We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thank you to Vikki and the team from Lagoon Breeze for making our trip to Rarotonga so enjoyable. Nothing was a problem, and you were really made to feel welcome. All of the staff are so friendly, the property and rooms were lovely. Cons? Nope, nothing!

Thank you so much - we will be back and would recommend to anyone!

Kind regards, Tammy & Kasey
Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are very lucky to have some wonderful staff who look after our guests so well. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Lagoon Breeze Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited last week and stayed for 6 nights. From our arrival on Sunday night to our departure the following Saturday we thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff were friendly and the accomodation excellent. We stayed in a 2 level 2 bedroom villa which was spacious and had everything there to met our needs including aircon which was a life saver! We were up each morning to enjoy the breakfast and then to have happy hour to finish our day. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Even Coco the dog was friendly!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always rewarding to receive such positive feedback from our guests. Garth and I look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our family holiday in Rarotonga was simply fabulous at the Lagoon Breeze Villas. It was relaxing, the staff were awesome and we had many good chats with, and recommendations from, Vikki (office manager) and Tehui (bar/housekeeping). Ivy & co keep the gardens and grounds “magazine-gorgeous”. Lagoon Breeze is self-catering – there are no kids clubs, restaurants or babysitters – but it’s perfect if you want an easy, lovely and low-key family holiday. We even brought our own chicken drumsticks and sausages to cook on the BBQ – and definitely used the chillies from the gardens! The daily breakfasts were an awesome way to get a daily dose of vitamin C – my fave fruit included passionfruit, starfruit and pawpaw (best with a squeeze of lime). The properties are very clean and tidy – guests are rather spoilt with clean and crisp sheets each night. The pool is a hit, and the little playground comes in handy. It was lovely and quiet when we stayed, but this was “balanced” by the roosters early in the morning, although I stopped noticing after two nights. Towels, snorkelling gear, kayaks – all provided, and the snorkelling is nice and accessible just across from the resort entrance, or about 50 metres further edging towards the Dive Centre by The Rarotongan. A car or scooter will easily let you check out the island in detail (other beaches and resorts; the hillside homes etc) and get you to shops, supermarkets, town, the market, Matutu beer brewery, coconut or banana liquer tastings, and restaurants, bars and cafes. A couple of minutes’ drive away from Lagoon Breeze is the Shipwreck Hut aka paradise aka the 3rd Best Beach Bar in the world – I recommend the margaritas and Nane’s lasagne, chilli and butter chicken. Lagoon Breeze – you’re hard to beat, and I’m sure the repeat visitors are nodding in agreement! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

What wonderful kind words in your review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. It is very satisfying hearing that your family enjoyed the amenities and what we have to offer. As parents and grandparents it is very important to us that families feel safe and happy with us and that we provide all the amenities to ensure they have a memorable stay. So thank you again for your detailed review of both Lagoon Breeze Villas and our little piece of paradise. Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went as a family , The oldies in a studio unit, 2 families in a couple of 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms were really well equipped and clean. The unit we stayed in number 6 was spacious,enough for two old cronies and with the screens on the windows and air conditioning not once did we feel that the heat was a problem at night when it was time to sleep. Rooms were serviced everyday and breakfast in the morning was great.
Not having to sort out your own breakfasts and do dishes is a definate plus. The larger units had a large deck with table and chairs which was wonderful at night when all the family came to their for dinner after cooking on the BBQ provided by lagoon breeze. We found the meat very reasonable but lettuce and veges on the expensive side, but still a cheaper option from eating out.
Staff are very friendly and the grounds are immaculate with the gardeners in the gardens every week day, Use of kyacks, snorkel gear, washing machine, dryer, clothes line, pool, play area for this kids was all very useful.
Would recommend a car to get around in, We did arrange one before we left which was left at airport ready for our group to get to accomodation on arrival in Raro.. It would pay to arrange one before you go as they do run out of vehicles especially at busy times and you may need to wait. Make sure you get all your information loud and clear from your rental company. There are rentals available just down road near Rarotongan resort.
Overall lagoon breeze was awesome and we will be staying there again when we return to Rarotonga and so will the rest of the family. The kids were happy and comfortable which is important when traveling with children, The adults were happy and comfortable also important when traveling with children. Because of the great place lagoon breeze is, it made our holiday to Rarotonga very pleasurable and do not hesitate to recommend their villas to everyone.
Excellant snorkeling available across the road plus others good spots near Rarotongian resort plus at beach at fruits of Rarotonga. If kids not in sea they were in pool.
This being our 4th trip to Raro ( we were real old Raroites) we can recommend the Highland Paradise as best authentic dance show, the Waterline Cafe & Bar at Aaorangi as really lovely place for special atmosphere and to catch those sunsets plus we supported the local stalls who had home grown products over those shops in Avarua with imported good mainly from Asian countries.
Local beer ( Matauka?) is nice and worth a session.

Room Tip: If you dont want too much road noise then units further back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am sure this will be very helpful for potential guests looking for accommodation on Rarotonga. The time you have taken to list our strengths is awesome, especially coming from a 4 time Raroite! Thank you and we hope to see you back for your 5th visit to Rarotonga. Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed there for the first 3 nights of our 10 night stay in the Cook Islands and it was a very good introduction. Then we headed to Aitutaki for 3 nights and back to Rarotonga on Muri Beach side for last 4 nights. The rooms were big with plenty of space, clean with plenty of hot water and air-conditioning to supplement the ceiling fan. The private covered deck was a nice place to read while waiting for a rain shower to pass. The walk across the road to the beach & lagoon for snorkelling was no problem.
The staff were helpful, providing lots of very useful information. We were fortunate to be in Raro for the Cook Islands Seniors Dance contest Finals so we caught the bus downtown and paid our $10 each at the door for an enjoyable evening. Pluses include a good breakfast included and a nice happy hour where you could chat with other guests and swap ideas. The negative is that there really isn't a nice restaurant or shop within walking distance but if you have a motor scooter or car or you plan your bus trips, this is easily overcome. Maybe we were unlucky but the closest restaurant Keana seriously overcooked our fish (Yellow Fin Tuna) but so did the expensive Rarotonga Resort which was also within walking distance. (Rarotonga Resort did cook the Mahi-Mahi properly.) Why did they both cook it until it was dry when tuna goes so well if rare or even medium rare (also as sashimi as raw)? By scooter, the Kikua Hut showed us that someone on the island knew how to cook fish: It should be moist, not dry.
We did enjoy our time at Lagoon Breezes and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property, your comments are very helpful. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met all your expectations. With regard to restaurants, we may have failed to tell you that Coco Putt who has a fabulous restaurant is within 2 minutes walk of Lagoon Breeze Villas and a small superette and takeaway are situtated 5 minutes walk heading towards town. We also have a wonderful arrangment with Vaima restaurant which is about 5 minutes drive from the property, who will pick up and drop off our guests at no charge. As you say, the island is very easy to get around by bus and rental scooters and cars are very affordable.
Thank you again for your valued comments.
Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We've just returned from a week, staying at Lagoon Breeze Villas. We strongly recommend this as a place to stay in Rarotonga. The website photos are accurate - this really is a piece of paradise!

We went looking for a place that was reasonably priced, not too big,quiet and relaxing - and that's what we experienced. The grounds are beautiful, the accommodation is clean and comfortable and the pool is a wonderful place to cool off, lounge about reading or just snoozing. The lagoon is just across the road and a great place to snorkel or cool off.

The staff are very friendly. Tehui (responsible for housekeeping and bar) especially made us very welcome and looked after us.

Breakfast is provided and there are a couple of restaurants close by. We went to the same one (Coco Putt) twice - the food was so good. That young chef sure can cook. Take a big appetite.

We decided to rent a car to explore the island and would recommend this to others who choose to stay at Lagoon Breeze Villas. There's a vehicle rental place just down the road from Lagoon Breeze Villas where you can hire a car, scooter (very popular on the island) or bike. Although having said that, the bus service around the island is very good, and regular and you can't get it wrong. The buses either travel clockwise or anti-clockwise and given you're not in a hurry in Rarotonga - no one is - it really doesn't matter if you get on the wrong one, you'll end up where you started anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It is so rewarding to receive such positive feedback. Garth and I strive to offer our guests a comfortable, affordable and home away from home experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon.
Regards Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not the cheapest resort and not the dearest, Lagoon Breeze is good value. It is not a chrome and glass resort, nor does it trade off the South Pacific myth of palm leaves and wooden carvings. The buildings are clean (absolutely meticulous!), plain and comfortable. The one bedroom units are duplex villas. Each has a large bathroom with shower, a large bedroom with a fan and an aircon unit, an L-shaped kitchen-dining-lounge with a fan, and a small terrace. Apart from one corner in the kitchen, the rooms are quiet and soundproof, with little or no disturbance from neighbours. Why one corner should transmit every sound is a mystery, but otherwise the rooms are quiet with negligible annoyance from the crowing roosters and barking dogs that are characteristic of life in the Islands.

The Cook Islanders keep their Sundays as a day of rest and worship. Most places are shut. Lagoon Breeze supplies a cold breakfast of cereals, toast and fruit – lots of it. If you arrive on Saturday night or Sunday morning, this will have to last from breakfast to dinnertime, when restaurants open. Better bring something for your lunch if arriving on Saturday night or Sunday morning! If you hire a car or scooter, Wigmore's Supermarket, 4 kilometres away, is open all day, as are shops in Avarua. A lunch pack can be made available if you contact the Office in advance.

It was great paddling round in the lagoon on the two kayaks supplied for guests to use. Reef shoes (essential), swim fins, goggles and snorkels are also supplied, which meant a lighter suitcase for the plane. There are colourful fish within easy range and the lagoon water is crystal clear. When the tide is low, the pool is a good alternative to salt sea swimming. Although small, the pool was never crowded. Enough seats and recliners ensured there was no tension among guests. However, more recliners would be appreciated. Guests can cook their meals on the barbecues near each block of rooms. With only 17 units, there is no crowding, the atmosphere is friendly, with other guests friendly (and willing to share their barbecued catch!)

Staff, and the Owners, Garth and Debbie, are friendly and approachable but not intrusive. You can usually chat to the Owners at breakfast. Their advice and comments are worth listening to. They will go the extra mile: when I needed insect repellent (bring litres of it) and none could be found on the shelves, Vicki sprayed me with her own can. Happy Hour is an important time to meet and chat, if you feel inclined. Garth and Debbie and some staff may be present for a chat, as well as fellow travellers who can tell you what is worth doing and what isn't. The atmosphere created by staff and owners is something you can't buy, and will leave a lasting memory of Lagoon Breeze Villas.

The grounds are immaculate but not intimidating as we found in nearby resorts. The vegetation is natural (yoou can pick fruit if you wish.) The 'grass' is raked and edges tidied, and the flower beds tended regularly. Maintenance was immediate, a faulty fan switch being replaced within minutes of asking. Cleaning is immaculate, as it has to be in the tropics. Some pesticides smell, but at least you know vermin are under control. The office staff are very knowledgeable. They help stock the library, which is a real treasure trove. Vicki and Jaimee will also advise and make bookings on your behalf. They both are helpful and can't do enough for you. You feel their friendship and know it is genuine. They love Raro and they love Lagoon Breeze.

One disadvantage is a lack of a resort restaurant. However, there is Coco Putt right next door, so there is no hardship. Except for Sunday lunch!

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are further from the road. 12 gets more sun on its terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your informative review, we are delighted you enjoyed the ammenities we provide. Thank you for highlighting the Welcome Pack for those who arrive on Sundays, which consists of a loaf of bread, butter, milk and juice. Although a lot of restaurants are not open on Sundays there are many that are and of course all hotel restaurants are open. Lagoon Breeze Villas also has an arrangment with several local restaurants who will pick up and drop off our guests. These restaurants are also open on Sundays.If we have groups travelling together and they arrive on Sundays, we can arrange prior to their arrival for Coco Putt to put on a BBQ buffet. Coco Putt has a wonderful restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is just 2 minutes walk from the resort.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Regards
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range: $140 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 24 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing