We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were Really, really disappointed. I”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were Really, really disappointed. I”
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We stayed there last July with my two step sons, one of whom had never travelled overseas before. We found the service very slack, both at reception and at the restuarant and bar (one night the restaurant's service made Faulty Towers look good, no kidding!).

The rooms were tired and old. The facilities limited, eg. for two tennis courts they only had five rackets which meant if people wanted to play doubles there was one court left idle. Staff blamed previous guests for stealing the rackets.
The only o.k. thing about this place were the meals, once they arrived were good and reasonably priced. Breakfasts weren't that great.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JetGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    637
    282
    102
    74
See reviews for
503
595
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I stayed at the Edgewater Resort with my family in 94/95 and 97 and plan to go back. We had a room overlooking the gorgeous lagoon. The staff were really friendly and gave us exceptional service. “Island Night” at the resort was amazing, it’s not to be missed! We had a wonderful time at the lovely hotel and can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropical_starlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were sorely disappointed when we arrived at the Edgewater resort. Our rooms were ok and the staff did their job, but the resort is terribly dated. The food was not bad, but the location was awful. It is a lonngggg walk to town and the beach at the resort is very sad. I would recommend staying at a resort on the opposite side of the island instead, where the beaches actually are how the Cook Islands is advertised.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marshymellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Edgewater Resort for 7 nights, we arrived @ 3 in the morning with a grumpy guy on reception to greet us, but were driven on a buggy to our room with our bags which was quite cool.
We spent $330 (roughly) NZD per night for our room and stayed in a Beachfront Deluxe room, we found the room to be VERY dated with the furniture, curtains and duvet cover all matching and the room was SO Big it had two queen sized beds in it with HEAPS more room in it (way too much room for two people). I also found out that our friends had a more modern room than us and paid for the same type of room. We had a nice view of the beach from our room and our own deckchairs that we could lie on, but the beach was really rocky no one swam there we just drove round the island to find a better beach to swim at which was fine. The pool was quite small for how huge the resort was and our room had doors which went into the rooms next door to us, they had locks on both sides, but that also made the rooms noisier as you could hear the people next door and all of their conversations. If I were to visit Rarotonga again I would stay at the Rarotongan or Pacific Resort, (we had friends stay there) they were very nice resorts!

  • Liked — Air Conditioning
  • Disliked — How Dated the Room was
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at the Edgewater overnight before heading to Aitutaki. and also on our return home.

Both times we had an ocean front room, which was very clean and roomy, but pretty basic. The bathroom was very large with a spa tub and separate shower. There was a decent sized patio area (we had a main floor room) with a great view. The bed was comfortable, but not amazing.

The food at the beach-side restaurant was quite good and the buffet breakfast had a very good selection of bread, fruit, cereal, etc. The pool was rather small and the hotel does attract a lot of families, so there were quite a few children around.

Overall the Edgewater was a good hotel. We were most impressed with the option to book a room just for the day at $125. There may be cheaper options, but the hotel is close to the airport and its beachfront location makes it a great place to relax if you have a late-night flight (ours was to LAX at 11:59pm).

If you are traveling to Aitutaki, this is a great stop-over hotel both on the way out and the way back.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I probably wouldn't label this as a RESORT because it has limited facilities. They appear to be throwing some $$$ at this place and upgrading but they do have a long way to go. Put it this way, if you are wanting just a place to sleep this is it. Great beach etc around the property. Food is just terrible and drinks watery. The tennis court and "games" room are disgusting. Staff appear pretty good - rude at the bike hire place opposite from reception however. Dial up internet $10NZ an hour at the games room. Very slow - like snail mail actually. Not blown away by anything.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — It's tired
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed at the Edgewater Resort for 5 nights in September 2007 while attending our friends wedding, which was being held there. We arrived at about 3am in the morning, and were greeted at the lovely check in desk by the staff, who you would never guess it was 3am in the morning by dealing with! They were lovely. Got a rather 'interesting' ride to our room with our luggage in a golf cart - which was much nicer than having to lug it around the resort, but the driver was pissed as a chook! Very lovely guy and hilarious though, and we did not mind at all! He even held a torch light on us until we got in the door all alright.

We were staying in one of the studio apartments. The room itself was great - plenty of room, had everything you needed in the little kitchen, it was clean and had a new bathroom, and the air con was already going for us when we arrived.

Had a hilarious episode with the bed though, as we finally lay down to rest, and BANG! half the bed fell down! Turned out the bed leg on one side had unwound itself, but we just put it back on, no worries.

The netting on the windows was torn a bit though - making them redundant, but the AC worked fine (frickin' cold sometimes even!) so that was no worry to us.

One night we woke up to the sound of our neighbours TV blaring (the walls were a little thin, and people in the lower apartments said that they heard people stomping above them - so try to get one on the upper floor like us!) but we rang the reception, who gave the guy a call straight away and asked him to turn it down, which he did.

So the rooms were great. On to the resort.

The beach front is lovely! Not to say it was one of the best in Raro - but you are so close to some of the nicer beachfronts, so who cares! The grooms Dad spent most of his time there snorkelling, so that mustn't of been too bad!

The pool was great, and they dont close it (we took a 2am dip!) This might frustrate the people with pool rooms, but was great for the rest of us!

Staff were all lovely that we encountered. One of the wedding party can certainly vouch for that! *wink*

The restaurant was great, breakfast adequate, but 2 things to note:

1) Order the kiddie meals - they are HUGE and way cheaper for virtually the same thing on the adult menu. I think we may have annoyed the staff after awhile, but the food was great and so cheap!

2) THE DRINKS ARE VERY STRONG!!! Rarotonga is a drinking country. If you are used to city bars which give you the tiniest hint of alcohol and a whole lot of mix - this is NOT the case in Rarotonga! I actually had to abandon one of my Happy Hour cocktails (the Shark Repellent!!!) because, even after getting them to add more mix, it was just too strong! So be wary of that when you order your drinks haha. But in saying that, they are also very cheap for what you get - so drink up!

And watching the humpback whales passing by the restaurant while you have your breakfast is just AMAZING!!!

We charged everything to the room (boy, that was fun - until the bill!) and when we went over the invoice, they hadnt overcharged us for anything.

With regards to the wedding - it was lovely. It was right on the beachfront, there was a lovely hand-made flower arch, and the reception was set away from the restaurant in its own Bure, with the most amazing food and entertainment. They even supplied us with a little stereo once the live entertainment and dancing wound up.

So all in all, we certainly enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater, and encountered nothing really that we can fault them on! Enjoy your stay there!!!

  • Liked — The staff, the rooms, the beach, the food - everything was great!
  • Disliked — Nothing really! Bed falling down was a bit funny!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing