We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister bonding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sister bonding”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 23rd of Feb for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. We stayed in two of the gardens rooms which were cleaned daily. The restaurant and bar were excellent and the staff at the resort were always so friendly.Cocktails and food all delicious. The snorkelling and swimming was good. The activities they had at the resort were wonderful and run by an excellent crew. Edgewater has everything there that you would want to get around the island and transfers to the different excursion you want to do daily. We absolutely loved it there and our first time there to so we will definitely will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    638
    283
    102
    74
See reviews for
505
595
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from 6-days holiday in Rarotonga. First time in Cook islands and most likely the last one for us. Weather was great, personnel really friendly and helpful. We bought this vacation as a special Expo promotion and what we received for the money we paid was certainly worth it. On arrival we were given promotional vouchers for dinner, which took care of three evening meals for us, invitation to managers cocktail and lots of other small perks on "My time" promo. This hotel seems to be a great place for families with children and retirees. NZ Gold card holders get special treatment. Daily activities are very helpful to occupy children of all ages. There is also a Coconut Kids Club where you could leave your child during the day and we looked at it once but were not impressed with the child-minder at the time, who totally ignored us. We stayed in a studio-apartments (2A) which was run down, dated, with dirty floors and with kitchenette not really equipped for cooking. Bed linen is very old and grey in colour. We were not impressed with food at all if you are used to good quality food - you won't find it here! Supermarket we visited in town had bare minimum, fruits and veges were very expensive. Swimming on the beach not easy as sea bed is made of corals, you really need to have a footwear on to walk. Footwear is available at the resort for free. Overall we enjoyed our time as family together but beware NO FRILLS here :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ_2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were a group of couples staying here. Due to flight arrival times we checked in just after midnight however it was hassle free checking in. We stayed in the garden rooms, the only downside was it was 3 floors up and no elevator just stairs, so had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Our room was clean and roomy but as with most hotels, refrigerator/freezer is too small. Nice to have a little balcony to sit outside your room. I enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price. It consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, toast, muffins. Best of all was the mango and the delicious bread for toasting. My husband paid extra to have a hot cooked breakfast. The pool area was great and the bar/restaurant being close by was a bonus. However the cocktails were not so great, they make them with the packet juice not real fruit juice. Considering they must have an ambundance of fresh tropical fruit, I would've expected the cocktails to have been made with fresh fruit...very disappointed. Actually I found that is how they make their cocktails all over the island, they all use the packaged juices.

For the price you pay I would definitely stay here again. It is also a nice location, the sea is right by the pool area and you can snorkel out in the lagoon for free, or just lie in the loungers either by the pool or on the sand. They also had activities like tennis, volleyball in the pool, which I enjoyed, and learnt about coconuts and how to open them, etc.

Town is about 5km from town so you definitely need a scooter or car, unless you don't mind walking in the heat. They have a tourist office at the resort where you can hire scooters and there is also a rental place across the road. Scooter is excellent for getting around the island and if you're a couple, you only need one scooter.

Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level if you have heavy luggage or have difficulty in climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time in rarotonga, we arrived on the 2nd March 2013 and stayed for 6 full days at the edgewater resort, we stayed in a garden room which was clean and everytime we would walk past the cleaners they were always very friendly and say hi and have a small conversation with you, lovely people just makes your day even better :) great place, friendly people, amazing views of the beach, great food and they have the most delicious cocktails! loved their happy hour and the customer service was great, didnt want to leave, cant wait to go back! we snorkled at the beach every morning after breakfast, was a great experience! will definatly stay at the edgewaters again!

Room Tip: I think the lagoon rooms or beach front would be alot better then garden rooms as you cant see the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewelz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Kia Orana Jewelz Y

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your fist time in Rarotonga with us here at, The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Our staff take pride in their work and love talking to our many guests we welcome to our shores, and are glad you enjoyed this experience. The cocktails are always enjoyable while watching the sunset , if your lucky your next visit you might encounter a whale jumping around just outside our lagoon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future.

Meitaki Maata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from 5 days at Edgewater which were very relaxing. We stayed in a garden room on the second floor of Nassau block. The rooms in this block are quite old and the fittings dated.
We werent overly impressed with the cleanliness on arrival, as after half an hour of walking in the room barefoot, our feet were black. Mentioned this to reception though, and they sent a cleaner in pretty quickly to do the floors. Only other issues with the room were broken window fittings, and shower mixer that wouldn't stay put in one place.
None of these were huge issues for us (as we don't spend our holidays in hotel rooms) but if they were sorted, would have certainly brought up the standard of the place.
The facilities were great, we ate a fair few times at Mal's and the food there was really nice (and quite well priced - $23.50 for most mains). The pool was good (esp as the resort was quite quiet when we were there) and the beach really good for snorkelling (amazing fish)
Did a couple of the daily activities as well (fishfeeding, snorkelling and Raw fish making) and these were great fun.
The staff were all really friendly, and really looked after our 19 month old son, and nothing was too much for them. Lovely lovely people who really made our stay great.
Overall we had a very relaxing time, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the renovated section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in an apartment which is great as everyone had individual rooms. The kitchen was good and fully equipped for cooking. Swimming on the beach not that great much better places in Vila but since around the island takes 45 mins if your driving at 40 speed then stay anywhere is welcome. Overall I liked it.

Room Tip: If you have a large family go for the apartment rooms rather than hotel rooms. Apartment can accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_aryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Kia Orana s_aryan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on our recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you found us a great place to stay for families and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday! We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Resort and Edgewater family again in the future.
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and it was very spacious which was good. I liked that you had your own washing machine, came in very handy, didn't go home with mountains of washing. Unfortunately, some of the cleanliness was not up to standard. Went to bed and there were a few blood stains to be seen on the bottom sheet so slept on top sheet instead. Don't think the duvet cover was too hot either, didn't smell like it had been freshly washed. Room mates had grit in their sheets and big blood stain on duvet. Kitchen floor hadn't been cleaned properly. White draws in my room could do with some scrubbing, had dirty black marks all over. Lighting bit too dim for my liking but saves on power I guess. A few messages had been left at reception to pass on to other guests but they were never delivered. Food was good and beach great. If you get a room by the pool, expect to have quite a bit of noise at times,especially with weddings and entertainment. Internet and gift shop good. Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Villas are further away from reception and restaurant which were private and close walk to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Kia Orana TriciaVW & readers,
We thank Tricia for taking the time to post her review on her recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are very pleased that overall they all enjoyed their holiday, along with the great amenities and service we are very popular for. In regards to the comments on the cleanliness of their villa, we have contacted Tricia for more details and investigated this further. We appreciate all feedback and take it all very seriously, as this allows us to improve in any areas which may not be up to the excellent standard we strive for. In this case we did not get it right and have apologised, and have taken measures with the staff to ensure this does not happen again.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing