We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Manuia Beach Resort - Awesome place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manuia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Manuia Beach Resort - Awesome place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Laurie & I stayed at Manuia Beach from the 18th - 23rd May. From the moment we arrived until we left is was perfect. The beach restaurant was great, they even cater for gluten free requirements ( cant get GF pancakes back in NZ for breakfast out in a café) but no problem for mama in the kitchen!!!! Thank you. We loved the quiet and the rooms are very comfortable. It took us a day to work out what was so different from other holidays, it was the quiet from not having any families with small children around. we left ours at home! Teenagers, that is.
With the resort being down a long driveway, there was no road noise and just a short walk within the resort to get to the beach, lagoon or pool & restaurant. The outdoor showers were really cool.
We loved cocktails by the pool as the sun was setting. Beautiful.
Thanks Richard & Staff we will be back again. Laurie & Christine

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    121
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
278
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

What an incredible place! we had a wonderful honeymoon, the no kids policy is great, beautiful rooms, the outdoor showers are very cool, the staff is fantastic, Kura! what a lovely woman :) We are going to miss her. You also get extra sun on that side of the island and the sunsets are unbelievable! Lots of coral with tropical fish on the beach, very nice infinity pool too! Thanks Alex and Loren, we will be back one day.

Room Tip: Room 11, almost at the front but more private and quiet as front ones are close to the restaurant an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollobmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Manuia from 18th to 23rd May 2013 and loved it! The people there were absolutely fantastic, the staff could not do enough to meet our every need. The accommodation was every thing one could expect or imagine. The private outside showers in each unit with hot and cold water was such an enterprising idea and novel experience. The bed was comfortable, the unit clean, private and really comfortable with air con and fan. We loved the Island night as it was quite different to others offered, and Kura was amazing with her knowledge and ability to unite everyone in their cultural activities - she made everyone feel like family. Richard, one of the owners made our whole stay a personal involvement in being there and because of this, everyone who was staying there felt special and bonded as if we had known one another forever. We will return to Manuia - we have stayed on another resort previously and have visited other resorts, but this is definitely number one! Bryan and Barb NZ

Room Tip: We liked to have accommodation on the calmer side of the island with a bit of distance from the reef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thanks to the team of staff at the Manuia Beach resort..... such a title as resort must deliver and this place does. The new owners have re-decorated and expanded, this tropical R18 (as in no children) is perfect. The staff are great ..... we love you Kura (she's makes that place hum). the gardiner has passion and love for his garden. Only fault was the local rooster down the road!!!! Management are fab... we couldn't complete our shopping as the shops are shut Sunday's and we flow out early hours of Monday. Loren had purchased what we were after and posted the goods back to us before we got home 4 hours later..... Now That's SERVICE. We will be back... Many thanks Andrea & Simon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doris07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful/exotic/peaceful>>>just stunning....Lovely food>>>Wed. Island nite was quite special!!.....w/great service from ALL Staff @ Manuia.(esp. Kura)... Richard Vinsen (theHost)...was very helpful W/ any assistance needed..Thanks....:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotToddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a wonderful romantic experience,, great staff and managment. Made to feel really important and couldnt help just relax and enjoy the experience. Great cocktails and really nice having the calmness of adult only environment. Couldnt recommend enough. Island night a must, Kura and her staff make the place wonderfully memorable! Thanks Manuia!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunderbird c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been to Hawaii many times and were considering Tahiti to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We were both under twenty when we married, so we are still very physically active.

We wanted something that was not overbuilt, like Hawaii, and where we could relax and enjoy the natural beauty of a rustic island. A friend of a friend recommended Rarotonga, and based on a visit in 2012 suggested three places that would be good to stay. We picked The Manuia Beach Resort and are so glad we did.

This is a once in a lifetime thing for us, so we splurged and booked 12-days in a beachfront room. It had a king-sized bed in are large room with nice closet space, a separate bathroom and a wonderful outside shower. The large porch had two Adirondack chairs and a table where you could sit and enjoy a beautiful view of the beach and waves breaking over the coral reef.

Coral means lots of tropical fish, which we enjoyed using the snorkel gear provided by the resort. The infinity pool is great and there is lots of deck area around it with plenty of umbrellas, tables and chairs.

The restaurant is 1st-class. We ate there several times and were never disappointed. The food was always excellent. In fact, the Lamb Shank dinner is one of the best meals we ever eaten. The service was excellent and the staff top notch and always very friendly.

The island itself is not big, but there is plenty to see and do if you love nature. We rented a scooter, which enabled us to take all the back roads and see where and how the locals live. It was truly a magical vacation that we will never forget.

We had late checkout our last day because our place departed at 12-midnight for Los Angeles. We walked out into the warm beach water at dusk and looked at the distant waves breaking for the last time. I had my arm around my wife, Georgia, when she started crying. Yes it was hard to leave such a wonderful place, but at least we have wonderful memories and lots of photos.

If we are still in good shape, we plan to go again for our 60th.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost, a beach front room is worth it. Splurge, you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gandresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing