We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manuia Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have just spent 10 days at this tropical island paradise. Fantastic setting - magic sunsets - lying on the beach til late. The new owners are transforming the whole resort and are upgrading the units to a very high standard. Outside showers are a must. No children - just what we ordered. Relaxing and romantic. Staff are friendy and helpful and the sand floor restaurant right on the beach is something different. The guest lounge allowed us to watch the rugby - a must for some of us. So glad we pushed our holiday out to 10 days instead of the normal 7 - an extra 3 days in paradise was just what we needed. We will be back again and look forward to seeing the resort upgrade completed then. Thank you so much to all the staff who helped make our holiday more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniversary25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    129
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
305
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Maunia beach I thought "Wow" this is truly paradise.
My initial reaction was totally backed up! A beachside room beautifully presented and totally in keeping with the Cook Islands style. Loved the outside shower, it was private and pure luxury.
The staff were great, from the housekeeper to the restaurant staff. They were there when you needed them and were obliging without being pushy. Laying on the gorgeous beach, swimming in the lagoon or the infinity pool, snorkeling, watching the sunsets, seing the whales playing beyond the surf and the lagoon, all contributed to a totally relaxing and restoring holiday. Manuia Beach Resort is a must and I will definitely return. And yes it was a fantastic restful and enjoyable holiday week.

Room Tip: Beach front is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Was a bit worried after reading trip adviser after i booked but who needs to worry when your on the perfect holiday island in the the perfect couples resort.
the new managers have done wonders our beautiful beach front room had just finished its makeover when we arrived. Everything from the front reception to the paths through the gardens down to the beach front looked groomed and fresh. The outdoor shower was excellent. All the rooms are getting facelifts, and it feels great to be there lots of positive energy
Dont believe the website - old out of date - new guys are on to it
The staff are great, greeting you by name. Oh the cocktail list yum! The best thing was being able to relax on the beach,(no kids allowed at resort) order a drink and the friendly staff would bring it on down to you.They even cooked our Tuna that we caught - thankyou chef. This is our third trip to Raro and im coming back to Manuia Beach - perfect

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are beautiful with porch to sit and watch the sunset - you can hear the reef all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwimclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Was impressed from day 1 to day 5 beautiful staff, rooms and area's around rooms, views magic, lagoon spectacular, food and company top quality. Great facility's also. Outside showers very different very private but refreshing. Rooms have air conditioning. You get Rarotongan sun for 2 hours more on this side of island huge bonus plus sunsets to die for. Snorkeling fabulous all gear provided. Could do with few better single and double kayaks as only one available prone to filling up with water lol

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place looks amazing! It is well kept and feels like you are waking up in paradise. Most of the staff were also amazing. We had many laughs with them.

There was supposed to be island nights and other special things going on but none of it happened. The restaurant menu was limited. If you find something you like on it don't expect it to be the same every night. We found one of the meals so good that we decided to try it again and we found it horrible when we did. If you are staying more than one night here then you will have to travel to another restaurant during your stay unless you are happy eating the same thing everyday.

We found the owners were always around and made us feel uncomfortable. They kept approaching us when we wanted to be left alone to relax on the beach. They also made the staff feel on edge and this of course made us feel uncomfortable.

Bring anti mosquito with you otherwise you will be eaten alive. Wear it day and night!

I would stay here again to give it another go and overall the good outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: If you are worried about money don't worry about the beach front rooms as people often look stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HearingSigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were not staying here but came in for a cocktail at the restaurant and bar and wow have the new owners done a good job here and are still busy revamping all there rooms, Once Manuia is finished it will surely be one of the islands top destinations.
The cocktails were very well priced and the service was tops.
The owner was telling us about his new deck they are going to build and that will make Manuia the place to eat, Cant wait to return and will absolutely be staying here as this has captured our hearts

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilTaupoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The location is great and the potential is excellent but it fell short for me for a number of reasons. A continental breakfast was included in the rate but this was about the standard you would expect in a hostel, plain and minimalistic, not what I would expect in a "resort". Other than breakfast we only had one meal in the restaurant, lunch, but once again nothing special and a very long wait once we had ordered. Fortunately there are many excellent restaurants on the island so no reason to eat at the Manuia. I was fortunate enough to be moved after my first night to one of the renovated beachfront rooms (which I was paying for). The bed was comfortable and the outside shower was a nice touch. The towels were of poor quality (thin and discoloured), once again not what I would expect for the rate I was paying. My final experience of Manuia and the one that I will remember most is that they overcharged my credit card by over $1,500. When I contacted them they apologised, blamed their computer system and arranged a credit however there was no willingness to reimburse me for the penalty fees, embarrassment and inconvenience that resulted from my credit card going over it's limit. Not a customer focused establishment in my eyes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShazzaNZ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
6.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuia Beach Resort

Property: Manuia Beach Resort
Address: Main Rd Arorangi | Beachfront, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuia Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Polynesian Paradise at Manuia Beach Resort awaits you... Marvel at the magical sunsets over a sparkling blue lagoon, while lounging on your sheltered, white sandy beach fringed with swaying coconut palms. Wander through the tropical gardens on your way to the beach side infinity pool. Rest your elbows on the pool edge and soak in the view across the beach, through the lagoon onwards to the waves crashing on the barrier reef beyond. Sip a refreshing tropical cocktail delivered to you from the Beaches Restaurant and bar, or enjoy your Polynesian inspired meals in the restaurant while you trail your toes through the sandy floor. Manuia Beach Resort - your Cook Islands resort accommodation - is set right on the beach in private and peaceful surroundings on the sheltered sunset coast of Rarotonga. You will love the authentic Cook Islands style accommodation, with the coconut thatched suites complete with island style decor and modern amenities such as air conditioning. Walk through the sandy path down to the water and be stunned by the beauty of the poolside area. The infinity pool, Beaches Restaurant and Bar with its relaxed authentic Polynesian cuisine, loungers set invitingly facing the beautiful lagoon, and attentive local staff, will all set the stage for your dream Rarotongan get-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manuia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuia Beach Boutique Avarua
Hotel Manuia Beach Boutique
Manuia Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing