We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$151
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Black Pearl at Puaikura(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$233
$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$134
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$248
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aroa Kainga(Arorangi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveler rating
473
706
322
119
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
706
322
119
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti housekids clubisland nightgarden roomfish feedingtennis courtsbeach frontcrabactivities hutbeachfront deluxe roomedge waterspa bathon sitedaily activitiesgames roomtropical breakfastcocktail hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is an ok resort, can't fault the cleaners , I've have stayed here 5 times and my room was very clean, however I can't say the service at the bar/ restuarant would get such a high rating from me. Its maybe time to get some new staff, in this area, the rest of this resort has a lot going for it for what you pay.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra and stay in the new blocks, great sea view and less roaster noise, I have stayed in the new area 3 times.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Sharyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived there, and being honeymooners were told we were going to get an upgrade, but they said they over booked so could not give us this. beautiful view as we had a room closet to the lagoon, but extremely noisy, every night about four times a night bottles would be thrown into the tip making a huge noise, and hosing down late at night right outside your room, they just had no respect for the people staying there and what time they did things, except to wait awhile for service there very relaxed on the serving front, good cocktails though, our room was clean but some windows didn't shut the shower was broken, very hard bed and they don't provide duvets, and just generally tired looking, would do really well with the undercover boss going through this place, as it has potential but just lacking a bit everywhere, I would highly recommend spending the extra and staying at the crown resort just down the road, which is where we spent most of our time. however it is a great side of the island as doesn't get the wind like the other side and get the sun for longer in the evenings, would recommend coming here if you were in a big group, but not for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the bar area as possible as very noisy place to stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fisher0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our small family stayed at the Edgewater resort in June & stayed in the Lagoon view room. This is the first time we have visited a tropical island & were overwhelmed by the beautiful beaches & lovely warm weather that greeted us on our arrival. We loved the resort, it was everything we expected. It was soooo neat to have everything just within metres of our room..pool, restaurant, bar, activities, "COCONUT CLUB", vehicle & scooter hirage, public transport AND we can't forget the SPECTACULAR LAGOON for swimming & snorkling. Our Children LOVED the coconut club & the breakfast!!!. I decided to do one activity on our last day & thoroughly enjoyed it & wished I had of attended more. There is so much to do at the resort that you could spend a couple of days without stepping a foot out the boundaries & have a fun packed time!. However on a few occasions when we required information from staff we felt like we were brushed off, or felt like they would not going out of their way to help us which I found very surprising & frustrating!, BUT there are loads of helpful, efficient & caring staff that you soon forget the dramas.
We ate at the restaurant a few times & found it nice but it can became expensive if you had to eat there every night. We found the roadside stalls selling food a real winner. We sampled some pretty delicious food at these stalls which we took back to our room for dinner. My favourite would have to be the a family selling umu (hangi version) out the front of their house about 1.5 - 2km down from edgewater every Wednesday 4pm for $10, complete meal for 2 adults (pork & chicked falling off the bone, island veges & a sachet of coconut cream..beautiful...) or my partners favourite the roadhouse which is about 100 metres up the road from edgewater $5 burger & $4 beers.
All I can say is forget your NZ ways & relax & remember your on island time!. We have decided to go back there again next year... I LOVED this place!

Room Tip: This trip was our first, we stayed in a lagoon view overlooking the lagoon not the pool (Atutaki block. Even though it was expensive (for us!) we would never go back, worth every penny!.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moanaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

And older but still popular hotel.
After our room was upgraded from the average garden room to a beach front view, we were much happier. Service was ok, but not too overly smily, but the staff were curteous. Not a luxury hotel but good enough base for exploring. Beach was nice, but the nicest beach part was in front of the beach front rooms. Hotel is not too far from the main town, about 15min scooter ride, hiring a scooter is a must and is alot of fun!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My partner and I went to Rarotonga for the first time recently. We stayed 5 nights at the Edgewater Resort and loved it. We are both 24. We arrived at the resort and were welcomed by friendly staff and shown to our room. We stayed in a Lagoon View room very close to the restaurant. We loved this room, we could sit on the balcony overlooking the pool and restaurant area and also had the most stunning view of the lagoon and ocean. The noise didn't bother us, it was quiet most of the time but we enjoyed feeling like we were in the middle of what was going on. The water by the resort is stunning (don't forget reef shoes). Lots of comfy chairs for sunbathing and absolutely stunning sunsets from this resort. Get in early to hire snorkel equipment on good weather days or you may have to wait a while. We were impressed with the standard of the room, it had absolutely everything we needed and was very clean. We found the bed to be very comfortable. The shower was great too. It was nice to have a TV with a selection of good channels for the one night we were too exhausted to go out. The food at the resort was delicious, loved the beef burger and prices are really affordable although drinks are weirdly expensive (fizzy drinks). The staff were all lovely and the activities hut staff were especially funny. Great bus service from the resort every hour and if you're lucky you will have the hilarious bus driver who talks over a microphone. We had several great games of tennis, table tennis and pool in the games room. The snorkelling outside the resort was amazing, we also went to Muri and found that Edgewater was a lot less windy and the fish were just as great. Free snorkel gear and beach towels is great. We loved the happy hour cocktails and found the breakfast to be fantastic - the bread was delicious and loved the abundance of paw paw!! The only thing that wasn't quite as good as we hoped was the massage we booked (anti stress massage). The health and beauty spa isn't very nice inside and the massages were not the best but maybe we should have gone for the more relaxing aromatherapy massage. If we could go back in time we would have gone to orientation as we missed out on a lot of good tips and finding out what was going on different days (we missed the party bus on Wed night which we would have loved). Also a good idea to book all activities very early, i.e. the first day you arrive as they book up fast (we did Koka Lagoon cruise and Raro safari tour on 4wd which were both AMAZING) and we missed out on a quad biking which we were keen to do. We also didn't book the Island night on Tuesday which was a buffet off Island food and a drumming show so we missed out on sitting in the dining room to watch the performance which was disappointing - so definitely BOOK everything early!! Also a good idea to buy a concession bus pass on the first day, we ended up just paying for all the bus trips which was a bit silly on our part. Overall we absolutely loved Edgewater and will definitely return again next year! After looking around the rest of the Island we felt lucky to be where we were at it really seemed to be one of the nicest places. Whenever we came back from town it felt like coming home! If you are young and looking for a party place, this isn't really it. The guests were mostly families but they had night life tours on Wed and Fri for when you want to party!

We loved Edgewater!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews