We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Per excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at Manuia from 18th to 23rd May 2013 and loved it! The people there were absolutely fantastic, the staff could not do enough to meet our every need. The accommodation was every thing one could expect or imagine. The private outside showers in each unit with hot and cold water was such an enterprising idea and novel experience. The bed was comfortable, the unit clean, private and really comfortable with air con and fan. We loved the Island night as it was quite different to others offered, and Kura was amazing with her knowledge and ability to unite everyone in their cultural activities - she made everyone feel like family. Richard, one of the owners made our whole stay a personal involvement in being there and because of this, everyone who was staying there felt special and bonded as if we had known one another forever. We will return to Manuia - we have stayed on another resort previously and have visited other resorts, but this is definitely number one! Bryan and Barb NZ

Room Tip: We liked to have accommodation on the calmer side of the island with a bit of distance from the reef...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Manuia Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 465 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thanks to the team of staff at the Manuia Beach resort..... such a title as resort must deliver and this place does. The new owners have re-decorated and expanded, this tropical R18 (as in no children) is perfect. The staff are great ..... we love you Kura (she's makes that place hum). the gardiner has passion and love for his garden. Only fault was the local rooster down the road!!!! Management are fab... we couldn't complete our shopping as the shops are shut Sunday's and we flow out early hours of Monday. Loren had purchased what we were after and posted the goods back to us before we got home 4 hours later..... Now That's SERVICE. We will be back... Many thanks Andrea & Simon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful/exotic/peaceful>>>just stunning....Lovely food>>>Wed. Island nite was quite special!!.....w/great service from ALL Staff @ Manuia.(esp. Kura)... Richard Vinsen (theHost)...was very helpful W/ any assistance needed..Thanks....:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotToddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a wonderful romantic experience,, great staff and managment. Made to feel really important and couldnt help just relax and enjoy the experience. Great cocktails and really nice having the calmness of adult only environment. Couldnt recommend enough. Island night a must, Kura and her staff make the place wonderfully memorable! Thanks Manuia!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thunderbird c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been to Hawaii many times and were considering Tahiti to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We were both under twenty when we married, so we are still very physically active.

We wanted something that was not overbuilt, like Hawaii, and where we could relax and enjoy the natural beauty of a rustic island. A friend of a friend recommended Rarotonga, and based on a visit in 2012 suggested three places that would be good to stay. We picked The Manuia Beach Resort and are so glad we did.

This is a once in a lifetime thing for us, so we splurged and booked 12-days in a beachfront room. It had a king-sized bed in are large room with nice closet space, a separate bathroom and a wonderful outside shower. The large porch had two Adirondack chairs and a table where you could sit and enjoy a beautiful view of the beach and waves breaking over the coral reef.

Coral means lots of tropical fish, which we enjoyed using the snorkel gear provided by the resort. The infinity pool is great and there is lots of deck area around it with plenty of umbrellas, tables and chairs.

The restaurant is 1st-class. We ate there several times and were never disappointed. The food was always excellent. In fact, the Lamb Shank dinner is one of the best meals we ever eaten. The service was excellent and the staff top notch and always very friendly.

The island itself is not big, but there is plenty to see and do if you love nature. We rented a scooter, which enabled us to take all the back roads and see where and how the locals live. It was truly a magical vacation that we will never forget.

We had late checkout our last day because our place departed at 12-midnight for Los Angeles. We walked out into the warm beach water at dusk and looked at the distant waves breaking for the last time. I had my arm around my wife, Georgia, when she started crying. Yes it was hard to leave such a wonderful place, but at least we have wonderful memories and lots of photos.

If we are still in good shape, we plan to go again for our 60th.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost, a beach front room is worth it. Splurge, you will be glad you did.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gandresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this wonderful intimate resort. Beautiful private quiet rooms. Had a garden room with outdoor shower which was amazing. Great for couples. Rooms serviced everyday if you wanted and all staff amazing and friendly. Managers Alex and Loren very approachable and can help out with anything required in the way of tours etc.. .Restaurant and bar staff lovely and nothing a problem. Amazing cocktails by the pool. Food brilliant and breakfast included was lovely, awesome pancakes.Snorkelling out the front of the resort great. An amazing place for some an R and R. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Garden rooms give more privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend a full day & night at this understated paradise.

The attention to detail from the owners, from quality linen, minimalist classic rooms, soothing colours, the liberating outdoor shower & easy drinking wine, champagne & cocktail glasses all add to blissful holiday experience. Add to that the attentive & genuinely content & happy team, the infinity pool & a superb spot the sensational Raro sunsets, for me this property rates extremely highly.

I highly recommend Manuia Beach resort whether you are travelling solo or couples...I'll certainly be back..thank-you Richard, Karen & team Manuia!

Room Tip: All new rooms are very well appointed, for me though I simply adore the beachfront rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
6.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.5 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $246 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing