We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Paradise within a Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Paradise within a Paradise”
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have just returned home from our 4th holiday in Rarotonga, staying at the Edgewater Resort & Spa. We have never contemplated staying anywhere else as the Edgewater is "Paradise within a Paradise".
The resort location is ideal for watching the sun go down, expressing the most fantastic sunsets, we have found often the location of the Edgewater evades winds and other negative weathers experienced on other parts of Rarotonga. The lagoon located in front of the Edgewater has some of the best snorkeling on Rarotonga.
Accommodation is great, beds are comfortable, rooms clean. The staff are so very helpful and always a smile on their faces with a willingness to help any way they can.
There are two restaurants on site, one in the main area where the dining is casual but tasty and the Spaghetti House located at the front entrance of the Edgewater Resort offering meals of a high standard at reasonable prices. The Spaghetti house is certainly a favorite of ours.
The Edgewater Resort & Spa and Rarotonga is our most favorite place in the world, the Edgewater caters for people of all ages and financial positions, Rarotonga is a island of dreams.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    648
    286
    106
    74
See reviews for
517
601
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary and got a free upgrade to a beachfront suite with fruit platter and bottle of wine. Room was lovely, clean and staff were all polite. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Staff were very friendly. Had hole extended family staying thoughout the hotel, and was diffently happy in our room. Not easy to get changes made to room maybe they dont have a maintance man!!! clock didnt work and no chance of new one. Phone didnt ring. But hay who cares was awesome hoiladay everyone must go. and as for Weddings they did an awesome job, the best setting, the best food, and a great wedding planner.
Would be nice to see the pool balance and cystal clear, not that you need to swim in it as the beach is so perfect.
Whales at Breakfast Amazing

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Last week myself, partner and daughter and baby were guests at your

Establishment.

I would just like to thank you all very much for making our stay the best

ever. Everyone from reception, through to security, villa cleaners

Breakfast staff, bar staff is a credit to your resort.

As I had a sore hip they couldn't have been more considerate, unfortunately

Our little baby had to go to the hospital early hours of the morning, was no

trouble to you guys, when myself and my daughter also got sick everyone was

There once again. [Lani Hosking]

I hope you will pass this onto the staff as I will certainly be letting

everyone here knows how wonderful you all were.



I hope to come back again next year and look forward to seeing you all again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zollie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We traveled to the CI for the 2010 total solar eclipse and were uneasy with the Edgewater having read some of the negative reviews. Those reviews were really overstated! The hotel is not the Ritz and is oldish, but we had a lovely beachfront room and everything was clean. The housekeeping staff couldn't have been friendlier and any concerns about security were handled by using the in-room safe. The breakfast was quite expansive and filling. The only concern we had about the restaurant was that it seemed understaffed and service was lackadaisical, so we did not eat there more than once for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this resort and we were most impressed with the staff, very friendly and helpful.
On the last evening of our stay I had a seafood pasta meal at the resort restaurant and by one o'clock in th morning I got really sick with vomiting and diarrhea.
I ended up in hospital on the drip for most of the following day.
The resort does not accept responsibility for my discomfort and the dodgy meal, saying that more people ate the same thing and were fine.
It only takes a couple of rotten bits of shellfish to do the damage.
So beware where you stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freedomfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I stayed here 15 years ago and nothing has been upgraded since! Very rundown resort and basic rooms. We arrived at 1am and there was no water in our room (cant drink tap water), although there was a sign to say the water in the fridge was $7 a bottle, when we requested some water from reception, staff seemed to be put out by having to help us. A lot more rooms/villas have been added but no upgrade to shared facilities eg pool. Most staff were very unfriendly which was our biggest disappointment, when I was here 15 years ago the activities staff - Sunshine & Useless really made the holiday for us, they were incredible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing