We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value”
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 9 days. Enjoyed family ambience and the fact that there was no "keeping up with the Joneses". Snorkeling gear free, good food, clean rooms kept clean daily. Airconditioning and fan in room. OK - it's a bit old and dated in decor, but we throughly enjoyed our stay there and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    638
    283
    102
    74
See reviews for
505
595
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drysdale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from our two week holiday in the Cook Islands. We booked a 14 night stay (accommodation was a 2 for 1 deal) so we stayed 14 nights but only paid for 7! We realised that the Edgewater was one of the oldest and biggest hotels on Rarotonga. Given this information we were not expecting much more than a clean hotel style room that we could use as our base whilst exploring the island. As it turned out we were checked into a studio room (with basic cooking facilities) which made our stay easier as we could stock up our fridge with food/drinks from town and make up a couple of meals when we got sick of eating out. I had read some negative reports on the Edgewater and must say I thought they were pretty harsh.

The Edgewater is on the sunset side of the island and yes, there is a lot of coral washed up on the beach from the outer reef, but the beach is clean with lovely white sand and the Edgewater has lounge chairs scattered throughout the resort so you could find yourself a nice quiet spot to relax. Reef shoes are recommended for walking and whilst swimming/snorkelling and can be hired from the activities desk at the rate of $2NZ per day (or just bring your own). On a nice sunny day the Edgewater was just as nice a spot as any other to laze away an afternoon and listen to the waves break on the outer reef. There is no live coral in the lagoon but plenty of colourful fish that seem to swim with you, this was pretty special and snorkelling off the Edgewater was just as good as other spots marked around the island for snorkelling, so this was a bit of a highlight. You need to head out past the reef on a boat for live soft/hard corals.

The Edgewater Resort is generally a little tired and the tennis courts/games rooms could do with a tidy up. The resort was hit with 5 consecutive cyclones in Feb of 2005 so this does explain why some of the garden areas are a little sparce.

The restaurant is very relaxed and serves food pretty much all day long with a large outdoor area overlooking the pool/lagoon and this was a lovely spot for an afternoon drink. At night the Edgewater has a themed dinner (mostly buffet style) which is not really our thing so we hired a bike and used the local buses to get out and about (which is a very easy thing to do). But on the up side, each theme night came with live entertainment so you could return to the resort after dinner and catch some live music "island style". We had no prolems with staff during our stay but you must realise they do not hurry in the Cook Islands, so don't expect 5 star service as this type of resort. If you wish to be pampered maybe one of the smaller boutique resorts would suit better.

Our advice is that the Edgewater is a bit tired/dated, although it is kept clean and tidy. I do not think the room furnishings change much between room categories and I would probably look elswhere if you are hoping for a bit of luxury or considering paying extra for a beachfront room. But if you are lucky like we were and picked up a cheap package deal go for it!! In case you are considering a trip over to Aitutaki we can highly recommend this, it is totally awesome and is every bit as beautiful as the pics in the glossy brochures, we stayed at Samade on the Beach and can highly recommend this hotel. It is far cheaper to book your Aitutaki stay once in Rarotonga, just keep an eye out for blackboard specials at the travel agents in town.

No matter on where you decide to stay in the Cook Islands you are in for an awesome holiday.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank neepfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2006

We stayed at the Edgewater for one night at the end of a wonderful holiday on Rarotonga and all I can say is we were extremely disappointed.
The resorts buildings were run down and in need of a lot of work. Our room was tidy but really felt like a cheap hotel and made us feel a little dirty/cheap. The gardens were also in need of much attention.
The beach was also a let down as you can not walk the beach bare foot and cant swim for the rocks/coral.
Also the staff were aloof and you were made to feel you were bothering them when you asked for something.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Our Weddding Day!!
The staff at the Edgewater were wonderful!! They made all the arrangements for our wedding. All we had to do was sign the papers. We enjoyed our week stay on the island.Crusied around on the scooter and had a lot of fun. No worries about getting the wedding planned. That was great!!
Our big day was awsome. We got married on the beach,barefoot.Real flowers for us to wear, flower arch to stand at during the ceremony. Planted our coconut tree.
They also planned a beautiful dinner for us and our first dance together with a live band singing their traditional wedding song.
The EdgeWater Resort is a great place to stay. Our room was great looking out off our balcony at the ocean and sunsets.
The food was great I loved the Fish and Chips.
The people were awesome there.
I would highly recommend staying there.
We will be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We just got back from rarotonga last week, while we were there we stayed at three hotels. Edgewater was the second on our list and by far our favorite. We were upgraded to the delux beach front apartment because of my partners job which was fantastic, the veiw was amazing and we had a wonderful time. I recomend the edgewater even though when we were there it seemed a little dead.. when i would go for breakfast in the morning i felt like i was the only one there.

I would like to say the bar and resteraunt staff were not the most polite.. at times i would have to interupt being ignored by resteraunt staff at the bar for 10 minute just to ask for a menu. I did find this disopointing. the reception staff were tho infact some of the kindest rarotongans we met on the island.

Take cards for those rainy days!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2006

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at Edgewater. Staff friendly, very large beachfront rooms. Disappointing beach, couldn't walk on the beach without shoes and couldn't swim. Food not very exciting.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MagicFlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing