We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Whangarei
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We returned to the Edgewater for the second time and were not disappointed. We had a beach front villa, which is spacious and clean, and had an incredible view from both balconies. While we have definitely fallen in love with Rarotonga the thing that we loved the most about the Edgewater is the staff. I laugh when I read reviews that say the staff are not friendly - I have to think you get what you give. The staff remebered us from our last visit and by the time we left this time my Dad was known to them as Papa and our kids were close to being adopted! The Edgewater staff have incredible senses of humour and for us they totally made this trip special. Kia ora koutou! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    647
    286
    106
    74
See reviews for
516
601
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We had a group of 50 join us for our Wedding at the Edgewater Resort which we chose because it suited a range of budgets for accommodation. The island is full of fun and easy to get around and we'd defo go back to Raro and the Edgewater Resort. We enjoyed the lifestyle - very laid back - just the kind of holiday you want and certainly a better way to ENJOY your wedding! On the wedding side of things - the one thing I know now, is that the wedding coordinators are experience - and there really is no need to take too much table deco etc over - go simple - that's what you're there for really - the flowers are so beautiful and by the time they put candles on the tables too - what else do you really need?!! I over did it a bit due to being unsure of what to expect. My advice is to communicate with your wedding coordinator and ask all and any question you like – they’re very good via email I found. If you do want favors for your guests you can have that organised over there rather than take them yourself. One thing that's really important on the day is your photographer - again I was unsure what to expect but I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Junior Marsters from Nior Photography. He was awesome - he had us relax and have fun so we had a lot of gorgeous romantic photos and fun ones too. It was a relief as it was a big deal on the big day to know your photographer was “TOPS”! Everything was organised via the wedding coordinator and they see you once you arrive and go over everything. Just don't be afraid to check things - as they have a laid back lifestyle not quite like us Kiwi's who ensure all details are taken care of. We chose a DJ for entertainment after dinner /formalities - he was FANTASTIC also - our whole wedding group partied big time - even those who actually never dance! Unfortunately I can’t remember who he was – sorry. Also, do not stress if it is raining on the day – just hope that it stops raining for your photos. We were actually very pleased that it wasn’t full of sunshine on the day as that clouds were stunning in our photos and we weren’t squinting in any of them – so not so bad to have wet weather on your wedding day! Overall I was very pleased with how everything went – only small things that weren’t up to scratch in my own opinion. In general at the Edgewater, I did find that some staff were super friendly towards you which was fantastic but that also some of them weren’t as friendly or helpful – but hey we’re all human.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec_P_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I decided to take my boyfriend to Rarotonga spontaneously. I've been to Raro before and stayed at the Raro Beach Resort and Spa which was exceptional (for a family) but I figured seeing as he hadn't been overseas before, he wouldn't really know what he was missing as we were on a budget. We stayed in a Deluxe Beachfront Room, which I managed to get at a fairly cheap price with industry discounts. The room was very spacious, it had a spa in the bathroom and a balcony on to the beach. The decor was quite dated but then, you generally find that in 3 to 4 star resorts on the island. Amenities were limited. If I had to pay full price, I would definitely pay more and stay somewhere else and any room type below the deluxe beachfront I would not even consider. The staff were not overly friendly and I had major issues trying to purchase internet time. However, they have a great Island Night held in the restaurant. All up, the resort is very middle range and badly in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sx90shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed in the villas which are sort of at the edge of the resort. A great combination - a good sized three bedroom villa which allowed us to self cater - but we used the restaurant for breakfast each morning as part of the package - recommend this option.
The facilities were fine for us - pool, beach, snorkelling gear and complimentary towels. Yup, thats all we needed.
Onsite rental car office (Budget) was a good easy place to pick up a car for the last few days to explore the island.
Some people note the Edgewater is getting tired - I would surmise this depends on where you stay as it is a big complex, definitely the restaurant is due for a makeover, but the rest semed to be environment wear and tear - it is on the waters edge, and living by the sea the sea conditions can be harsh, all and all though great service and great location... magical sunsets...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed here in Aug 09 and everything was orsum!!!!!! Went back and stayed in Dec 09 and it was excellent to get the same welcome - smiling faces and warm welcome, oh and the service was very friendly as well. If you need something all you need to do is ask - you will never know if you dont ask upon arrival.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiTePuariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2009

"We just returned from a wonderful trip to Rarotonga. We stayed at the Edgewater Resort and were so happy we did. It is a lovely place with beautiful gardens, friendly and helpful staff and a lovely beach front location. The resort is perhaps not the most modern or flash on the island but it is in a sheltered from the wind position with most nights being almost still compared to the MUCH more windy Muiry Beach side of the island. The resort was always the most popular on the island and the bar and restaurant often the busiest place on the island (but not too much so) The food was great. Hearty portions and everything from Fresh seafood (Try the Ika Mata) to burgers and the usual fare. We managed to get a room upgrade and ended up with an ocean front room as the occupancy was low when we visited. Gloria on reception was so helpful and lovely when we checked in as were all the restaurant and bar staff. Thank you so much for a lovely stay, we will be back for sure.
Rarotonga is a great place for a vacation - I highly recommend it if you like perfect beaches, snorkeling 3 feet off the beach and lovely food. Try the Tamarind House, Sails Restaurant (for lunch), The Flame Tree, Trader Jacks (lunch) just to name a few. These were some of the best meals I have had anywhere in the world and the location can not be beaten. Can not rave enough about the trip."

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estevandecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We have just returned from 8 days at the Edgewater. We arrived and had a garden Room and asked if we could have a room with a view and were given the keys to a room on the first floor right on the beach, view over the sea.No questions or problems. They are slightly older units, but the great thing is you dont have to worry about sandy feet etc. They are in perfect condition and the bathrooms are great. previous reviews had suggested otherwise so we were a little nervous. No dripping taps, bouncy beds (just like the James Cook in Wellington) daily room servicing, all the staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble, restaurant staff love to have a chat too. Breakfast is 5 cereals, fruit and yogurt, toast and muffins . but you can upgrade to cooked for $10 Frankly the last thing we felt like was bacon and eggs in the lovely warm mornings.

We could only hear the sound of the surf on the reef all night .. bliss .. so never heard any roosters or planes .. we did hear and see the roosters and chickens all around the gardens arriving and leaving our room but they never woke us. Oh and sure, the fitness centre is pretty skimpy but its so much nicer to exercise out in the fresh air and swim at Muri Lagoon and walk on the beach in the evenings and eat fresh caught fish and fruit :-)

We went to a few other resorts and they are much smarter but we felt we could not wander around in our jandals and be as relaxed .. and frankly the food at the many (non resort) restarurants is sooo great we would rather spend the money eating out.

Tips..

Just Juice was $10 for 3 litres so take juice .. and dips and crackers and wine .. byo at one restaurant was $8 but still cheaper than buying from their wine list.

You can buy tickets to the Edgewater Island Night for the show only for $15 if you dont want the whole roast buffet thing .. and just eat from the main menu out under the stars and then go inside when the dancing is about to start. The dancers there are great.

Take your own reef shoes and snorkel and mask .. you dont need flippers .. then you can go all over the island.. Snorkelling ( and we did a LOT best opposite The Dive Shop just before the Rarotonga) and at the Edgewater is good too.

Ask for a room in the 400 block :-) Right on the seafront, queen and a single bed, fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the sea.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing