We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We took our primary ages boys and had a really nice family holiday. Room was lovely and right on the beach. Kids Club was there if we needed break from children and they were happy to go. They spent hours in the pool too. Free snorkel gear was available too. Enjoyed hiring scooter and riding around the island. Island Night was great - make sure you do that one, Tuesdsys & Saturday nights at this resort.
Staff were friendly and I would quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater2015, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2015

Warm greetings and Kia Orana Te Aroha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are happy to hear that you and your boys had a pleasant stay with us. We are glad that your activities and cultural entertainment with us was enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to having you back with us someday.

Should you not be a member of our loyalty programme, please contact us at stay@edgewater.co.ck for a membership application form. The Coral Club is our way of saying thank you and brings to you exclusive benefits and recognition ensuing your next stay with us is especially comfortable and uniquely memorable.

Kia Manuia,
The Edgewater Resort and Spa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Once again the environment was great & the staff just lovely & go for the beach front rooms, 4000 block if you can afford them. Always ask if there is a problem as they will assist. We are meeting friends for their 20th wedding anniversary we met on their honeymoon in 1994. THe place does that to people

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great & garden superior a bit cheaper but you will still enjoy Gluten fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronfromOzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved this hotel!
It is very clean, the staff is very nice and helpful. They offer a lot of activities, and provide snorkling equipment and beach towels. The food is very delicious and sold for a reasonable price.
Take the bus and visit the Punaga Nui Market!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Edgewater. We had a 3 bedroom garden villa which was perfect for us. Not the flashest resort and yes the tiles were very slippery when wet but hey, we didn't sweat the small stuff.The servicing of our unit every 3 days was always done to a good standard and our towels were changed every day with yummy fluffy towels. Our air con remote was missing when we arrived but the Maintenance man got on to it asap and turned our unit on manually and by the morning we had a new remote. The restaurant suited our needs in the evenings and the breakfast in the mornings was fantastic. Our kids loved the pool, especially the slide. Us adults enjoyed cocktail hour by the pool. I could go on and on about this place. Staff were all fantastic, bar, restaurant, groundsmen all so friendly (mind you, so were we) - apart from the foreign european guy at the Cultural Evening (not sure who he was but he was not very friendly) The guys at the activities hut were awesome and very informative and there were always plenty of activities on offer. We will be back for sure. Thank you for making our family trip a memorable one. Meitaki Ma'ata

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to Rarotonga recently for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Edgewater because it was where they were having their ceremony and reception. I had read mixed reviews but it made sense to all stay in the one place and not have to change accommodation over the stay. It's certainly not 5 stars, or even 4 but it doesn't proclaim to be either so I was pleasantly surprised by both the accommodation and the facilities.

After booking a package deal and choosing to stay in a Lagoon View Room, we were delighted to find ourselves staying in a beachfront room (complete with spa bath and balcony), such a treat! We had a beautiful view of sand, palm trees and the turquoise water, certainly a world away from a Christchurch winter!

The tropical breakfast was a good way to start each day with tropical fruit (but no pineapple surprisingly!), toast, cereals, juice and my favourite, the bircher muesli, yum!

Happy Hour (5-6pm) at Mal's Bar was a good chance to sample the cocktails (strawberry margaritas a particular fave!) and at $10 they were more reasonable than their normal $18 price. On the whole, food was reasonably priced but I thought drinks were quite expensive (especially $8 for a 600ml bottle of coke and $6 for a can!).

We went snorkelling (free mask and snorkels for a 2 hour hire at the activities hut) on the beach in front of the restaurant and it was really cool, lots of tropical fish to see.

Edgewater is on the bus route (buses coming at '20 to' the hour, eg - 10:40,11:40) which was handy to get into town. We also got scooters for a day which was heaps of fun, great way to see the island.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have a gorgeous view and are far away enough from the restaurant/bar to be reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just got home from spending 7 nights at the Edgewater Resort in Rarotonga.
Great place to stay. It’s the second time I’ve stayed there, the first time we had the ‘Garden Room’, which was ok. This time I discovered on the internet that if you’ve stayed before you can join the Coral Club and get upgraded. Fantastic, we got upgraded to a beautiful beach front room, champagne and fruit platter in the room, so much better than the ‘Garden Room’.
Really friendly and helpful staff. Free buffet breakfast daily (not cooked, although I think you can order it but will be charged for it).
Cultural night wasn’t as good as the first time, although it was value for money, $65 for 2, (as part of our package) and that included a big buffet dinner.
Great location. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't qualify for a free upgrade, pay the difference for a beach front room - well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We once again stayed at the Edgewater for our Rarotongan holiday. Not the flashest on the island but more than adequate. Meals in both restaurants were good and reasonably priced, staff friendly and helpful as always. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harley2010-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
561 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range: $111 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing