We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,761 results
Traveler rating
483
727
339
128
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
727
339
128
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti housekids clubisland nightgarden roomtennis courtsfish feedingbeach frontactivities hutcrabbeachfront deluxe roomspa bathedge watergames roomdaily activitiestropical breakfastcocktail hourair con
Filter
Updating list...
1,084 - 1,089 of 1,761 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was a bit worried because the Edgewater is a big resort but at no time did it feel crowded or packed. There was always space for breakfast or sunbathing. The accommodation was roomy and comfortable, we were in the beach front villa and it was beautiful to sit on the patio watching the sun go down. We had a few days of BAD weather and then the sun came out. The equipment in the activities hut was clean and tidy and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We did a few activities with them, the crab racing was hilarious. The restaurant staff were also friendly, in fact apart from one gentleman at the front desk who said we couldn't play tennis because it had rained even though we saw sooo many people doing just that, everyone was helpful and happy, we really did smile all the time. The housekeeping staff were lovely as well. Breakfast was perect. I loved the fruit and we were upgraded to a cooked breakfast which kept you going till supper. Soft drinks were a little expensive but take advantage of the two for one cocktail hour. We didn't find the food too expensive in comparison to NZ. Tip pick up a map from the airport they have a 10% discount voucher for both the island night and the spaghetti house. Also they let you take your own wine for a $7.50 corkage. perfect. This was a really relaxed holiday, the resort really caters to families and people who want to relax,the snorkeling in the lagoon was spectacular. Thank you for a great holiday, my kids are 13 and 16 and they enjoyed it so much too. Check out the special offers on the web site, we got an upgrade and extras because of the uniform offer and once there we were upgraded again to a beachfront villa. that made our holiday brilliant. This is a great spot to do nothing. Also if you want to hire scooters use the Polynesian car hire office at the resort, its not much dearer than hire places in town and you have the advantage of being on site when you return the bikes, there was a lady when we returned them and she said the test was a lot more relaxed at the hotel than at the police station. Phew.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, nothing ventured nothing gained.x
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Edgewater for 5 nights in a garden superior room, nice spacious room that was cleaned daily. Edgewater is right on the beach and has a good spot for snorkling in the lagoon and offers free hire of snorkling equipment. The two island buses (clockwise and anti-clockwise) come right to the reception area. Good restaurant on site as well as Spaghetti house at the end of the drive (also owned by Edgewater) and other restaurants within walking distance. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: This is quite a large resort with a huge variety of rooms available. I stayed in a garden superior room which was comfortable and nice but did not have beach views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

To the staff at Edgewater, thank you so much for an amazing three months. There are so many things we want to say to all of you, but most of all we want to say a big thank you for making us feel so at home. We were so lucky to be able to rent one of the long term villas for our time there, and we will definitely be staying with you again when we return.

To anyone trying to decide where to stay, this really is a fantastic resort with excellent family facilities, and staff that make you feel welcome and will bring a smile to your day. There are so many great things to say about - the pool, the kids club, the staff, the location (best sunsets on the island), the huge cocktails, and the overall vibe of the place - that we could fill a guide book on it. We cannot thank you enough for welcoming us into the Edgewater family. We also really want to say a special thanks to the following people:

Tiki (activities manager) - you are so funny, kind, and wise. We really enjoyed our time with you and really wish we could have heard more of your stories about your life and family. What an incredible life you have had. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and for keeping a special eye on our girls for us.

Gina (Kids Club) – you are one of the most patient, kind, and gentle people we have ever met. Thank you does not seem enough after everything you did for us. You gave our three girls a sense of home, letting them join in with all the activities at the kids club – day after day!! Thank you for all the great conversations and patiently answering all the questions to help us better understand life in the Cook Islands. We wish we could have got to know you and your family better.

Peter (activity hut) – we hope you like our youtube movie. We loved getting to know you, what a cool guy you are. Stay proud. You have inspired Ella and Roy to get guitar lessons. Keep smiling, and we look forward to your awesome singing when we get back.

Bob (activity hut) – thanks for letting Ella help you out in the mornings and being so patient when listening to her stories! She really misses the freedom of her morning walks to the hut, and your ukulele lessons. She has been practicing somewhere over the rainbow on her ukulele and has nearly mastered it.

Johnny (activity hut) – we all miss you and your smiles and laughter. Thanks for being so patient with the girls, and thanks for the laughs. Our girls all think of you and Bob and Pete as big brothers and they miss you all. When we show friends photos of you guys our girls are always so proud talking about you.

Agnes (kids club and activity hut) – you were like a big sister to our girls and we would be proud if any of our girls growing to be like you. Your warmth and kindness and patience was appreciated by all of us, and thank you for sharing your experiences of growing up in Raro and Manihiki with us.

Ani (Kids club) – you have such a kind and gentle soul. Thank you for caring for our girls, they miss you so much, especially your smile and your hugs. Take care of yourself, protect your heart – it is very special. Hope you are back to feeling like yourself again.

Ana (Restaurant) – Thanks for being so helpful and so generous with the girls. You have such a genuine kindness and loving nature. Good luck with your future, we hope to meet up with you again.

Tapi (Restaurant) – thanks for looking after the girls in the morning and letting them ‘help’ you clean tables, it was one of their favourite times of the day and Charlotte in particular loved hanging out with you. You were very generous to them, and we will never forget your kindness.

Sulu (housekeeping ) – you were Zoe’s first friend when we arrived, and you always gave us such friendship and genuine care whenever we saw you. We realise it must be hard being away from your own family and felt blessed that you opened up your heart to ours. Take care, and we hope to meet again.

Anand (CFO) – thank you for all your help, advice and friendly neighbourly chats. You have a lovely family and we wish we could have stayed longer to get to know you all better.

Many people have asked how we enjoyed Rarotonga and the highlight of our three months was getting to know you all, and through our little chats and discussions learning a bit about the real Rarotonga (and about Fiji too…).

A few of things we loved about Rarotonga were the openness and friendliness of people. The way they take time to have a chat, or even just a wave or a smile. We love the way the girls and women wear a flower in their hair. We loved going to the market on Saturday and seeing the same smiling faces. We loved going to Church and hearing the singing and seeing such a joyful community of people together under one roof, and the minister who started each sermon with a funny story.

We loved cruising the back roads with the girls hanging out the windows, and we loved the view of the mountains in the morning and the amazing sunsets over the lagoon in the afternoon.

Raro has captured our hearts and together with all of you, has given us a gift we will carry forever with us. Since getting home many people have said ‘what an amazing experience for your kids’, but it was an amazing experience for all of us.

Meitaki Maata

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the resort for a week during an official business trip to Rarotonga. Peaceful beachfront location. Room, service and food were very good. Ideal spot for relaxing. Was well catered for, specially being a vegetarian. Plenty of parking and outdoor activities readily available. Clean tidy room and bath. Sparkling clean beach and friendly helpful staff. The buffet breakfast was just perfect. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devendra kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at The Edgewater and loved every moment of it!

We stayed in a Beachfront Deluxe Suite and as the price that we paid was so cheap (we got an off season 50% off special) I was quite skeptical about the quality of the hotel but upon arrival I realised that we just got a supercheap deal! The room was a little dated but was very clean and everything was in perfect order and to step out onto our private balcony and be basically on the waters edge was devine.

The breakfast that is included was good and the food and cocktails at the restaurant was lovely. We attended the Island theme night and the buffet was delicious and the show was great. I had a treatment at the Spa at the resort and that was also fantastic and at a reasonable price too.

All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and a few of the staff even gave us tips on where to get bargain souvenirs etc. from the shops in Avarua.

Absolutely loved Rarotonga and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschwenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews