We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could do better”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was put into block 900 for my stay at Edgewater.This block is one I would not recommend.It's a stone-throw from what seems to be the septic tank area.In the evenings in particular there was the aroma of raw sewerage radiating around the area.I would not recommend Edgewater to anyone and the stay proved to be quite a disappointment.The room I stayed in seemed dated and there were times when the water was switched off.Some staff seemed reasonably friendly and helpful in their disinterested way.Would I go back to Edgewater?No way.

Room Tip: If you are put into Block 900 please do request an upgrade. The aroma of sewerage from the septic t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Kia Orana Kiwiwestie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your holiday with us here in August. We are disappointed your expectations were not met in regards to your room. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for money holiday with a range of accommodation to suit all types of travellers and budgets, from our lead-in garden rooms to our beachfront deluxe suites and 3 bedroom self-catering villas.
In regards to your comments on the sewage odour you experienced, in August we did have a minor problem with the system which was rectified almost immediately. You did not mention whether you raised your concerns with Reception or Management, however had rooms been available we would have been happy to move you to another room or area in the Resort.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we wish you well in your future travels.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    663
    288
    109
    74
See reviews for
523
610
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

8 of us in a family group holidayed at the Edgewater. We stayed in 4 garden studio rooms in the 9000 block. This was actually a beautiful spot. While we didn't have sea views or anything fancy, it was quiet and from the back porch at our doorways we overlooked palm tree gardens and the beautiful lush rainforest up on the hills in the middle of the island. Our rooms were perfectly adequate and very clean. Our housekeeper was a sweet lady who we became friendly with - she always greeted us with a warm welcome every morning and left our rooms spotless. We had aircon and a fan in our room for comfort. The tropical breakfast buffet in the dining room daily was delicious. I loved the fresh coconut and the fresh homemade muffins. Yum. Now my 21 year old brother has quite the healthy appetite and the vast spread of breakfast always set him up well for the day.
I didn't use the pool because I preferred the beautiful crystal clear ocean right out front. There is a board by the pool which details all the activities the resort is putting on for the day. Sarong tying demos, pool volley ball competition, cooking demonstrations all lots of fun and the hosts are very funny and entertaining. 5pm - 6pm Happy hour at the bar for $10 cocktails. Yum. Between us we worked our way through most of the list. Didn't eat on the restaurant - we ate outside each night as we had scooters to explore. This resort is excellent for families, or groups. Key tip: Try and get transfers included in your package deal or hotel price - as the transfers (I think it's called Raro tours), or taxis to the airport are quite pricey! they charge per head, not for the trip. We got a taxi van from the airport which cost $20pp = $160 for a trip only 6kms down the road. And this was the cheapest deal!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet ask to be situated away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Kia Orana Amber Y,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent holiday with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you and your family group all had a wonderful holiday, and that you found your Garden rooms perfectly adequate and clean. We are pleased you enjoyed the great range of activities we have on offer for all our guests and experienced our wonderful friendly staff as well! We have passed your comments on to our staff who enjoy receiving these, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again in the future.
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are a bit late with this review (stayed in 2011). But we have found tripadvisor a great tool for researching accommodation. We booked in for a garden view room and were very excited to hear we had been upgraded to beachfront. Food was great and big meals. We loved the Spaghetti House restaurant on site. Meant to be the best snorkeling spot on Raro.Unfortunately we only heard this after we had left. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Kia Orana KimTheo,
Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us here last year, and we agree Trip Advisor is a great tool, and it's never too late to post!
We are extremely happy you had a wonderful stay with us here and appreciate you taking the time to post your review and let others know about us. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again and for you to experience snorkelling in our lagoon and see the magnificent fish life!
Until next time,
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

just returned from 11 nights at The Edgewater , we stayed 3000 block [ beachfront room] , this place is awesome, staff friendly , nothing too much trouble for any staff, room was large and the view directly onto the beach was just beautiful , sunsets amazing as is the snorkeling , water crystal clear .

We hired a scooter for 3 days which cost $50 , but be careful if you have no previous experience on a bike as we came across a nasty accident involving 2 people who sustained nasty leg / head injuries , so make sure you have travel insurance which includes motor bike hire as you will be medically retrieved to Auckland for ongoing medical care at quite a large cost I would imagine

Food prices are similar to Australia , but considering the exchange rate to NZ dollars , made it very affordable. The local bus is a gret way to get around and see the rest of the island, in particular Muri Lagoon which has the clearest blue water I have ever seen ..All in all , I would highly recommend The Edgewater and my partner and I will definately will return

Room Tip: 3000 Block [ beachfront ] away from the main pool / dining areas , large balcony , large room and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris236-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Kia Orana Chris236-12,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you found us "awesome" and experienced the friendliness of our staff and fantastic views, along with great sunsets, food & service! We have passed your comments on to all the staff who love receiving these, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future!!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful unit overlooking the ocean. Great sunsets and relaxing listening to the sea and watching the waves breaking over the reef. Plenty of activities for children and adults. Local bus drives right into the resort and you can go left or right, right around the Island. Great continental breakfasts especially the muffins. Evening meals are enjoyable as well but not cheap. In fact is similar right around the Island at all resorts and restaurants. The pool is too close to main eating areas so no privacy whatsoever. We saw 3-4 weddings during the 2 weeks we were there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing and closest to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joydeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Kia Orana joydeM,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent holiday with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a wonderful vacation, enjoying our great beach front location, activities and breakfast - especially our freshly-baked muffins! We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort in the future, to enjoy everything we have to offer once again!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We would be very happy to stay at Edgewater again. The price was very good, the rooms were average, but clean and tidy. The facilities were good, the pool is small, but you dont use it as the water is beautiful in front of the resort, excellent snorkeling spot. We hired a scooter, and ate away from the resort, which was cheaper.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Kia Orana DonnaNicholas,
Thank you for your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa in December 2011. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and are pleased to say we continue to offer great accommodation with great prices and a wide range of room categories to suit all travellers and budgets. Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Cook Islands and our Resort again in the near future.
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went back to the same resort this year (3 couples) and found it just as relaxing, enjoyable and friendly as last year. Tiki Daniels the Activities Managers is such a great character to have around and make the stay even better than what it already is. We experienced only 1 unfriendly staff member in the restaurant/cashiers on the last day of the 10 day stay. The spa needs a tidy-up but we had a wonderful time and can recommend this resort with no hesitation. Beach and snorkelling outstanding, activities very entertaining, bus service at reception which means you wait inside the comfort of reception, car and scooter hire on premise so no waiting, garden really beautiful... Will definitely return, great value for money.

Room Tip: Some sea facing room may experience more noise coming from the pool/restaurant erea. My choice is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elna van R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Kia Orana Elna van R,
We thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. It was our pleasure to welcome you all back again and we are very pleased you found your holiday just as relaxing, enjoyable and friendly as last year.
We do apologise for the unfriendly manner you experienced from one of our staff members. We have taken this up with our Food & Beverage Manager, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have also passed on your lovely comments to our staff, in particular, Tiki, who we agree is a fantastic employee! Once again, thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing