We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and super laid-back..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Certificate of Excellence
Freemans Bay, Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming and super laid-back..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here during a group holiday as part of our group were staying in a large bungalow 1km up the road, owned by the same people as Puaikura Reef Lodges so it kept things simple as we all felt that we could come and go between both properties. The motel is exactly as expected - clean, friendly staff and we had everything we needed in our rooms. The atmosphere is VERY relaxed (some travellers would no doubt see this as complacency but we liked the lack of pretension!) and we felt completely at home here. We made good use of the barbeque (clean and with all required utensils at hand) and pool every day. Even when the local Dive Centre were giving lessons in the pool, we were still given priority to use it. I probably wouldn't stay here on a romantic break without kids as it is very family-friendly. This was my third trip to Rarotonga and I will be back again - nice to try different accommodation every time but would have no problem returning to Puaikura.

Room Tip: My son and I stayed in the Executive Suite, room 14, above the office which was really good - really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    100
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The place is basic rooms are ok. Clean and tidy but a bit dated. Which is fine but this place was a little pricey for what you get. Staff are very nice as is the owner. Could do with a nice place to be able to sit outside. If it was cheaper I would say stay but there are better places that aren't are a bit more expensive but are a lot more modern

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshnz44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room servicing well done with pleasant cleaning staff.
No hot water for 5 days despite repeatedly mentioning this to the office.
Family friend not on pickup list at airport at midnight despite reminding office twice.
Pickup driver rude and challenged accommodation reservation.
Embarrasing apology next morning but no complimentary lei or breakfast.
Promised free day car hire because of multiple returnees.
Well, what a junk heap we were given - convertible roof worked when felt like it, auto windows not working, a windscreen wiper flapped and sealed road very visible through floor.
Lounge wall light not working, no teapot and crockery & cutlery very mismatched.
Barbeque not always left clean and utensils sometimes missing.
The owners never once visited us (had always happened in the past) and this was obvious in the lack of overall management checking on levels of service over all aspects.
A very disappointing visit to a most lovely Island.
Mature Kiwis

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maturekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

October 2012 7 nights in #15 Accommodation: 3 bedroom bungalow just down the road from the main lodge. Good sized rooms with a big kitchen, microwave, fridge and gas hobs and bbq and washing machine. Lovely deck that looks out onto large flat section perfect in for shade and shelter should it rain. Was perfect for our situation as we travelled with two other families who stayed at the main lodge. Most of our meals were together at the house. Plenty of room for all without disturbing other guests. The odd visit from the local chooks and dogs made us feel at home.
Location: A short walk across the road and you are on the lovely white sandy beach. Great for swimming and snorkelling. When the tide was low the kids enjoyed the pool. Small shop right next door, handy for buying bread and milk and other essentials.
Staff are friendly and very helpful. Jazz recommended the Highland Paradise Cultural night - awesome show well worth the $$'s
This is our second visit to Rarotonga and we have stayed at Puaikura Reef Lodges both times. It is very reasonably priced family accommodation. Clean and tidy both inside and out. We have fallen in love with Rarotonga and hope to make it back one day. We would not hesitate booking again with Puaikura Reef Lodges as they are awesome.
Thanks for another enjoyable stay Pauline, Alan, Kimberley, Campbell and Bradley Auckland NZ

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggiemay5081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently spend 2 nights in #14, probably the biggest unit. It is big, comfortable and clean. Abit noisy since it's directly above the office and on the entrance/exit driveway. The resort itself is more like old US motels, with attached units lining a swimming pool. It has no restaurant so you either stock up and cook in your room or...travel miles in either direction to a resort that has a restaurant. We found this inconvenient as we don't cook on vacation! Not having a car means taking the bus, which runs both directions around the island about every half hour. We thought overall it's too far out of town, too plain jane and too lacking in amenities to ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Only one really big unit, #14, which has a full kitchen, living and dining room, balcony facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j92037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

From the moment we were picked up from the airport, we were well looked after, the driver Leman was a nice guy. The next day, we introduced ourselves to Lotu, who was awesome and very helpful and organised anything we wanted and did it with a smile, no matter how annoying I was. great location, about a 15 min scooter ride to either Muri or town with lots of good food places close by. The rooms were clean and tidy and serviced every day, even had our own pet cat for our stay (he's an awesome cat). The only downside was the roosters keeping you awake but that is a raro thing, even the "flash" resorts have the same problem. Next trip to raro, you will be annoyed some more Lotu because we will definitely be staying again. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in April 2011 (September was as far back as this site would go when selecting dates). Great family accommodation. We traveled with our two year old son.

The room: Great self contained units with full kitchen facilities. Big and spacious. Clean and simple. Great value for money.

Location: Excellent. Right across the road from a fantastic swimming beach.

Facilities: Very simple. Pool and BBQ area were just fine. Grounds were flat and tidy. Good for kids to play.

Staff: Very friendly.

We been to raro four times now and this was the first time we stayed here. Will most certainly do so again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very similar and nice and big.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank amberlouises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.2 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 12 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.4 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Pearl at Puaikura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Pearl at Puaikura

Property: The Black Pearl at Puaikura
Address: | Kavera, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Pearl at Puaikura 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sheltered sunset side of the island, the Black Pearl at Puaikura enjoys an enviable location with a pristine beach across the road, safe for swimming and snorkelling; a magical spot to watch the sunset. A mere 15 minutes to downtown Avarua, ten minutes to the airport and twenty minutes to the eclectic hustle and bustle of Muri. Intimately set in tropical gardens around a central salt water swimming pool The Black Pearl’s 12 rooms are spacious with high vaulted ceilings. A bold, vibrant, sometimes quirky colour palette complements the natural colours of the island. All on the ground level each room has a private patio, a view of either the lush garden or sparkling pool – or both. Kitchen facilities mean you can prepare breakfast, a light lunch or dinner in between dining at a great choice of restaurants close by, many of whom offer a free pick up and drop off service. Or choose to use our poolside BBQ. The Black Pearl at Puaikura is a haven for those not wanting a large hotel with multiple bars and restaurants but rather an intimate environment where the emphasis is on personal service, a place where you can lose yourself in a tropical paradise, at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Pearl at Puaikura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puaikura Reef Hotel Arorangi
The Black Pearl At Puaikura Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing