We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in Parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Lets start with the good bits. When I booked this hotel I had arranged for a standard room by the pool, but when we checked in we were upgraded to the new villas with their own private pool. These rooms are spacious, they have 2 loungers outside and a small plunge pool to help cool you down. The villas are surrounded by a high wall so you have total privacy. The hotel restaurant is called Oceans, and here you can get the usual drinks, lunchtime snacks etc and in the evening you can watch the sun go down over the Pacific The beach is a bit rocky but nothing too bad, and the pool is clean and lovely. The staff were friendly and we didnt have any problems with them. We ate at the hotel on our first night, the price was ok but the choice at the buffet was limited, after that we went out, there is a restaurant about 5 minutes walk away that is run by a mad welshman, does lovely food and is quite cheap.

Now for the not so good bits. When we arrived at the airport we were told by the hotel to look out for a taxi firm (Atupa I think) who would take us to the hotel for $30. Well we got there and there was no sign with our name on it, others probably booking direct had transfers in a coach and we were directed to them and they kindly took us to the hotel. On the return we were leaving at 4am because our flight was at 5.45am back to NZ. I spoke to reception the afternoon before we left and she said that she had booked a taxi for 4am and that the night security guy would come along at 3.50am to pick up our bags. Well neither happened, so we walked our bags to reception to see the night security guy sitting there (we werent the only ones, another couple had to do the same) I asked him to check that the taxi was on the way but he couldnt find the number. Then the mini bus for the other couple came along and thankfully he took us because the other cab company was on the other side of the island and wouldnt have turned up. I doubt the guard would have known what to do!

The other major problem is that there is no Do Not Disturb signs for the rooms, so you can have a cleaner walk in at 8am (as would have happened if I hadnt been up and outside) then she never came back to make the room up. Or they will just stroll in to do the evening turndown. So be warned wake up early and make sure you are dressed!

Overall it was very relaxing, the staff are just as relaxed so somethimes things dont get done but then that is how it is. Other people on here have moaned about the flies and the ants, well it is a tropical country there isnt much you can do about that.

Just be warned, if you do not have transfers booked, sort it yourself because I doubt the hotel will.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank steveessex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Crown Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 703 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2008

Although it has been a year since we stayed at Crown Beach Resort i thought that i really needed to tell everyone about our stay. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful, the staff are beautiful. I can't praise this resort enough for making our honeymoon one that is full of fantastic memories. The guy behind the bar(forgot his name) by the first day new our names, our favourite drinks and everytime he saw us waved hello and had a drink ready for us either by the pool or the beach. The staff at reception booked all our day trips around the island. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing yet heaps of activities holiday. Definetly hire a motorbike for a couple of days and just drive around the island. When we drove around the island we saw all the other hotels that we were contemplating at staying at but nothing came near the crown beach resort. Because we also went to aitutaki we broke up our trip at rarotonga, so 3 days in the beginning then to aitutaki and then 4 days back at rarotonga. When we came back they upgraded our room for free to a beachfront suite with a jacuzzi and all. AMAZING absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank grace83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed at Crown Beach on way back to London from holiday in NZ.

The resort itself is really cute with sandy roads connecting the various buildings and of course is right on the beach (quite reefy but lovely clear water). It was very quiet and I think perhaps only half full at the time of our visit ... rainy season ... and oh how it can rain there!

On our second day our light bulbs/fuses in one-bedroom bungalow had failed for the second time and we were moved to one of the new pool suites ... after some prodding. These rooms are seriously amazing. Private courtyard, private pool, beautiful room, fantastic huge bathroom. These suites add a really luxurious dimension to the resort but are very expensive and so far the rest of the resort isn't quite up to the standard set by these lovely new rooms. I believe that further upgrades are planned though.

The team were very friendly and helpful and laid back. Particularly welcoming are the guys at the bar. They clearly don't get many late night drinkers (and by late night I mean post-9pm!) so were happy to chat away with us.

Windjammer restaurant is really great, Oceans lovely for seafood but a bit hit and miss for other things. Breakfast mediocre and yes there are flies (not sure what they can do as its an open-air restaurant). All food was approx NZ prices.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay but without the upgrade I would have felt it wasn't very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lottienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Crown Beach Resort for 9 Nights, For the amount of money we paid for the stay we did not get what we expected at all! Arriving to the resort we were surprised at the entrance and foyer reception, was very dingy and not a good first impression.
We were then taken to our Beach Front Villa which was yet again ok, Not the best though.
The Oceans Bar is not reccomnded for Fine dinners!! the service is below average and the food is very poor. Not the cleanest of Hygeine.
Some of the staff on the resort were very rude and sarcastic, we would ask question such as about the weather etc and we would get sarcastic false answers. We were not impresed at all.
Some of the house keeping staff were very helpful and polite, although the room service would arrive at 9am and we would say please come back in an hour or two as we are showering etc and they would turn up 10 minutes later!! Not sure if they knew how time ran there!!
The Windjammer restaurant at the front of the resort was the Highlight of staying on the Resort (although i am not sure if it is acutally part of the resort) the Food was beautiful!! and the service was of the highest!! Loved our dinning there!! Reccomended to all.
Also the Resort needs to provide what they advertise!! They say they have Kayaks and canoes!! One Kayak was available (a one person Kayak) and also when we went to one of the staff for Snoorkling Gear we were told that we could only use it for a short time and bring it back ASAP!! He was very rude about this, although there were plenty of sets there anyhow.
All in on we would not return to the Resort and would not reccomend for others if they are expecting a high class service and accomodation.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kat008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

What can I say, an absolutely beautiful resort, great staff and great ambience. We stayed in the low season so there wasn't too many people there, we did however meet a wonderful couple from England with whom we shared some fun times. We were extremely lucky with the weather and most of our stay was picture perfect - with some great sunsets thrown in. We had a great beachfront villa (# 4) - perfect spot to relax and watch the ocean from the room, the balcony or spa !! If you get a chance take a trip to Aitutaki - one of the most beautiful islands in the pacific. Food at the Windjammer has to be some of the islands finest, so treat yourself to dinner there. All in all a great place to stay, not crowded & noisy, just very relaxing and extremely enjoyable. Watch out for Oki at the bar, he'll talk you in to a serious cocktail !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Stormers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

We have recently got back from 8 nights at the Crown Beach where we were lucky enough to be staying in 1 of the beach front villas - fabulous!

The staff are fantastic, very helpful and great knowledge about what to do and where to eat and did lots of bookings for us which was very handy.

The beach at the resort is great for learning how to snorkel and you are free to take the snorkeling gear around to other parts of the island as recommended by the staff.

People who make complaints about this resort must be on a different planet. The facilities are great, people lovely and overall this is a fantastic resort and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Calnon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at Crown Beach Resort for three days / two nights on the way to New Zealand to begin our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the beachfront spa bungalows, which opened directly onto the beach. The villa was a nice size and nicely furnished, but I wouldn't call it luxurious. The beach is incredible, and we had an excellent dinner at the Windjammer restaurant.

My only negative comments relate to the ongoing construction near the front of the property and to the "Island Night" dinner that we had one night. The construction didn't affect us that much, but it doesn't give you the best impression when you arrive. I would avoid the Island Night dinner. Although we enjoyed the traditional dance performance, the food was mediocre, we had to wait in a long line to get it, and the buffet was picked over with many items not replenished by the time we went through. Others seemed to enjoy it, so it might work for you, but we would have preferred another night at Windjammer or another restaurant in town.

Finally, Rarotonga isn't the best island I've ever visited. Although it does have nice beaches, there isn't much else. It worked fine as a stopover on the way to New Zealand, but I'd probably pick another Pacific Island (like Tahiti or Fiji) or a Caribbean destination if I were going solely for an island vacation.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank CLTtraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $307 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing