We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome...nice rooms....gorgeous staff...lots of planned activities...great dinner entertaiment..yummy food....crab racing was lots of fun...cocktails were too nice....and best of all....everything can be booked from here...and the pub crawl was brilliant too!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Roni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Kia Orana Roni O
We thank you for posting your great comments while staying with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We hope that you will join us in the near future to again enjoy the entertainment, food and great culturally orientated activities we have to offer for all our guests staying with us.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having a large family group was not a problem at the Edgewater. We had 2 Garden Villas plus another room. The villas are great. 3 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, aircon kitchen etc plus a washing machine which is a must with alot of children. Close to the beach and all facilities. Staff were friendly. It is the second time we have stayed there and would certainly do so again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionajesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Kia Orana fionajesson
We would like to thank you for returning to our shores and posting your wonderful comments while staying with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our villas are well facilitated for families and groups, having the space in the villa and fully equipped kitchens. It was great to have hosted you again and look forward to your return in the near future.
Metiaki Maata
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed in a queen room at Edgewater for five nights. The room was spacious and had excellent aircon, a major plus in the tropical heat. Compared to other resorts, it was such a bargain, and the resort wasn't nearly as busy and bustling as some others we visited. The restaurant staff were prompt and the reception staff were helpful. There wasn't much to complain about at all.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Kia Orana Hana D
Thank you for posting your great comments while staying at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. All our rooms have air conditioning for the comfort of our guests, after a long day of fun filled activities and snorkeling, and we have available rooms that facilitate for all budgets. Our staff are happy to share our island hospitality with you. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Edgewater for eight nights, sure the rooms need an update but very clean and tidy, food really good only went to the spaghetti house once as didn't need to go anywhere else for food, drinks great a glass of wine nz $7.50. Didn't need to take extra food with us, as didn't need it, found the food at the supermarkets the same if not cheaper than nz, and the icecreams were $2 a cone. The swimming pool didn't close at 5.30 like it does in Fiji, it closes at 9.30. Swimming at beach was great, snorkling was great, just the most loveliest island I have been to so green and just lovely and rest full, the only complain would be the cleaning lady we had, a smile would have been good, and she just didn't want to be there. And planning to go back again, hopefully twice this year as was that good.

Room Tip: Had a room in the Mauke building and just enough away from the reef noise on the second level and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The trip was great! With the exception of two staff members, the majority of the staff were amazing!

Pros:
Good strong aircon in the rooms - it was very badly needed most of the time that we were there.
The bus that goes clockwise and anticlockwise drives in to the motel area and collects passengers - no waiting in the hot sun outside the motel.
There is also a car and scooter hire at the motel - you can get your temp license here before going into town and getting the permanent one.
The pool is great.
You walk down from the pool to the beach.
There are lots of free activities to do at the pool.
Also - they are replacing the air con units, we had an older one but had no issue with it and saw that they had a good 100 or so waiting to be installed and there was a block next to us that had already been replaced.
The nightlife tour with go troppo tours was cancelled as their bus had broken down, we went with the motel tour and it was great fun, the staff were all lovely and made sure people didn't lose anything or get left behind.

Cons:
The beds are very hard.
We were not told at check in that the check in time was 2pm (we arrived at 2am) and had to pay for an extra day that we didn't use.
Ants are every where on the island, try to take some aeroguard for mosquitos late at night and always put your food away.

The food:
The breakfast had nothing hot unless you paid extra.
The milk is powdered - I would take a bottle of UHT milk or two. They are VERY expensive on the island.
The meals from Mal's bar were very average and the $22 pizza from the spaghetti house were inedible. The $5 burgers down the road are either fish burgers or cheese burgers. If you go into the High Tide in town they have $20 pizza buffets which are great.

We paid $58p.p. for island night but I see some other people got it for $40. Not sure why we had to pay more?

Overall great stay. Loved it. Thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms near the pools would be very loud - try to avoid these. If you cannot go up stairs you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimpl3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great stay at Edgewater Resort in March 2004. The weather was warm along with the nights.
The meals in the restaurant were good value and the breakfasts which were built in with the cost of staying there were also great. Also the bar is reasonably priced in the drinks department also, but the price of the fresh water at $7 a litre seems to be a bit high and can be bought in the local shops for $2.50 for 3ltrs.
The staff that rent cars from the reception are and can be rude to deal with as can some of the shop people, they need to remember that it is the traveller that pay their wages as without us visiting there the island would be in a bit of a state.

Room Tip: Go for a view over the Lagoon up the top floor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrantsDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a excellent Hotel in Rarotonga. The pool is beautiful the beach below the pool and restaurant was beautiful you could also feed fish in the sea. the daily activities at the resort were fabulous and very much enjoyed and i liked the crab racing.
Our room was not flash but it was nice had a good air conditioning system installed we were in a garden room i would recommend the ocean front rooms they look alot newer and better views.
The breakfast we got everyday at the breakfast bar was delicious and we were happy with what we paid for they even played rugby on a big screen when the All Blacks played which was a bonus aswell.

Room Tip: If you are looking for luxury i suggest the Beach front rooms which look very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delightfulyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater2015, The Edgewater Team at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2015

Kia Orana,

Your review is very descriptive, it is enjoyable to read thank you for taking the time to post this. It is always a pleasure hearing that our guest enjoy their stay with us, we hope that this was memorable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores someday soon.

Kind Regards,
The Edgewater Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $116 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing