We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large House for Travelling Families or Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Large House for Travelling Families or Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends recently stayed in one of the Puaikura Reef Lodges Holiday Homes. The three bedroom house we shared was spacious, came with its own pool and also included a car! The house was located close to the Lodge and beach and we found it really convenient and well priced compared with other resorts on the island. We would all stay in this house again. Each bedroom had above ceiling fans and air-conditioners, it had two bathrooms, large lounge and kitchen and large outdoor area complete with barbecue and eight seating outdoor suit. The pool is cleaned regularly and lawns maintained by the Lodge staff who I will add were all friendly and polite and any questions were answered with ease. Our pick-up from the airport in the early morning are arranged by the Lodge and most convenient when you are weary and tied from the flight. There is washing machine, clothes line, washing powder all provided. Condiments are in the kitchen eg: salt, pepper, coffee, tea and sugar and the first day a fruit, cereal, and bread were all left for us which was great. The House is located to good snorkelling areas and we found that just 5 minutes walk, opposite the Dive Shop, was great for colourful fish and clean water.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NeroliTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    100
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the lodge and had a wonderful amazing time!

The staff couldn't do enough for us and made us very welcome
The rooms are just across from the beach but we didn't go across... We spent most of the time round the pool (which didn't get crowded)

We will definitely come back to here next year!


  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkinoonah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week, nice and relaxing,great ammenities and the staff were wonderful and heplful. The bus is right outside and right across the road is awesome snorkelling. Wouln't stay anywhere else, highly recommended.
Bill and Karen NZ

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen_bill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

To Lotu, Rangi, Manu & the chamber ladies: you made us feel like we were coming back to see old friends - this was our first visit to the Island and we had a wonderful time. Whether in or around the pool, it is a terrific place to meet new friends and share ideas of where to go next for snorkeling, tours or dinner as well as to share your days activities. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well equipped & the priceless freezer that kept us supplied with ICE was a godsend. We met several families there with children, including 7 month old twins & family from NZ as well as teenagers and their families also from NZ. If we were travelling with our grand kids, this would be a perfect place to take them, including the shallow beach just across the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our recent holiday, and found it a great little place to be based. We were in the executive room, which is above the main office - a great sized room with a private deck overlooking the pool. The room was basic, but had everything required - a good size kitchen, equipped with the basics + small fridge and small stove top made it easy to suss meals. There was one double and two single beds a good sized bathroom.

The outside pool was simple but lovely in the heat. Next door there is a very basic store, small petrol pump and an adventure hire shop. We found hiring a scooter from here easy and well priced (discount for cash payment) - a quick $5 'scooter handling test' and then off to the police station for a $20 Rarotongan licence. Within 5 or so minutes walking distance in the other direction we found a little hotel with beachside cocktails at $10 - always happy hour prices, and a slightly bigger food store just down from here.

Overall a good little spot, not the best bit of beach across the road but easy to get to your new found favourite spots either by scooter or bus (bus stop right outside, and also across the road for the other direction). Well priced with very friendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Return visit was just as good as last year. Lotu your the best and Tina who looked after our unit could not ask for anything more your a gem. Maunu the grounds man thanks for fresh coconut and keep chasing them chickens. Thanks again for a great relaxing 10 days and you can be sure we will be back. The best budget motel on the island and the award speaks for it self. We miss the fabulous sunsets see you all again soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Based on the staff alone, I would give this place 4-5 stars, however, there were a few issues that mean I would overall give it 3.5 out of 5.
Firstly, it's worth bearing in mind, that most accommodation in Rarotonga (the big resorts) are often very expensive for what you get. The Puaikura Reef Lodges is definitely good value for the money. The only reason I am giving them 3 out of 5 is due to a couple of issues with our room. We stayed in the Executive Suite, which was upstairs above the office, very private, with a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. This is supposed to be the best room in the resort, and is more expensive, so was hoping it would be fabulous. It was very clean and spacious, although fairly basic and older in style, which is to be expected in Rarotonga within this price range. On the first day we realised the fridge was not cooling anything properly. We soon found out this was as the seal was broken and the door would not close properly. This also meant the interior light stayed on the whole time, which actually meant the fridge got quite hot inside. This was not a major issue for us as we only kept water inside, but as this property has kitchen facilities, and a lot of people kept food in their fridges, this could have been a real issue for someone else. Luckily we tend to eat out every meal on holiday. We did tell the management, but there was little they could do over christmas to be honest. In the end we solved the problem by putting a heavy chair up against the fridge door to keep it shut and the light off. This was a real pain every time you wanted to get into the fridge, but at least kept our water chilled. Another included the shower running hot and cold throughout taking a shower. I just dealt with this though, as it wasn't a major issue, and was one I have encountered elsewhere in the islands. The bed was a little too hard for my liking, but this is obviously a personal thing, and i am very spoilt with my bed at home. The pillows however did seem old and lumpy which is not ideal, and they could do with getting some new, fresh ones.

The property itself was well looked after and clean, and the pool, although nothing flash, was very welcome in the heat. Location wise it's fine. Not on the best stretch of beach by a long shot, but an easy 10-15 minute drive into the main town, or 20 minutes to Muri Lagoon. There is a small cafe and store next door which is handy too.

As I said, the staff were great, and even gave all their guests a bottle of wine for Christmas, which was a lovely thought. Airport transfers were timely and good value.

Would I come back? Yes, although probably in one of the regular rooms, as I thought they were just as good as our executive one. Without our minor room issues it would have been a fantastic stay, so would give it another go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.2 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.4 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Pearl at Puaikura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Pearl at Puaikura

Property: The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Address: | Kavera, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Pearl at Puaikura 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sheltered sunset side of the island, the Black Pearl at Puaikura enjoys an enviable location with a pristine beach across the road, safe for swimming and snorkelling; a magical spot to watch the sunset. A mere 15 minutes to downtown Avarua, ten minutes to the airport and twenty minutes to the eclectic hustle and bustle of Muri. Intimately set in tropical gardens around a central salt water swimming pool The Black Pearl’s 12 rooms are spacious with high vaulted ceilings. A bold, vibrant, sometimes quirky colour palette complements the natural colours of the island. All on the ground level each room has a private patio, a view of either the lush garden or sparkling pool – or both. Kitchen facilities mean you can prepare breakfast, a light lunch or dinner in between dining at a great choice of restaurants close by, many of whom offer a free pick up and drop off service. Or choose to use our poolside BBQ. The Black Pearl at Puaikura is a haven for those not wanting a large hotel with multiple bars and restaurants but rather an intimate environment where the emphasis is on personal service, a place where you can lose yourself in a tropical paradise, at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Pearl at Puaikura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puaikura Reef Hotel Arorangi
The Black Pearl At Puaikura Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing