very friendly and helpful when booking scooters and giving restaurant recommendations. We enjoyed being on the sunset side of the island - even though arguably the beach is nicer over in Muri, Muri is also much more crowded with people and resorts, and is very easy to hop on a scooter to get there anyway. Overall great resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalouise888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that your large family group enjoyed their 6 night stay in our 2-Bedroom Villa & 1-Bedroom Villa set around the main waterfall pool.

We are equally pleased to read that you all enjoyed the services & amenities of our small boutique resort.

Our exclusive beachfront haven ensures total privacy, peace & quiet for guests seeking bliss. Our lagoon features large coral heads that teem with colourful reef fish and soft coral - a snorkelers paradise!

We hope to see you stay again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding here on the 8 July 2013 ~ Kate & Leon party

We first visited the Crown in May 2012 and found it a beautiful spot with friendly staff. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept.

We decided to have our wedding here and we are very glad we did. Our wedding planner at the Crown was Karliean. Karliean was amazing, nothing was ever a problem. An email was usually replied to within a couple of hours. Karliean was always friendly and I really enjoyed working with her. THANKS :-)

Sara O'Keefe our makeup and hair stylist from the Crown was awesome too. Sara was friendly and her work was amazing! Sara was really helpful on the day and we really appreciated it. Mum loved her hair style so much she left it in until she got back to NZ! THANKS :-) I will upload a wedding picture of your awesome work soon.

The food was amazing and was easily one of the best meals we had. All of our guests were impressed with the meals and they came out on time. Canapes were great too!

The service at the Crown is very good and all the staff are so friendly.

THANK YOU for making our day so amazing and everything we wanted. We hopefully would love to come back for our one year anniversary and would highly recommend to you everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwigirladventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you all loved your special wedding ceremony & reception dinner, and that everything worked like 'clock-work'. The beachfront setting was absolutely beautiful - even other guests were inspired to convince their families & friends to get married at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

Our team of 85, especially Karliean & Sara, ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We are pleased to read that you both will return to stay for your 1st anniversary. We wish you both absolute prosperity & happiness.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had 5 nights at this glorious resort and have to say it is one of the nicest situated resorts we have ever stayed at. Our 2 bedroom beachfront villa (with its own plunge pool) was perfection in every way. We were in Rarotonga for a family wedding which was held at the resort and this too was fabulous! The staff are great, very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this resort for both families (we took teens) or couples, its romantic relaxing yet plenty to do should you choose, kayaks are available to use and snorkel gear in each room. Our only regret is that we didn't book for longer...we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are a real treat and are very cost effective considering the special offers that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that your family enjoyed their stay in our 2-Bedroom Beachfront Pool Villas with the private gated outdoor living space, the private plunge pool, and only steps from the sandy beach & turquoise snorkelers lagoon.

We are equally pleased to read that you enjoyed the service from our team of 85 who ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

Weddings are a very special affair at our resort as our team fuss over the smallest detail to ensure the bride, groom, family & friends have a memorable experience.

We wished you stayed longer and are pleased to read that you will return to stay, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwerin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a private poolside villa and really enjoyed the luxury and privacy! It was our own little piece of paradise and the pool is just big enough to enjoy a stroke or two. The bathroom and toilet definitely needed a detail clean, there was scale everywhere (that shower head was a health hazard!) and the stainless was not polished - both things we do not expect from an upmarket establishment. The remainder of the villa needed a good dusting.

We thoroughly enjoyed the beach and bar, but would have loved to see some more heartfelt service during dining at either of the restaurants. While staff were professional, they certainly did not go the extra mile. The food was only middle of the road and a far cry from the exquisite dishes we've enjoyed in other places during our 2.5 week stay on Rarotonga!

We also noticed staff smoking and partying at one of the prime tables for sunset watching - not a good look and certainly not something that should happen in this kind of resort setting!!! (We are both hospitality professionals and were simply appalled at the lack of rules around this - nowhere in the world is a customer expected to fight for a table with the employees). It felt like there was no manager in place to oversee the goings-on.

We spent an excellent afternoon in the spa - getting pampered and relaxing in a private spa pool whilst slurping bubbles. That was one of the highlights of our stay and we'd go back to the spa any day!

Overall we enjoyed our stay but don't think it justified the prices. We will unfortunately not be able to recommend this place to any of our friends.

Room Tip: Definitely would take a private courtyard over the very expensive beach front suites - they have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashonayacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We have discussed your points with our management team and would like to respond with the following:

1. Dirty Bathrooms - our housekeeping team maintain some of the cleanest rooms in the country; and shall continue to follow daily procedures to ensure our rooms are beautifully presented to our discerning guests.

2. Oceans Restaurant Service - Mii and her team at Oceans Restaurant constantly deliver a professional & 'happy' service to all guests who join them for breakfast, lunch, dinner or cocktails on the beach. Mii and her team receive daily rave reviews and regularly receive gratuities for exceptional service.

3. Oceans Cuisine - the quality of our food is regarded as 'very good' and improving as we employ more international chefs and adopt new recipes to diversify our menus. Oceans Restaurant is a very busy restaurant with significant turnover & profitability; with a strong loyalty base comprised of visitors and Cook Islanders.

4. Staff Party at 5pm - staff are permitted to come in for drinks and meals at Oceans Restaurant & Windjammer Restaurant. General smoking is permitted on the beach zone in front of Oceans Restaurant. Smoking is not permitted in the main dining room. Oceans beach has table seating for 60 guests. Oceans Restaurant dining room has seating for 120 guests. Our staff on the beach would have occupied at most, one table of 4 seats, resulting in a potentially boring 'party'. We are extremely surprised to read that you had to 'fight for a table' with our employees. We have never seen this happen, nor would we let this happen. Rude or offensive behavior by any staff member will result in an immediate ban from using resort facilities. Our staff are well behaved when they enjoy resort facilities & services.

5. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the services offered at Spa Ariki.

6. All in all, our small private boutique resort with big resort amenities & services continues to improve its product & services to meet & exceed guest expectations. Rarotonga has a huge selection of accommodation options at prices that meet all budgets.

7. We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and we do hope you continue to visit beautiful Rarotonga.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just arrived home from two weeks at the Crown Beach Resort and Spa. We had 45 friends and family come with us to celebrate our beachfront wedding and I cannot even describe how truly amazing it was! Many, many months of emailing back and forth with Rohan, Yogi and Karliean led to our group having the most wonderful time. Between our group, each of the different rooms were booked and everybody was happy. We spent one week in a 1 bedroom beachfront villa and the second in a courtyard pool suite. Nothing beats waking up to the beach each day, but the courtyard pool suites are stunning (and very private) so it really does depend on what you're after. We ate at both Oceans and Windjammers and were not disappointed. All of our meals were to a very high standard, including the buffet breakfast which was a great way to start the day! Happy hour each day was a must and the cocktails really are great value for money at this time. The girls at the front desk, Yogi and Rita helped our group book tours which made it so much easier for everyone. Mi ii, Liz, Jnr, Lillian and the others down at Oceans knew all of us by name and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Lastly, Karliean, our lovely wedding planner was magnificent! She made our day absolutely perfect. Even last minute changes were no trouble and everything ran as smoothly as could possibly be. Our whole group raved that our wedding was the best they'd been to.. We really do have Karliean to thank for this!
We'll be back next year and cannot wait!! Thanks everyone at Crown Beach! Brianna

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crownbeachwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Kia Orana Brianna & Matt,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

Your family group of 45 were fantastic to look after and our entire team miss them all dearly.

We are pleased to read that you both loved your romantic sunset wedding ceremony & wedding reception dinner on the beach. Mii & her team at Oceans Restaurant absolutely loved looking after your group.

The months of planning & communications are a tribute to you, Brianna, for executing a stunning wedding and honeymoon for the entire family.

We are so pleased to read that you both will return for your anniversary next year. We also believe a few aunties & uncles plan to return to renew their vows! We cant wait to look after them again!

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing