We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort in need of a major overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Stayed here 5 nights for a conference and only chose it as they were offering greatly reduced government rates. Whilst the staff are very friendly and mostly willing to help (depends on who you get however - the girls in the morning and early afternoon were very helpful - particularly in following up on our lost luggage), the place is badly in need of updating and the services are overall poor for a resort standard venue. The decor is very dated, the standard breakfast is quite sub-standard and the amenities are not great. It is a large resort with multiple room types, but even the over-priced beachfront deluxe rooms (which we stayed in), were of a poor standard for the price you pay. There were a few problems with the booking / reservation process as well and we were not informed in advance of the airport transfer costs. Nearly everything has to be paid for, including the bottled water, which at a cost of $7 NZ seemed a bit steep to me. Business services are very poor. There is no business centre and no internet access in any of the rooms. You can purchase wifi access, but the hotspot is only available by the hotel pool. Transport to and from the main centre is okay, as long as you are relaxed about waiting for the local bus (there is a clockwise option and an anti-clockwise) - if you have time on your hands its a nice way to meander around the island which is only about 32km in distance. Most people seem to hire a car or motorbike to get around. The hotel to my knowledge does not provide a free shuttle into town. The food was of a good standard, however we found that the restaurant closed earlier than advised in the hotel guide - closing time seemed to be dictated by how busy they were and when the chef wanted to go home. The same applied with room service, in fact we arrived back at the hotel after a conference event around 9.30pm on a Wednesday only to be told the kitchen had closed and that room service was not available as the chef had gone home. This was contrary to the information in the hotel guide, which indicated a 10pm close off. At most places they would at least offer to make you a sandwich. We were forced to make our way into town to find the single open food venue at 10.30 / 11.00 at night - the fried chicken place! After which we had to make a mad dash to catch the last bus back to the hotel. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjt459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2009

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the Edgewater and we enjoyed every minute of it.; The view from our room can not be beaten, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning next year. Best holiday we have had in a long time. Kia Ora, Ka kite ano

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossominvecargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed 1 night in a Studio room on our arrival before flying into Aitutaki the next morning. For the price, this room was unimpressive.

Whilst in Aitutaki, we were not really looking forward to returning to the Edgewater for another 5 nights, but thankfully we were upgraded to an Beachfront Deluxe room. There is not much difference in price between the Beachfront and the Deluxe for what you get - so go the Deluxe - there is no comparison. The Beachfront is in the old section (near the wedding receptions and Island nights), and the deluxe was in the new. As we were on the ground floor, we could jump over the balcony onto the sand and onto a deckchair, and the view (incl sunsets) was awesome. Very grateful for the upgrade and was very pleased to not be located in the old section.

Positives: - The restaurant on site was a decent option, the snorkelling is OK, there are some on site activities (crab racing etc), there is a Budget, laundry, gift shop and ATM on site which is convenient. The staff were friendly. Have an Island night here - handy if you want to have a few drinks - and Spaghetti House out the front of the resort is OK. There were some kids here - so may suit you better if you are looking for a family holiday (but in our opinion the Rarotongan has better facilities for kids). The outlook from the restaurant is great, the outlook from our room was unbeatable. Our room was big, the bathroom modern with a spa bath.

Not-so-positives: - The driveway, reception, restaurant and older area is dated and dingy. The tropical breakfasts were not so great (cereal out of date and warm milk - every day), and the sausages with the cooked breakfast were plastic - only did that once! The tiles around the restaurant and to the newer accommodation block are very very slippery when wet(be careful).

Overall - we had a great time and have no real complaints. But this resort is not cheap, and there are probably better options on the Island for what you pay here. You will need wheels wherever you stay (scooters are the go) so everything on the Island is within a short drive anyway, and the buses are reliable!

Generally, we loved Trader Jacks, Aro'a Beachside Inn great for a cheap meal & cocktail, the markets on Saturday, have a look inside the almost completed rooms at the abandoned Sheraton Resort (eerie) but don't just drive by, and would have loved to go to Tamarind House.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachykeen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed at Edgewater Resort for 1 evening at the end of our holiday. We needed a convenient, good value place to stay due to our flight times (we checked in at 10am and checked out at midnight the same day). We wanted a place to rest up before the 2am flight back to New Zealand. No such rest was had!
Loud music, I think from a wedding reception the resort was hosting, played from about 8pm. This is of course fine and acceptable, What isn't acceptable is that the din carried on until gone 11pm.
The rooms themselves are very, very basic and haven't been modernised in any way. The view out to the lagoon was great though, but not worth the money at all. There are many better alternatives on Rarotonga.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pomminoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Was a bit puzzled why this place got polar opposite reviews, either 5/5 or 1/5 stars
The reason is that there is an old side and a new side.
If you are in a wedding party you will most likely get accommodated in the new wings. I didn't get to see them but from talking to other guests they are quite nice.
If you are on a package holiday you will most likely be in the old side unless you pay an upgrade price. Note you can upgrade after you arrive. Sorry I didn't take note of the cost.
I took the view that the room was basically for sleeping in and as such met my requirements.
Two beds were in my room, with the double being horribly soft.
The room had A/C which wasn't needed and a ceiling fan.
A cupboard an in room safe were also in the room.
The breakfast provided was fairly basic and didn't vary much from day to day.
Again you could pay and upgrade to a cooked breakfast.

Food
We didn't eat at the restaurant for any meals other than breakfast but would recommend Windjammer just down the road.
Food on the Cook Islands was to me very expensive and very ordinary. Budget about $NZ75 per person per dinner and $NZ35 for lunch

Location
Everything is scattered around the island so there is no 'great' location. Having said that the road around the island is only 32km long so everything is sort of close-ish.
There is a public bus that runs around, it takes one hour to go around and the bus also runs once an hour. If you will be using this service the cheapest option is to get a 'book' of 10 tickets. Note if you are in a group everyone in the group can use a ticket. This way a journey costs $NZ2.5 instead of $NZ4 for a single journey.
There are also car and bike hire places.
The beach at the resort is very corally, so good for snorkelling, but not too good for swimming. It is however on the protected side of the island so while the water might be calm at the resort, around at Muri which has better swimming it might be blowing a gale and very choppy.

Service
Room service changed the towels daily, even when it was not required.
The cheerfulness and helpfulness of the receptionist varied.
The resort runs activities during the day. Be warned these tend to run on 'island time'. Usually they are running late and sometimes they will be cancelled but 30 minutes later you will see the activity going ahead.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13RD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

For me, there is only one place to stay, when visiting Rarotonga, and that's the Edgewater Resort and Spa, The sunsets are breathtaking, all the rooms are well appointed, definitly a place to just "chill" by the pool drinking "whatever you like"!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papaaprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We had 7 nights at the Edgewater room 410 Beachfront unit. A bit noisy, but that was only the sea. We arrived in Raro and the weather was not that great, rain. We had rain for several days,but stil managed to have the best time. We hired a scooter from Budget rentals, which are on the same property as this resort. Too easy. Although you do need to be there before 4pm, as they close at this time.
The staff at the Edgewater, we cannot fault, they are all great, so helpful and very friendly. We found nothing was a problem.
We bought some Tuna and Wahoo, to bring back to NZ. Edgewater were so heplful in keeping this frozen for us in there freezers,again no problem.
Great shop to buy this fish in called, Ocean Fresh. A must for fresh fish.
We would recommend this resort, food great, and very reasonable. No problems with noisy neighbours, tropical breakfast was great, fresh fruit was a favourite of ours, and crossiants.
Thanks again We will be back.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulineSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $112 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing