We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little slice of paradise ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
North Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our little slice of paradise ....”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

How lucky were we to choose Lagoon Breeze as our 'home' for ten nights recently??? Everything was spot on - from the fantastic staff (thanks Vikki, Lynn, Tui, Ani, Papa Nga and of course Coco!), the company, the facilities, the happy hours, the grounds .... it really was our little slice of paradise. We had a good look around at other resorts and accommodation available in Rarotonga, and we don't think anything else ticked all the boxes like Lagoon Breeze Villas. It has got locaton, spacious and groomed grounds, clean and wonderfully equipped accommodation ... just everything was perfect! Straight across the road from the villas was a beautiful beach - perfect for swimming and snorkeling - something that some of the 'exclusive' resorts could not offer! We had a great time and are already planning the next trip back there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Manager at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Our staff were delighted to get a mention in your review. They were tirelessly to ensure our guests have a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed the beach across the road and our location on the island. Our gardeners too, work very hard to ensure our gardens are manicured and lush and they thank you for noticing.
We look forward to looking after you again in "our little slice of paradise".
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    88
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
160
125
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are currently planning our next trip and I have noticed that Lagoon Breeze Villas slipped my reviewing process......we actually visited in Sept 2012

To start with - I spend hours (too many) searching for that accommodation that offers location, suitability for our family and an excellent informative website that provides most things you need to know.

Needless to say Lagoon Breeze topped all these in Rarotonga. Our family absolutely loved our stay there.

We were in a one bedroom villa at the back of the property (13?)- so nice and quiet. The rooms have been refurbished since we stayed and they are looking great in the pics. The one bedroom villas are in buildings of two, so bathrooms are back to back. Didn't notice the neighbours at all!

We had everything we needed to self cater (although I've since decided that's silly on a holiday where ants are about!) We didn't use the BBQ but that was definitely something we should have done.

The large resort down the road was a factor in my decision making and its accessibility and closeness should we need it - HOWEVER, one visit and I wondered what bad dream we had stumbled into. We did eat at the small family owned restaurant by the fish and chip shop - it was lovely. Also the Mini Golf nearby was great, food good also.

By this stage of our trip, we had returned the car - which is why we stayed close to the resort.

The Wigmore store which is quite nearby was quite overpriced, but also very clean and easy to find what you need when passing - I didn't mind paying a little more for convenience.

We ended up visiting the small area of beach by the Rarotongan daily, it was nicer to snorkel with our kids. Lovely.

The staff at Lagoon Breeze were awesome. We loved hanging out with them. Of course the famous Vicky managed to get us into a fully booked Te Vara Nui at the last minute using her local contacts!? Excellent!!!!

We made some fellow KIWI friends at Happy Hour each afternoon, and still occasionally email one family. Which is very cool.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to Lagoon Breeze Villas. In fact, we plan to return again for sure, we have just been sidetracked by other interesting trips meanwhile :)

Best family accommodation in Raro!!!!!

Thanks to the team at Lagoon Breeze. See you again.

Room Tip: Larger 2 bed houses are at the front of the property near road, sunset and beach. We quite liked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Manager at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All reviews are helpful and ensure we maintain a consistent level of service. It is always rewarding to hear our guests had a wonderful time and it is nice you were able to relive your time at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I travel alone and have a slight physical disability. My room at Lagoon Breezes was a garden studio, and it was perfect, clean, spacious and cool, with a very comfy bed. The room was only a few steps from the pool and the breakfast/happy hour areas. The reservation came with free 2 day scooter hire which I extended for another 3 days paying. I snorkeled in the lagoon and swam in the pool every day, and I made the most wonderful friends: Vicki, Lyn, Tui, Ani (some of the wonderful friendly staff), and other guests, and all the character filled pets. There was one bad aspect of my stay here, I had to go home!!!

Room Tip: For those traveling alone, Room 5 is an ideal room size. Go to the free breakfasts and happy hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snibbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We too were sorry you couldn't stay longer. We thank you for highlighting our suitability for guests travelling alone. We also feel that our village style resort offers single travellers the opportunity of making new friends, whilst enjoying the intimate surroundings and the safe and secure environment our staff, families and couples help provide.
We look forward to your return in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A great choice, we wanted a 2 bed/2 bath villa as we were travelling with our adult daughter, and it ticked all the boxes for all of us. Everything was perfect: a hassle free pick-up to and from the airport organised by the property, very comfortable accommodation, a welcome bottle of water, a late check-out, 2 hair dryers, the list goes on. The beach and snorkelling across the road is paradise. Wonderful to have free use of reef shoes, beach towels, snorkels, kayaks and little beach chairs. Vikki was very helpful throughout, she recommended the local diving school, booked the Aroa Beachside Tuesday night buffet for us (highly recommended) and the Highland cultural show. Due to an early start for our daughter's dive, a breakfast tray was provided the day before to keep in the fridge, which she collected from Happy Hour. The grounds are beautifully manicured, the pool has loungers and lawns, perfect for chilling out, that is when we could tear ourselves away from the verandah or beach. Hope to go again.

Room Tip: The Polynesian 2 bed villas are great for 2 sets of independent travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us at Lagoon Breeze Villas and in particular the 2 Bedroom/2 Level Polynesian Villa and the privacy it offers for 2 sets of independent travellers. Our wonderful staff personally ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us, somehting we are extremely proud of. We are also pleased you enjoyed the little beach chairs, which we recently introduced due to guest feedback. Once again thank you for your wonderful review, and we too hope to see you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for a week Feb, 2014.Spent the first 20-30 minutes just walking the grounds enjoying the landscaping. We originally were put in one of the studio villa's and thought it was great, perfectly adequate for our needs, private and with a nice deck. After 2 nights we were offered a 2 bedroom villa at no extra cost, they said it was just sitting empty so we may as well use it, the gods smiled on us, we tend to be practical folk and this way exceeded any place we have ever stayed. The breakfast buffet was A+ fresh fruit, breads, juices, coffee, etc, plus got to mingle with the other guests in a comfortable open setting. The location on the south side of the island was about ideal, not much traffic and one of the best snorkeling sites is about 300 yards down the almost always empty beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the manager, Vicky was a font of information and never tired of answering our questions. Plenty of snorkeling gear to go around and even provided beach shoes. The kitchen was fully stocked with all cooking and eating utensils and several gas BBQ grills were spaced around the site. On the advice of a local we went to " Ocean Fresh" a seafood store by the airport where there was a selection of freshly caught seafood that was about 1/4 the price we pay at home, we enjoyed several meals out on our large deck. There is regular bus service but we chose to rent a scooter at about $20/day and did not regret it, we traveled all the back roads sightseeing, and there was very adequate storage under the seat to haul groceries, beer, swim gear etc, plus you can park it anywhere.

Room Tip: You can hear the road from the units closest to the front, not so from the ones further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We all thank you for your kind comments and we are especially thrilled you enjoyed your upgrade. the view from the villas is stunning and close to the beach. We aim to provide our guests, who wish to be self sufficient, with all the information they require. Vikki is especially helpful with where to shop and where to get the best prices for fresh produce, meat and fish.
Scooters are a great way to get around and to experience the island life style, with the freedom of stopping off at the beach or cafe while exploring.
We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souris, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had an amazing vacation at a very quiet & peaceful villa. The staff were extremely accommodating and knowledgeable .The accommodation was very clean & suited our needs very well. The grounds were impeccable and the pool was lovely. We stayed in a studio and ate most of our meals at restaurants . Breakfast was included with our package. We were located across the road from the beach, the sunsets were amazing. I would recommend this place to friends without hesitation. There are 1&2 bedroom villas as well. It was a wonderful place to relax & unwind .

Bud & Diane ,Souris ,Manitoba Canada

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane3044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are so pleased you were able to enjoy a relaxed vacation with us at Lagoon Breeze Villas. With 5 acres of lush gardens and individual villas you can enjoy privacy and peace. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Lagoon Breeze Villas for two weeks over Xmas-New Year's and it exceeded our expectations. We are a family of four, with two girls ages 21 and 17; stayed in Villa #2 which was ideally appointed with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It had a beautiful lagoon view from the porch.
The property is immaculate and comfortable; with a delicious breakfast included each day consisting of cereal,fresh tropical fruits, yoghurt, toast, juice, and coffee. The pool is a good size, and never felt crowded. The best snorkling on the island is right across the road and to the left.
The biggest asset at this resort is the friendly staff; especially Vikki at the front desk. She gave very helpful unbiased suggestions for activities and restaurants, and made all bookings for us.

We also splurged on the one day trip top Aitutaki; which I highly recommend. The landscape is quite different on that island, and the lagoon one of the most beautiful in the world. Well worth the price and time to get there. The Aroa Beach Inn is a fun spot for dinner, and Tamarind House was an excellent dinner destination as well. In addition we did the cross island trek on our own; very strenuous but can be done without a guide. Rarotonga is a wonderful destination with very friendly people and lots to do!

Room Tip: Villas 1-3 have a lagoon view and are great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay over the Xmas-New Year period, it is a great place to retreat to if you want to avoid the hussle and bussle that comes with Xmas. The two bedroom villa is ideal for families or adults, with the 2 bedrooms and 2 ensuites, everyone has privacy. A day trip to Aitutaki is a good idea and less expensive than staying over there and leaves you free to spend more time exploring the many restaurants and attractions Rarotonga has to offer.
We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your family again in the future.
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Property: Lagoon Breeze Villas
Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing