We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like quality..............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like quality..............”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Truely fabulous resort - excellent accommodation, great customer service and wonderfully warm / friendly staff......special thanks to Karl who works so hard and is a delight to meet and chat to...he'll even supply the odd coconut drink if required (an asset to the resort).

The food was superb and there is no shortage of options for dining.

Water in the pool was too cold for me but there is not too much they can do about that...oh and could have done with a few more beach beds but I put that down as positive feedback for the resort and not a complaint as it was really perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your accommodation, and that you highly rated your experience with our team members, who really do enjoy hosting guests to our resort & island.

Karl is real gem and is a key player in our botanical gardens team. His intricate knowledge of plants has enabled the creation of tropical gardens on a dry sand dune base. A great achievement.

We are investigating solar hot water panels for swimming pools and will make a decision on this factor later in the year. All in all, we are committed to upgrading the resort hardware as well as programming software training programs for our staff to ensure we continue to deliver a top product & service.

We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager, Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    151
    47
    14
    12
See reviews for
65
488
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was our first time in Rarotonga! enjoying a combined honeymoon and family holiday for our two children which exceeded all our expectations!! We were lucky enough to stay in a beach front spa villa making it the perfect setting for a romantic honeymoon experience while the kids enjoyed having the beach and snorkelling at their door step. Our villa was spacious, clean and well located with the added bonus of a warm spa waiting for you after hours of great snorkelling. We enjoyed meals both at the Oceans & Windjammer restaurants and the service & food was always first class!!

Thank you! Crown for an amazing!! holiday... we'll defiantly be back again!!!!

Room Tip: Go! for the beach front spa or pool villa's if you can it's well worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_Sorensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your Beachfront Spa Villa with lots of space to accommodate your family; and that you all loved the close proximity to the lagoon, just a few steps away.

We are also pleased to read that your family enjoyed your meals at Oceans and Windjammer Restaurants. We are pleased to announce the opening of our 3rd restaurant, TANG - Tapas & Cocktails, located in the centre of the property for affordable tasty tapas.

All in all, it was our pleasure to look after your family and we do hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager, Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The warm and friendly staff made our holiday very relaxing. A very cheerful welcome as you start the day in paradise at breakfast every morning made you feel valued even though you were a complete stranger. Our accommodation was upgraded because there was a double booking and this was handled very professionally by the staff. The gardens were just beautiful and a credit to the staff who look after them and go so far as to raking the sand every day. The two for one cocktail was a great way to meet other guests in a relaxed atmosphere. We loved the sunsets. We are not great snorklers so swam in the sandy waters just at the end of the resort boundary, the reef shoes are a must as it is still quite rocky when walking in the sea. Reception booked the Safari and Glass bottom boat tours we did, both picked you up at the gate and delivered you home, all included in cost. Take cash with you and leave in your safe, as the eftpos machines at shops, restaurants and resorts only take Westpc Visa, not BNZ. The ANZ ATM machines on the island will take BNZ cards. We felt safe during our stay in Rarotonga. The Saturday market was a great way to meet locals and try island foods. The clockwise and anticlockwise buses are a great way to get around if you do not hire a scooter or car, $7 to go all the way around island with as may stops as you want, an hour to get around the island on the bus.

Room Tip: Wanted quiet and relaxation so we chose to stay at a Resort where there are no children under 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with outdoor dining gazebo and private pool. We are pleased to read that you loved your interactions with our team of Cook Islands who ooze the art of hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We are pleased to read that you loved the resort gardens, our daily triple happy hour program where you buy 1 get 1 free, the gorgeous daily sunsets, and so much more. All in all, we will continue to refine our small beautiful resort to ensure it continues to deliver top product and service.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager, Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and found the staff very helpful in making arrangements for us and attending to any requests quickly. We found the villa we booked met our requirements perfectly and being only one back from the beach front was ideal. In the past we have always stayed on the other side of the island and it was great being able to sit on the beach and watch the sunsets each evening. For us, having a resort that was not running children's programmes was a real advantage as there were relatively few children there so we were not surrounded by continual noise and were able to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The front office were able to arrange for us to rent a car which gave us the freedom to get around the island very much more easily than if we had to rely on the bus, particularly in the evenings.

Room Tip: The beachfront villas are the most expensive but the straight single bedroom villa we had was only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halswellbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your One Bedroom Villa located one block from the icing sugar beach and blue Pacific ocean.

We are pleased to read that you found inner peace and serenity at the resort, be it through the botanical gardens, or on the beach watching another glorious sunset. We strive to present a private haven for 36 couples to escape their busy lives and re-energise in the Cook Islands.

Crown Beach Resort & Spa is a small hotel packed with amenities, facilities & services that you'd expect from a large resort. We pride ourselves on providing our VIP guests with quality product & service straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The room was fantastic - private, furnished to a very good standard, and the bathroom had a super shower and luxurious tub. The staff were friendly and helpful, for example spending a lot of time locating a car we could hire when we realized part-way through the holiday that we wanted one. I also managed to be sick for the first days of my vacation, and the staff were very kind. Breakfasts at the Oceans Restaurant were lovely, and the drinks hour(s) were fun. The resort was exceptionally convenient, with an excellent dive centre on its doorstep, a dairy across the road, internet when you break down and decide you want to check your email, and all of the food, drinks, and small luxuries you want. I advise booking a treatment at the spa early - it's very well priced and I got the best pedicure I've ever had. I'd say Crown Beach was family friendly but geared towards couples; and good for self-sufficient travelers rather than people who need a lot of organized fun.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastysnack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with outdoor dining gazebo and private swimming pool.

We are equally pleased to read that you rated our staff as professional, helpful and most of all, polite. Our small team love to help our VIP guests make the most of their short time in the Cook Islands.

We are pleased to read that you loved your full buffet breakfasts with hot and cold selections, and our highly acclaimed Daily Triple Happy Hours where you buy 1, get 1 free. Even guests from other resorts sit on our beach and sip on many potent cocktails as they watch the sunset - oh and by the way, the Humpback Whales are in town and are causing a spectacle directly in front of the resort!

We work closely with our business partners to present a good selection of amenities and services in and around the resort, complete with Big Boy Cafe, Rite Price Supermarket, ANZ ATM, Liquor Shop, 1018 Bistro, and more.

We look forward to seeing again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our Villa was out of this world with own private pool. Serviced daily to a very high standard. Located right on the beach with the resort having two wonderful restaurants. Staff very helpful and friendly and they gave top service everywhere. The gardens and surrounds are tropical, colourful and fabulous. There was no negatives about the resort that we could find.

Room Tip: Sone villas by the restaurant maybe noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaklea_cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite complete with outdoor dining gazebo and private pool. We are equally pleased to read that you loved your dining experiences at our two restaurants & bars; Oceans on the Beach and the award-winning Windjammer. We are pleased to announce the opening of our 3rd eatery - Tang Tapas & Cocktail Lounge, from the 1st August 2011, presenting savoury Spanish tapas and a wide selection of cocktails.

Our botanical gardens are spectacular - we have the largest collection of hibiscus in the Cook Islands, arguably the whole South Pacific.

Our service team of Cook Islanders continue to go the extra mile to ensure our VIP guests are well looked after. They espouse true Cook Islands hospitality: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands - South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We believe the Crown Beach was overpriced for what it actually offers. Our initial bungalow was uninviting and the bedroom was tiny. There were no loungers outside the room for sunbathing, just a couple of chairs. We upgraded to the rooms with a private plunge pool and what a difference - great size room, huge bathroom and outdoor area to lie in the sun.

The breakfasts were fine and a cooked breakfast was offered every morning but the evening meals in the Oceans restaurant were very disappointing. A peek in the kitchen suggested that they didn't have the facilities to properly look after the numbers of people they were catering for. Windjammer restaurant produced great food but waiting an hour for bread and dips is ridiculous - they seemed to have a good kitchen, just not enough staff or only the ability to prepare one order at a time.

We saw no evidence of the tapas restaurant that is advertised in some of their brochures.

The beach was nice but nowhere near enough chairs for everyone to sit during happy hour and we really felt the staff should have had their meetings somewhere else instead of using the chairs themselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

Our One Bedroom Villas are our lead in rooms nestled in tropical gardens with little space to position sun loungers on the private decking area. There are sun loungers around the grand pool and on the beach. Importantly, our premium rooms (Beachfront Spa Villas and our ultra private Courtyard Pool Suites) have their own private sunloungers and many other extras including private pools and private jacuzzis. The good news is that we have commenced upgrading our One Bedroom Villas complete with new kitchen, bathroom, colours and art works. Recently renovated rooms have drawn positive feedback from our VIP guests.

Oceans Restaurant located on the waterfront is the main dining hall for the resort. Oceans features a resort style dinner menu that caters for a broad range of customers at very affordable prices. In this regard, Oceans attracts a large number of diners and food production can slow during peak periods, which averages 15 diners every 15 minutes. Our Food & Beverage Manager continues to streamline his kitchens to ensure quality and efficiency.

Windjammer Restaurant continues to deliver beautiful cuisine. We are surprised to read about your one hour wait for a simple order of breads and dips. Windjammer restaurant is a small intimate restaurant that is designed to process 8 diners every 15 minutes. Cuisine is created from scratch using the freshest produce. You will be pleased to read that we have just commenced our lunch service at Windjammer, initially from Wednesday to Friday, with potential to roll out Monday to Saturday, according to demand.

Tang Tapas & Cocktail Lounge is set to open on the 1st August 2011. New equipment and furniture is scheduled to arrive on the next ship from Auckland. Importantly, our Food & Beverage Manager has commenced menu testing and development in partnership with the new Restaurant Manager from Madrid, Spain. Tang Tapas will offer a new dimension to the dining scene in the Cook Islands. We cant wait.

Our sandy beach dining / cocktails area directly in front of Oceans Restaurant is now fully furnished with brand new beach chairs and tables which arrived off the last ship from Auckland. With new outdoor seating capacity for 60 people, the waterfront sandy beach is perfect for our famous daily triple happy hours and sun-drenched lunches.

It is important to note that everything in the Cook Islands is shipped in from overseas, and shipping delays, beyond our control, impacts our ability to have everything when we need it.

All in all, we are committed to continuous upgrades & service training at our resort in our quest to be the best resort in the Cook Islands. It wont happen overnight, but it will happen.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager - Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.9 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Sunset Coast, Arorangi 682, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Islands leading luxury beachfront romance resort on Rarotonga's sunset coast...an exclusive haven for only 42 couples. 5 acres of manicured gardens, 100 meters of icing sugar beach, a crystal clear lagoon, 3 restaurants & bars, day spa & beauty clinic, gymnasium, scuba dive centre, conference & business centre, 3 wedding coordinators, 15 swimming pools + 9 spa pools...so much more than meets the eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crown Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Beach Resort And Spa
Crown Beach Hotel Arorangi
Hotel Crown Beach
Crown Beach Resort Rarotonga
Crown Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing