We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 7 nights at Lagoon Breeze where we had a most enjoyable stay. We had a two bedroom villa out the front of the property, it had everything we required.We started each day with a simple continental breakfast. There are flasher places to stay in Rarotonga, but we think the Lagoon Breeze is perfect. The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to make your stay a happy one. Vikki even baked a birthday cake for a 80 yr old which was shared with everyone at breakfast. The grounds are keep perfect, loved being visited each day by Coco and Squeeky. If you can't relax here you won't anywhere, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happykiwis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We thank you for your wonderful review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. It is always our goal to offer an affordable, home away from home option for couples and families looking for a more personal experience during their stay on Rarotonga. Our small family of staff genuinely enjoy interacting with guests, as do our family of pets. Garth and I are delighted we were able to provide you with a friendly and relaxing environment so that you could enjoy your vacation.
Kind regards,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    85
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
151
123
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom villa ground level and was very pleased with the interior. The kitchen was well stocked and the living area was spacious and recently renovated. The grounds and gardens are beutiful and the swimming pool is well located for the sun. Although we did not have kids, the playground is the best I have seen for little ones. Although the beach directly acroos from the Resort is not great, the marine reserve is only 50 metres up the beach with plentiful colourful fish. There are single and double kayaks available with all snorkelling gear free of charge. Overall a very relaxing experience with a bustop directly outside the resort.Thankyou Vikki for you excellent service and to Ivy for making the garden so colourful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, Garth and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in the 2 Bedroom Polynesian Villa. I think you will agree it is great for two couples travelling together, plenty of room so you have your own space. Our beach too is situated on the Aroa Marine Reserve and usually delivers great snorkeling and easy access for the kayaks. We will pass your comments onto Vikki and Ivy who enjoyed interacting with you both daily. We look forward to your next visit to Lagoon Breeze Villas.
Regards
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just have to say that Vikki at Reception is the stand out for this place. Incredibly efficient, knowledgable and helpful. The gardens and outside surroundings are kept incredibly clean and tidy but inside our two bedroom garden villa, things were in need of some TLC. Our shower didn't work properly and we ran out of hot water on our last day. The breakfasts were simple but okay. I wouldn't necessarily go back again but it wasn't bad either. We would have liked an onsite food option at nights - you have to go elsewhere if you want to eat out.

Room Tip: The Garden Villas at the front of the property are best as they have more privacy but there is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePaynez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are appreciate your comments. We too believe for a 3 star, self contained property, offering a daily complimentary continental breakfast and various complimentary onsite activities, that we offer excellent value for money.
You may have noticed from earlier responses, we are working through a replacement program of all our bathrooms, however we do appreciate you bringing the hot water issue to our attention and we are pleased to advise the plumbers have resolved this issue. With regard to your comments on an onsite food option, we actually choose not to have an onsite restaurant and instead encourage our guests to use the BBQ stations provided or the many different food options within walking distance. We also have complimentary pickup and drop off arrangements with several very good restaurants within close proximity. The beauty of Rarotonga is you are not resort bound and the whole island is yours to explore and enjoy the many restaurants it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just come back from our week long stay at Lagoon Breeze. The staff were wonderful, the place looks exactly like it does in the pictures and it is one of the nicest places on the island. We had a dog adopt us on the first night ( we called him scamp) one of Koko's friends!and I was quite bereft at leaving him behind :-( Glad to know that Vicki and the team have a soft spot for him too! :-D The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was nice to have cocktails in the bar area with other kiwi's ! NZ- not many degrees of separation! haha
It was a friendly, nice place and we felt in the best location, great side of island with best snorkling, and so many restaurants and bars within a short distance of the resort.
Will highly recommend this place to ANY , families or couples who want a great place to stay where you aren't just a number but someone they actually get to know.
Tui was fantastic, like my aunty away from home :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our little piece of paradise. The staff, Garth and I are delighted you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed a friendly, home away from home experience. We are proud of our wonderful staff who go the extra mile to ensure our guests are well looked after.
We look forward to sharing our home with you again in the future.
Kind regards, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thank you to Vikki and the team from Lagoon Breeze for making our trip to Rarotonga so enjoyable. Nothing was a problem, and you were really made to feel welcome. All of the staff are so friendly, the property and rooms were lovely. Cons? Nope, nothing!

Thank you so much - we will be back and would recommend to anyone!

Kind regards, Tammy & Kasey
Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are very lucky to have some wonderful staff who look after our guests so well. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited last week and stayed for 6 nights. From our arrival on Sunday night to our departure the following Saturday we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were friendly and the accomodation excellent. We stayed in a 2 level 2 bedroom villa which was spacious and had everything there to met our needs including aircon which was a life saver! We were up each morning to enjoy the breakfast and then to have happy hour to finish our day. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Even Coco the dog was friendly!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always rewarding to receive such positive feedback from our guests. Garth and I look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our family holiday in Rarotonga was simply fabulous at the Lagoon Breeze Villas. It was relaxing, the staff were awesome and we had many good chats with, and recommendations from, Vikki (office manager) and Tehui (bar/housekeeping). Ivy & co keep the gardens and grounds “magazine-gorgeous”. Lagoon Breeze is self-catering – there are no kids clubs, restaurants or babysitters – but it’s perfect if you want an easy, lovely and low-key family holiday. We even brought our own chicken drumsticks and sausages to cook on the BBQ – and definitely used the chillies from the gardens! The daily breakfasts were an awesome way to get a daily dose of vitamin C – my fave fruit included passionfruit, starfruit and pawpaw (best with a squeeze of lime). The properties are very clean and tidy – guests are rather spoilt with clean and crisp sheets each night. The pool is a hit, and the little playground comes in handy. It was lovely and quiet when we stayed, but this was “balanced” by the roosters early in the morning, although I stopped noticing after two nights. Towels, snorkelling gear, kayaks – all provided, and the snorkelling is nice and accessible just across from the resort entrance, or about 50 metres further edging towards the Dive Centre by The Rarotongan. A car or scooter will easily let you check out the island in detail (other beaches and resorts; the hillside homes etc) and get you to shops, supermarkets, town, the market, Matutu beer brewery, coconut or banana liquer tastings, and restaurants, bars and cafes. A couple of minutes’ drive away from Lagoon Breeze is the Shipwreck Hut aka paradise aka the 3rd Best Beach Bar in the world – I recommend the margaritas and Nane’s lasagne, chilli and butter chicken. Lagoon Breeze – you’re hard to beat, and I’m sure the repeat visitors are nodding in agreement! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
What wonderful kind words in your review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. It is very satisfying hearing that your family enjoyed the amenities and what we have to offer. As parents and grandparents it is very important to us that families feel safe and happy with us and that we provide all the amenities to ensure they have a memorable stay. So thank you again for your detailed review of both Lagoon Breeze Villas and our little piece of paradise. Regards Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Property: Lagoon Breeze Villas
Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing