We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Black Pearl at Puaikura(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$341
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$384
$270
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveler rating
475
708
324
120
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
708
324
120
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti housekids clubisland nightgarden roomfish feedingtennis courtsbeach frontcrabactivities hutbeachfront deluxe roomedge waterspa bathon sitedaily activitiesgames roomtropical breakfastcocktail hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here back in 2003 and were happy so this time we chose to stay again, split over 1 and 3 nights with Aitutaki inbetween we were glad we did. We were even upgraded to beachfront which was fantastic. We snorkelled out front, ate there, had cocktails at the happy hour, hired a car there, got the towels from the happy chaps down by the pool, attended the crab race, very funny and entertaining. In 10 years we didnt feel that it had changed much just got busier with alot more families this time round but it was school holidays. Also I believe they have a courtesy bus to church on Sunday, if you dont have transport take this up their singing is sublime, dont miss it. Thanks for a great holiday. Brett and Naomi

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Kia Orana mushyAustralia (Brett & Naomi),
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review on your second stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you just love the Cooks and everything about our Resort, and were also able to visit Aitutaki! We look forward to being able to welcome you both back again in the future! Please be sure to ask about our loyalty Coral Club membership next time you are here!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

January 6th 2013, wow I have just spent 8 days in Rarotonga at the edgewater resort and spa. We had a beach front room, and it was unbelievable, the views where amazing, the lagoon was sparkling turquoise, and to those people who were talking about mozzies and stone fish, didn't see any. We had a Aitutaki day trip, we left for a tour with Vaka lagoon cruise, what great people, we stopped at 3 different islands as well as One foot island. Trust me in saying you will never see a beach and scenery like what we saw, it is truly a slice of heaven, the photos you see don't do it justice, it's that's spectacular. The resort had really good activities every day and very accommodating , the food was good and a lot of variety. Don't think about going, just get there you won't regret it. Sandy and Noel Phillips

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet, very spacious , our room had a massive spa, good hanging space for clothing, tea coffee facilities, really nice big room with good balcony, and great view to wake up to.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Kia Orana Sandy & Noel,
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed all the great Activities we have on offer and also our fantastic location and stunning lagoon! We are also pleased you got the opportunity to visit spectacular Aitutaki! Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had went with a group of 35 to the Edgewater Resort and Spa and we loved every moment of it. We had 5 three bedroom villa's 2 units and 1 beachfront deluxe unit and all of us well enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and so were the rest of the people on the island, also the cleaners that cleaned our room did an AMAZING job!!! we would go out for the day and on our return we would find our beds had been done, our towels re-stocked, our floors looked sparkling and there was sand on the floor from our jandals also we had all our valueable laying around and they placed them neatly on our draws aswell as our washing in a pile ready to be washed. 5stars for cleaning and staff. Loved my stay here... and i'll be coming back very soon :)

Room Tip: Well i can only speak for the rooms we had like the 3 bedroom garden villa's, the units by the villa's and 1 deluxe beachfront units. The only problem for us was it was far from the pool lol(laugh of loud) but besides that it was nice and quiet even though our group were loud :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Kia Orana TomT,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you all loved every moment of your holiday and experienced the wonderful friendliness and efficiency of our staff. We have passed your comments on to our staff who enjoy reading these - especially our cleaning staff. Once again, thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the three bedroom villas with five other people, and although it was a full house, there was plenty of room inside as it was quite spacious. In regards to reading some of the other reviews and responses I noticed the dates were well before we arrived, but what caught my attention was the responses from Edgewater and their "rectified the situation" explanations. However the problems people spoke about were still in fact there, regarding poor tv satellite, and the sewerage smell that came at odd times. I guess the main goal was to keep the online presence in a good favor, eager to "rectify" any issues. Other than that my stay was fantastic, I had meant to leave a gift behind for whoever cleaned mine and the girls room as they had done an immaculate job and was a nice surprise to come home to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBPhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Kia Orana BBPhun,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed our spacious 3 bedroom villas and the high level of cleaning and service.
In regards to your comment on our responses to rectify situations, we assure you we take all comments very seriously and do in fact take quite an amount of time to investigate these. Regarding the TV satellite reception, on occasion there will be rooms where the reception is not right. It is very helpful if guests let us know if they are having problems with satellite reception while they are here so we are able to send someone to check and fix the problem immediately.
You mention a sewage smell that was mentioned in reviews previous to your visit. We can assure you we have rectified this problem. You stayed here in November and prior to that we had rectified the previous problem which was in August. You mention it came “at odd times” during your stay, however we have not had any issues that we are aware of. We are sure you can appreciate maintenance issues pop up now and then, and understandably we need a day or two to address them.
Again, thank you for your review and we are pleased that you did have a fantastic stay and look forward to being able to welcome you all back again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Firstly, everywhere on this small island called Raro is beautiful! 34 kms to get around the whole place and just 1 ring road. The Edgewater - upgrade as much as you can afford I believe is the key. We stayed in a 'Beachfront Delux Suite' and had a spacious, very clean, 2 queen bed accommodation - but we gathered from friends in the other rooms that like ours, the rooms were all in need of a refresh. If its too noisy or your not happy it seems they will move you without a fuss (told by our friends) and all staff were helpful and friendly. I think it's the largest resort on the island and lots of families and little ones around. We saw a couple of weddings and they were amazing. We attended a wedding a the nearby 'Sunset' - now that was gorgeous accommodation and had the cost attached to go with it. My first island wedding I'd attended and can see why people go there. Wouldn't suggest it at their hottest time though, no one wanted to be in a dress or a shirt in the heat. Or get married later in the day like after 5pm! Nov it was humid and 28-32*.Definately go to the Italian Restaurant 'Spaghetti House' at the entrance to the Edgewater, best meal we had on the island! Generally food at the main restaurant was average and could be better. Breakfasts pretty good and you could pay for a cooked brekkie if you wanted. Go to the Police station to get your licence (nice photo souvenir) and we hired a convertable which had probably never had a service, sounded rough but didn't let us down either. NZ dollar is the currency (which was good for us Kiwis'), expensive to food shop but you can take almost anything non-liquid in with you so for a family I suggest a chilly bin cabin size, chip/packet mix dips, cheese, olives, biscuits, bread, tea, coffee, juice mixes, crackers, pâtés. Safari into the mountain area, lagoon cruise and Nada Island Night, all recommended attractions. It even has a golf course! Definately a must do once (if not more) destination. The Edgewater - jolly good value as you get what you pay for here I believe.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can. You must have working air con. Lots of the cheaper rooms are up lots of stairs. Be specific when you book what you want ie, ground floor, quiet etc if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Kia Orana Carol K,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa.
We are delighted you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday, both here at the Resort and on our beautiful island. We appreciate you taking the time to let other readers know about all our services and facilities and agree we are jolly good value, which also comes with friendly smiles, great service and a fantastic cultural experience!
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort and our Edgewater family again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews