We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort, especially for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort, especially for couples”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Have just spent 10 days here and really enjoyed it. We were upgraded to a beach front room, which made our stay extra special. The resort is situated on the western side of the island which means you can enjoy wonderful sunsets. Our room was spacious with quality furnishings and we especially liked the outside shower! The restaurant is situated on the beach with great views over the sea. There was a buffet style breakfast each morning and we enjoyed a couple of meals at the restaurant in the evening. We found the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The bus stop was just outside the hotel and there was a car hire company just across the road. Previous times we have stayed in Rarotonga we had scooter hire, which we have always enjoyed, but this time we hired a cheap car. The benefit of the car was it kept us dryer and warmer in the evenings when we travelled to various restaurants around the island. At night you have to be aware of dogs and potholes! We loved staying here and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have amazing views, whilst the garden rooms are private and surrounded by tropical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwianatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    135
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
327
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 12 days in a garden villa, early July. 4 other members of her family stayed here and other members of the family stayed at other places locally. The rooms had been upgraded since our last stay. We loved the outdoor showers. The place was spotless. The staff were attentive and hardworking. The housekeeping and gardening staff were really on to it. I think for the number of rooms, the amount of beachfront, seating around the pool, hammocks and beach loungers is better than any other resort on the island. You will always find somewhere you are happy with, in space. Sand on the floor restaurant, you can throw away the shoes on arrival !! Calamari lunch, great for $10. Well done to the owners, who we met while we were there

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I have recently returned form a lovely weeks stay at Manuia...Every aspect was outstanding,from the staff and their total commitment to satisfying us and their friendly personalities to,the resort location and facilities and rooms....We were made to feel so very welcome and that we truly belonged...We enjoyed all of our meals and the Island night dinner and could not speak more highly of our stay there...We loved room 101 though Im sure all rooms would be equally as nice...Thanks for a great holiday and your team is Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time staying at Manuia. Everything about it was fabulous. All the staff there were so welcoming and so helpful with any queries we had. The receptionist Kuri was fantastic about booking tours and restaurants for us. The manager Rajiv was fantastic. Always came and greeted us and cooked gluten free pancakes every morning for my friend. The rooms were very tidy and spotless. The location was perfect with a small diary across the round and not too far from the town. Gorgeous set up by the pool and amazing sunset every night. Would definately stay there again when we go to Raro soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Resort is just stunning. Great location, great staff, good food, really nice beach. The complex is very nice with the big garden and the sand paths everywhere.
The rooms are spacious, modern and have everything you need! The outdoor shower is very nice.
I can definitely recommend the property and will hopefully come back again very soon!! I am very confident in selling the property to our clients here in Germany. Thumbs up and stay like you are!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed with our Manuia family just last week. Had the most amazing time, enjoyed the beautiful people. Stunning place to stay with such wonderful staff. Chef...Fantastic! Rooms were awesome, beautiful gardens,outdoor shower a highlight. Fantastic activities going on at the resort with great entertainment and yummy cocktails! Such a great atmosphere. No spa or fitness centre but marked with excellence as the beautiful lagoon provide this naturally. We met lots of great people and have returned to NZ with at least 6 new contacts to keep in touch with.
Now Laiza - What can we say about you, you made our stay wonderful, we didn't want to go and it turned out we missed our plane, you went out of your way to help us and it meant a lot. You are a beautiful lady, don't go changing! You and your team we so helpful and never stopped smiling, you all had personalised the holiday of every person staying there and we are all grateful for that! I have your contact so we will definitely be back to see you! Take care our family xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lianne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Manuia was highly recommended to us by our travel agent, and deservedly so. From the friendly greeting on arrival to our farewell we can not fault this resort.
We paid extra for a beachfront room (number 2) and were not disappointed. Wonderful views over the lagoon, quiet and private and lets not forget the outside shower. Although it could get a little chilly at times. The king size bed and linens were excellent.
The restaurant served excellent meals both at breakfast and dinner and the two for one cocktails every afternoon were appreciated. Loved the sand floor, especially nice to run your toes through
Nothing was too much trouble and we had a three day scooter hire included in our package, very handily located just across the road. Plenty of information in our room and at reception regarding activities, restaurants etc on Rarotonga. The island bus stopped right outside the resort
The location was ideal, quiet and with a lovely beach to walk along every day.
A big thank you to Laiza and Kura whose warmth and friendliness help make this a memorable holiday.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 3, and 4 four are beachfront. Room 2 was quiet and felt very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 408MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing