We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Edgewater!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank You Edgewater!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came during February, after peak season and had pretty much guaranteed access to the resort's snorkelling gear! The fish: absolutely stunning! The resort staff are also hilarious! All of them are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTannTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Kia Orana DTannTan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had an awesome time with us here and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday! We have passed your comments on to all of our staff who enjoy receiving these.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort and Edgewater family again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    624
    270
    96
    73
See reviews for
487
580
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Edgewater and was by far one of the best times we have had there. The staff were just fantastic, all were helpful and really friendly especially Save and Sowani who were just awesome. My son is already pestering me to return later this year so he can see Save and Sowani again. If you want a place to stay in Rarotonga that is friendly and caters for both couples or families the Edgewater is the place. See you in October Paul and Tai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Kia Orana Paul C
Thank you for your great review on your most recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you loved your 3rd visit here with us and enjoyed our wonderful hospitality and facilities again. We look forward to welcoming you all back in October - be sure to ask about joining our Coral Club Loyalty programme!
See you in October!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second visit - and our honeymoon. It was great to see the friendly staff we remembered from our visit 2 years ago, Sue and Esther in the restaurant called us by name each time they saw us and this was great. Julz assisted us with a special beach ceremony and romantic dinner on the sand that was served by Sabrina. Fantastic - a really special day we will never forget. Julz was awesome taking photo's for us and everything was looked after. Big thank you's to you all for making this another memorable holiday in heaven. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Beach Front Deluxe rooms are the best for a couple - very roomy, with fantastic views over the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Kia Orana lindagoss,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your 2nd stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your "holiday in heaven" and loved your special candlelit beach dinner for your honeymoon! We have passed your comments on to all our staff, particularly Julz, Sabrina, Sue & Esther... We look forward to welcoming you both back again to our Resort and Edgewater family!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a Garden 3 Bedroom Villa for a week. The villa was a small walk from the beach and the restaurant/bar etc. As a family of 4 we found the villa to be very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had all the amenities we needed from our own kitchen to our own washing machine (much needed with young kids).
We found the staff at the resort to be very friendly and helpful.
The resort was perfect for a young family. Safe swimming beach and a small pool area. The kids club was an added bonus, although we only used it once.
I would recommend the resort to other families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RMW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Kia Orana RMW105,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your "family holiday" and agree the villas are the perfect choice for a family, as well as having all the resort amenities to enjoy, including our popular Kids Club. Once again, thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other readers, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Resort and Edgewater family again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at this resort in feb 2012 and found it very nice. the air conditioner worked well, when the door handle broke, repairs were very prompt, but no one came to help us use the safe so we gave up asking and coped fine, lucky apparently as some visitors have been burgled. This recent visit I attended a lunch at the resort and was not very happy with my steak burger, finding the meat overcooked. Friendly and welcoming service staff.

Room Tip: The more money you are prepared to spend of course the better the accommodation, Where I stayed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tevaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here back in 2003 and were happy so this time we chose to stay again, split over 1 and 3 nights with Aitutaki inbetween we were glad we did. We were even upgraded to beachfront which was fantastic. We snorkelled out front, ate there, had cocktails at the happy hour, hired a car there, got the towels from the happy chaps down by the pool, attended the crab race, very funny and entertaining. In 10 years we didnt feel that it had changed much just got busier with alot more families this time round but it was school holidays. Also I believe they have a courtesy bus to church on Sunday, if you dont have transport take this up their singing is sublime, dont miss it. Thanks for a great holiday. Brett and Naomi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Kia Orana mushyAustralia (Brett & Naomi),
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review on your second stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you just love the Cooks and everything about our Resort, and were also able to visit Aitutaki! We look forward to being able to welcome you both back again in the future! Please be sure to ask about our loyalty Coral Club membership next time you are here!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

January 6th 2013, wow I have just spent 8 days in Rarotonga at the edgewater resort and spa. We had a beach front room, and it was unbelievable, the views where amazing, the lagoon was sparkling turquoise, and to those people who were talking about mozzies and stone fish, didn't see any. We had a Aitutaki day trip, we left for a tour with Vaka lagoon cruise, what great people, we stopped at 3 different islands as well as One foot island. Trust me in saying you will never see a beach and scenery like what we saw, it is truly a slice of heaven, the photos you see don't do it justice, it's that's spectacular. The resort had really good activities every day and very accommodating , the food was good and a lot of variety. Don't think about going, just get there you won't regret it. Sandy and Noel Phillips

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet, very spacious , our room had a massive spa, good hanging space for clothing, tea c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Kia Orana Sandy & Noel,
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed all the great Activities we have on offer and also our fantastic location and stunning lagoon! We are also pleased you got the opportunity to visit spectacular Aitutaki! Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing