We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I would highly recommend Lagoon Breeze Villas to anyone wanting to stay in Rarotonga. The villas are clean and tidy and well positioned throughout the large grounds. We had a garden studio which slept 3 of us comfortably.
No TV or Wi Fi so you can truly relax. Nice pool area, lots of BBQ's and if you have kids there is a great play area.
The included breakfast was great but could start a little earlier for those with things organised to start early . They will make it up for you the night before if requested.
Great snorkeling and dive spot across the road and a short drive to town, would come back again.

Room Tip: Villas 1 & 2 have ocean views if you want this.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your little tip about opening the breakfast cafe earlier in the morning and we will certainly give this our consideration. We were sad to read you thought we had no Wifi. We not only have Wifi available throughout the property, but we also have an Internet Kiosk available during office hours for our guests to use. Thank you again for taking the time to review Lagoon Breeze Villas.
Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Lagoon Breeze Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor 2 bedroom villa for 10 nights, with 3 adults, an infant and a toddler. The set up at Lagoon Breeze is perfect for young families - we especially loved the fully equipped kitchen, spacious bedrooms, kiddie pool, availability of children's toys and excellent playground and trampoline. The villas are really nicely decorated and were immaculately clean when we arrived. It was an added bonus to have a yummy continental breakfast in the morning - make sure you go early for the homemade coconut muffins every 2nd day - they are delicious! The staff are all very friendly - in particular Vicki at reception, who is a superstar at her job. She organised a rental car for us and someone was over to collect us in minutes to take us to the rental office. We also had some issues with our hot water in the shower, and had someone over very quickly to fix it. The only negatives we had were that one of the houses on the neighbouring property had a few loud parties (although they did wrap them up by midnight) and the beds weren't the most comfortable we'd ever slept on, but that aside, we really enjoyed our stay at Lagoon Breeze and would definitely consider staying again. Location wise, you will probably need a car if you are staying for a decent amount of time as there are only a few eateries within walking distance (the cafe at CocoPutt is our recommendation. Beware of the restaurant by Big Fish Diving Centre that serves takeaway fish and chips - ours was pre-packaged frozen battered fish and was also burnt.) A 5 minute drive out to Vaimaanga is also worthwhile to visit Wigmore's supermarket for the island food plates and coffee or coconut shakes from Cocolatte. (But if you are planning to get a few groceries, go to CITC in Avarua, as it is much cheaper).

Room Tip: Ground floor 2 bedroom units are quite close to neighbouring property who had some loud parties whil...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobeluya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. Not only is it great to hear you enjoyed the services Lagoon Breeze Villas has to offer but your suggestions on what to see and do while on the island. We are sorry you experienced some noise from our neighbours, we will continue to do everything we can to keep this to a minimum. Ivy is pleased you enjoyed her muffins and we all hope to have you visit again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Since we relocated to NZ last year we'd dreamed of visiting the Cook Islands! It was amazing, when we came into landing and could see quite clearly the lagoon surrounding the island, to be greated by our driver with a garland of local flowers! Some may say a bit cliched but it was very enjoyable!
We were accorded by the Lagoon Breeze villas 2 days free moped rental! It was well worth it and enabled us to mooch around the island under our own steam!
The accommodation and staff were welcoming and really lovely!
We especially enjoyed the company of the many on site pets! Coco stole our hearts! X
With the price of our holiday we received breakfast which consisted of tropical fruit, cereal, toast....yummy very delish!
I would love to return ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madwhench73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We are so happy to hear your dream came true, by visiting our beautiful Rarotonga. It is definitely the Cook Island way, to make all family and friends feel welcome on arrival to their island. We also agree that it is a wonderful experience if you can hire a car or scooter and really be independent. The staff, Coco and pets (we have a new kitten called Gi Gi who has joined the family) look orward to your return in the future.
Kind regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at the Lagoon Breeze for 42 nights in September/October and enjoyed it. It was close to the dive centre where I was completing a DM course. Room was a studio room close to the pool. Room was comfortable and the staff were always more than happy to help put. Requested breakfasts to be made up the previous day and thus was not a problem. Cocktail hour was also a great way to wind down and relax. Vicki and her staff were brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations on completing your DM course. We are especially thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Garden Studio and our facilties during your long stay. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
Kind regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This has been our 2nd stay at the Lagoon Breeze Villas. From our first trip since Debbie and Garth took ownership we have watched a total transformation to this property. We want to extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to the Team (Vicki the best Manageress you can find on the Island.

Ivy with her vision of a perfect garden, Ivy has created a vision of colour and beauty. Papa Nga, Mama Pu, Vi and the rest of the Team gave us service that was amazing, in the Breakfast room.

As for Vicki, she provided the best service and friendship that we can explain. This takes into account many countries we have both traveled to around the globe. From booking in, to booking a car, arranging items in our rooms for our arrival, nothing was a problem. We cannot speak highly enough of the Lagoon Breeze Villas as a place to relax, enjoy and be cared for totally in Rarotonga.

PS - ask about about our artistic contribution to our room and the office, inspired by this resort.

Sincerer thanks from Andrew, Debs, Shirley and Lesley.

XXX

Room Tip: The 2 bedrooms have Lots of room, and if you cannot relax we suggest that you choose another holiday...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Manager at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thanks to our wonderful returnees, who not only came back for their second stay but also brought friends with them. Garth and I appreciate your comments about the transformation to the property and that you enjoyed making the most of them.
Our staff also say thank you for mentioning them and we too are very proud of them.
Your artistic skills were definitely on display and we wonder how you are going to top them next time you return to Lagoon Breeze Villas.
Until next time.
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Once again, thank you to Vicki and all the staff at Lagoon Breeze Villas. Nothing was ever a problem for any of the staff members. Our accommodation was better than we could have hoped for - clean, over the road from the beach and to see the waves from our verandah and hear them from our upstairs bedroom was just perfect! Thank you to our fellow travellers at the Villas for the catch ups at the wonderful included Continental breakfast and the "Happy Hour". Special mention must go to the "First 15" group from Mount Albert Grammar who were always well mannered, polite and a pleasure to have around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirella1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind reveiw of Lagoon Breeze Villas, it is always so nice to hear that our staff make a difference. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the facilities and make friends at breakfast and Happy Hour. We have many guests return at the same time as friends they met the year before. The Mt Albert Grammar boys were certainly well behaved and a credit to their teachers and school. We hope you return to meet up with new friends again in the future.
Kind regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Lagoon Breeze Villas. The reception staff were always friendly, reliable and efficient. The Happy Hour was popular and a great chance to relax with a Cocktail ("Love me Tender" is a must try!) and catch up with other guests to share experiences of their day. The room was clean and roomy. Easy walk to other nearly restaurants for an evening meal or simply catch the bus just outside the gates. Could easily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review Lagoon Breeze Villas and we are thrilled you enjoyed the facilities we provide. Thank you also for mentiioning the restaurants near by, as we always say "Rarotonga is small enough and easy to get around, that the whole island is your resort". Whether you hire a car or just catch the bus, there are so many experiences for you to enjoy. The staff tell me that the "Love Me Tender" cocktail is very popular, we are pleased you enjoyed it. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kind regards, Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range: $139 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 24 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing