We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, laid back and great cocktails!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
New Plytmouth New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing, laid back and great cocktails!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Arrived to friendly staff to take us to our Villa. 8 nights was good and gave us time to do everything we intended to on the Island. Good swimming pool, tennis courts, games room and Kids Club which our grandchildren enjoyed and gave adults a breather.
Evening meals were a good size and good quality. Children's evening meals were well catered.

Island Time evening was something special as well and if with children don't miss the fish feeding at 9am.

Disappointed in the quality of the coral in particular, appears to be dying........otherwise good snorkelling.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in get a hotel room as in the Villas you hear the roosters crowing rather early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Kia Orana reeny_11
We would like to thank you for your great comments while staying with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our villas are well equipped for families and are a home away from home with all your necessities you need on holiday, also our activities on site are fully set up for guests to experience some cultural traditional activities, and fish feeding, as well as the kids club for the parents to get out and partake in tours on the island or little shopping excursions, or simply have a cocktail at the bar. We are fortunate we have an abundance of fish in our lagoon for everyone to enjoy the snorkeling.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    661
    288
    109
    74
See reviews for
523
609
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at the Edgewater, the staff are friendly and the food is yummy. It has a beach you can swim at most tides. We had a deluxe beachfront rooms which look directly onto the beach, from here we could watch the sun set which was pretty cool.
The breakfast needs improvement, however it is adequate.
The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard.
We will be back as it is a great central hub for traveling around.

Room Tip: Turn off you wi-fi after using, otherwise you will chew through usage lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlosnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Kia Orana Karlosnz
Thanks for your great comments regarding your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. It was great to welcome you back to our shores again, and this being your third visit makes you apart of our Edgewater family. I would like to suggest you join our Coral Club to be entitled to some goodies when you return to on your next trip to the beautiful Cook Islands. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Staff friendly but never seemed to give us the right information. for example when we checked in we were told we could check out at any time since our flight did not leave until 1130PM. Then the morning of our last day we were told that we had to get out of our room at 10am but could use a shower in one of the rooms before leaving for the airport. so my husband went snorkeling and when he went to ask about the shower he was told no rooms were available. Finally one lady at the front desk said he could use the staff shower which consisted of a closet size room with a pipe coming out of the wall and no hot water. better than nothing I guess but we were irritated. Most of the clients there were either New Zealanders or Aussies. Never met another US or Canadian citizen but it is a big resort. Room was kept clean, never saw any bugs around the grounds other than mosquitoes which are everywhere on the island. There are chickens everywhere and generally started crowing outside our room at 4AM. Didn't bother me since the chickens probably ate all the crawling bugs. Food in the restaurant is good although pricey. Rarotonga has to import everything but still the prices seemed excessive. a diet coke is 8 dollars at the resort bar but only 3.50 in town. that is per can. The bus stops right at the hotel and is a 10 minute or so ride into town. well worth it. they also rent cars and scooters. the best part we enjoyed was snorkeling the lagoon. way better than any place else we have ever been and we have been all over the Caribbean.

Room Tip: try to get as close to the ocean as possible but away from pool/bar which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank mitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Kia Orana Mitaliano
We thank you for your comments on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our front line staff are normally very accurate with the information we provide our guests specially regarding arrivals and departure information, we would like to apologize for not getting it right this time. Our lagoon has an abundance of colorful fish and this is due to our coral we have in front of the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgwater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My cousins, partner and I travelled to Rarotonga and stayed here for 5 nights.
I have to say that I did have an amazing time here however the bed we had in our room felt like a bouncy castle. It was so uncomfortable that majority of my stay in Rarotonga consisted of never having a good quality sleep and always complaining of a sore back throughout the day.
I definitely do recommend the Raro Nightlife Tour Bus from the resort as it was a good way to meet others from the resort and the tour guides were super friendly!
The restaurant in the hotel was different each night. The first night we were there, the waitresses spent more time speaking amongst themselves then at the customers, being us, then when I asked for a different drink to the one I ordered originally, the waitress laughed in my face and did not hesitate to say "no!" although I was a paying customer. The second night we went, when it was the festive dance night and buffet as well as the owner/main manager being present, the waitresses were a lot more assertive and did not speak amongst each other. I have to say although, from what I saw that night and the reviews, that I would rather pay a bit more and go to Te Vara Nui.
Overall, the fact that many other kiwis were at the hotel and that Arorangi beach was beautiful to swim in, the hotel was a good experience but I'm not too certain if I would be in a rush to return if I was paying for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraL6242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Kia Orana LauraL6242
We thank you for your comments while staying with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our Activities team are very accommodating when assisting our guests on the night life tour, and this is a great evening for our guest to mix and mingle. We do apologize for the service you encountered at our restaurant, our staff and are currently undergoing hospitality training for our staff to excel in their positions and guest services, we appreciate your feedback. With your bed being uncomfortable we would of changed your bedding to suit your requirements if notified in advance without any hesitation to ensure your stay was a pleasant one with us. We do hope you return back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We spent 4 good day in this resort, from the 2nd to the 5th of May 2014 in a beach front deluxe suite. The room was spacious with nice and simple forniture and the bathroom had a nice spa. There was also a nice veranda just in front of the beach reachable in one jump and few steps, the beach is very beautiful and as soon you jump into the water you'll find yourself snorkeling in the reef with a lot of fishes. Our booking included a tropical breakfast, which was enough for us and consisted in a buffet with fresh fruits, bread, jams, muffin, coffe and different juices but not a cooked breakfast (sausages, eggs). The resort is located in a good position and with a rental scooter we could travel all around the island. Twice a week the resort organizes an Island night with dances and entertainment for the guests and a dinner buffet with typical local food (extra cost). An experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: beach front deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnAustralianno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The staff were very friendly and very helpful, the facilities were good, the resort was very clean the food was really nice and the entertainment every night was lovely. My family and I really enjoyed the resort and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2015
Kia Orana Mihi,

Thank you for your review for you recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities provided on site and that your stay was comfortable. We hope that it was also memorable for you and your family.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to our shores soon.

Kind Regards,
The Edgewater Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitangata, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Edgewater resort. It was in a handy location, the food was fantastic and we were well looked after! The cleaning and laundry staff were so cool! We were trying to smash a coconut on the ground to open it the first night we were there, they yelled at us and we thought we were going to be told off! But they were calling us over to the laundry. They husked the coconut for us - popped a straw in for us to drink the juice and then cut it up for us so we could eat it! Then they asked us what number rooms we were staying in and the next day we all had a big bag of fresh fruit left in our units for us!!!! The rooms were basic but clean and tidy, thats all we were after, a great place to go. we went with friends and are planning to go back next year for my dad's 60th!

Room Tip: We had a garden room and it was fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTSUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2015
Kia Orana and Warm Greetings from the Edgewater Team,

Thank you so much for your positive review for your stay with us, we are very delighted that you got to experience our local culture, we hope this was memorable.

If you are bringing family over for your Dad's Birthday, I highly recommend staying at our Villas. They are our most popular houses for families wanting lots of space and room to move around. The Team at the Edgewater look forward to welcoming you back to our shores soon.

Kind Regards,
The Edgewater Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing