We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything about Lagoon Breeze Villas is wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything about Lagoon Breeze Villas is wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I got married at Lagoon Breeze Villas on Thursday 6th September 2012, a day we will cherish forever because of Lagoon Breeze. The team there are beautiful, fantastic, wonderful etc and devoted to making sure everything was perfect for our day. Debbie and Garth have done a magnificent job on making Lagoon Breeze feel homely and lovely. The grounds, rooms, bar area, swimming pool area, everywhere really is a paradise lush.
Vicki, you're a gem. Thank you so much for helping in making our families comfortable. Vicki and the team made sure everyone were looked after. Vicki is fantastic. :)
Lynette our wedding planner did an awesome job in making our wedding experience fabulous. Very helpful and she surely takes all the stress our of getting married, she takes care of everything.
From singles to couples to families be sure to go to Lagoon Breeze for an amazing holiday.
Our future holidays in Rarotonga will be at Lagoon Breeze Villas. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaniaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wow!, thank you for sharing your special celebration with us at Lagoon Breeze Villas, you were a warm, caring and fun group of family and friends. We also thank you for your glowing comments and for making the most of what we have to offer. Your wedding was truely spiritual and memorable and one we will all never forget. Don't forget to come back for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    85
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
151
123
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This resort is currently being upgraded, so parts of it are more fully renovated than others. We were in the accommodation at the back which hasn't been fully upgraded yet. I suspect the fancy villa's out the front of the resort are a bit nicer.
The pros
The service was friendly and welcoming, the place was peaceful and well equipped. The gardens are all replanted and maturing. The cooking facilities were adequate and there was enough equipment to prepare a good meal.
The cons
The beds were a bit springy and were pushed together singles with a big join down the middle. The sheets aren't changed everyday, and they were dirty when we arrived (in the middle of the night, so there was noone to contact to change this). Seemed expensive for what it was, but pleasant enough.
I would choose somewhere else next time, but I thought it was decent enough. Some of the other resorts that were nicer were also a lot more expensive.
I would recommend this resort for families, I think it would be perfect for this. Perhaps us being a couple meant that it was not the best option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed the hard work our gardeners have put into the development of the gardens over the past 12 months and our friendly staff. You may not have been aware that all 12 of the units where you stayed have been re-roofed and painted inside and out over the past 12 months since we took ownership of the property. However Garth and I are aware that some of the bathrooms are a little tired and these are high on our list of priorities over the summer. We have also been busy hanging new curtains, recovering upholstery and decorating the bed with all new covers giving our rooms a fresh new makeover. All rooms should be completed before the end of November. We also agree that our self contained villas are very well appointed for families or couples travelling together however we certainly encourage couples who enjoy our location, privacy and spacious grounds. I do hope you will try us again one day and enjoy the changes and upgrades we are continuing to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 7 nights in a one bedroom villa, villa 13 towards the back of the property, being a small complex it was nice and quiet and comfortable, great for children as plenty of room to play, swimming pool good but a bit cold for us, ocean warmer, breakfast each morning however it would have been nice to have a bit of variation. Villa roomy, good kitchen, bathroom could have been upgraded a bit better but adequate, bed very comfortable. Bus goes into town every 1/2 hour cost $4 each way, this can be picked up from the front entry, goes clockwise and anti clock wise. Beach good for swimming and snorkelling plenty of fish life. Nice grounds, chickens and roosters roam freely good for the children but noisy in the morning. Staff friendly all in all a great place to stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation, we are pleased you enjoyed the peace and beauty our property offers. Garth and I agree with your comments about the bathrooms and we are very aware they need replacing. Although we have managed to achieve a lot of major upgrades over the past 12 months, bathrooms are high on our list of priorities and we have committed to replacing the 1 Bedroom bathrooms over the summer months, so we hope next time you visit, these will all be completed. Once again thank you for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

From our pick up at the airport to the first cocktail (bring on happy hour from 5-6pm!), the first impression of our 1 bedroom villa and our stroll down the white sand beach with pristine water to our last lunch at Coco Putt and use of the room until our pick up that day, our stay was just perfect. What truly makes Lagoon Breeze wonderful though is the staff. Thank you Vicky and Jamie on reception, Tui on the cocktails (and breakfast the next morning!) and our lovely housekeeper not to mention everyone else behind the scenes. We have threatened to come back - we only wish it was next week and that this trip we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is always rewarding to receive such glowing remarks about the property. Garth and I thank you for taking the time to post your review. We totally agree with your comments about the staff, we are well aware they are one of the reasons our guests have such a memorable time at Lagoon Breeze Villas and Rarotonga. Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've recently returned from holiday in Rarotonga - stayed at the Lagoon Breeze Villas from 8th - 18th August. We were absolutely delighted at the standard of accommodation we received. We were given villa # 15. It was set in a lovely garden, it was clean, quiet, and in good condition.
Our Manageress Vicki was helpfulness itself, and always available during normal office hours.
We chose a combination of self-cater and restaurant meals.
Everything worked properly - the fridge, the stove, the shower, the bedside lights and overhead fan.
[My only grizzle was that the plug in the bathroom didn't work. There is only one mirror - and that is in the bathroom - so it was difficult. Can't use hair dryer and straightener when the plug in the bathroom is 'dead'. I should have advised Vicki about this, but we ran out of time]. It would be a good idea to have another mirror in the bedroom.
Our unit was serviced daily, and all needs taken care of. Fresh white sheets and towels always appreciated. I would recommend this villa complex to anyone wanting a relaxing and stress-free holiday - couples and families with young children especially.
The price included breakfast was delightful, and perfectly adequate for what it is.
The staff were friendly and took time to interact with guests - always welcome.
Loved the beach across the road, and the well-manicured lawn area for shade, also the bus stop right outside. Very convenient.
We hope to return in future, and will definitely come back to Lagoon Breeze Villas. Well Done!

Room Tip: All the villas looked very good - we only saw ours of course - but the setting for each villa is wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Lagoon Breeze Villas. Garth and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the helpful tips. I am not sure where missing plugs go, but it is an issue as is supply, however we now have the housekeepers checking to make sure every sink has a plug. We especially thank you for the mirror suggestion and will be providing these in the lounge area. We do hope you can make your way back to Rarotonga and in particular Lagoon Breeze Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 11 day stay at the Lagoon Breeze, it sure was a wonderful place to unwind and relax in one of the 1 bedroom Villa’s. My big dread of going to new Hotels is that usually the beds are so uncomfortable, but our bed was really comfortable, even better than our one at home! The complimentary breakfasts feature many of their local exotic fruit, with selections of cereals, fruit juices and toast. The swimming pool and the large surrounding grounds are beautifully presented. What a great Team running the place; Vikki & Jaimee, Tehui, Kori, Anna, Mamapu and Papanga. They are all so friendly and Vikki and Jaimee’s knowledge of the area was really helpful so we could experience what Rarotonga has to offer. Nothing was too much trouble for them, even booking us into the incredible Te Vara Nui over the water Cultural Show (which is a must to see) and Uncle Tama’s boat trip. Lagoon Breeze gets all the ticks from us, we definitely will be going back there next time we head back to the Cook Islands. Many thanks for looking after us so well, we left there feeling really refreshed and ready to face our busy lives back in New Zealand.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom Villas; 11, 12, 13 & 14 are right at the back of the property and there is no road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieCPML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had previously wanted to stay at the Lagoon Breeze and this was the first time we got there. We arrived on a friday afternoon at about 4.00pm when the office was closed but that was not a problem as the room was fully prepared and waiting for us. The formalities were completed the following Monday. Vicki (Manageress) and her satff were great and nothing was a problem for. requests for early breakfasts were not a problem. The happy hour was a good place to relax and meet new friends and knock back some great cocktails. The units were clean, tidy and large. Wesatyed in a two story two bedroon villa at the front of the complex overlooking the beach which was across the road. We were fortunate to be able to see passing whales and their calves from our patio. We had to leave early due toa family illness back home but thia was not a problem for Vicki.

The complex is at Aroa Beach which is about 15 minutes from the airport and about twenty minutes from Avarua. Cocoputt is about 200 metres from the Breeze and another estaurant is about 300 metres in the other direction. The Rarotongan Hotel is about 400 metres away for other dinining and gift shops and an ATM.

Polynesian car and Bike hire is opposite the Rarotongan. There is a bus stop outside the driveway so getting transport is a not a problem.

The dive centre is a 250 metre walk where you can book min for scuba dice, lagoon dives, intro dives or pool dives. Sabine and Sasha will take great care of your diving needs.

I will be more than happy to stay there again when we come back for our yearly diving holiday.

Room Tip: If your're in the front villas nearest the road you will get a bit of traffic noise around fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
2.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
2.7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Breeze Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Breeze Villas

Property: Lagoon Breeze Villas
Address: Main Road, Aroa | Rarotonga, Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Lagoon Lodges)
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagoon Breeze Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lagoon Breeze Villas is a privately owned self catering property located on the south-west coast of Rarotonga. The 4 acre property offers 18 spacious villas set in a lush garden setting, just across the road from its own stunning white sand beach. The villas present spacious home away from home living with full kitchens and air conditioning. The Breakfast Cafe serves daily tropical breakfast and provides a happy hour bar service in the evenings. The fresh water swimming pool with a smaller paddling pool for young children provides a quiet spot to relax. Lagoon Breeze Villas is a great option for families, couples and groups of friends seeking a safe, secluded and self catering accommodation on Rarotonga. The property is located just a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants and the nearby mini-putt golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagoon Breeze Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Breeze Villas Hotel Arorangi
Lagoon Breeze Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing