We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star - is OK if no other option,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“3 star - is OK if no other option,”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a middle of the road hotel with some good points as well as some issues. Worth staying here if the price is right and you know what you’ll get.

Bus: Arrange through the hotel the Raro bus for $40 both ways. It was OK and well air conditioned.

Check-in and front desk staff: Easy and accurate check-in. I spoke with 3 different front desk staff over the week and found them all to be very friendly and helpful.

Room: I was upgraded from a garden to beach view room. Large and relatively clean. Views are fantastic. Air conditioning worked well with the ceiling fan on all night. Bed was very very soft and the pillows were small and flat. Sheets were clean but older. This is the tropics so the room had lots of very tiny ants; one night I left my toothpaste on the counter and it was swarmed by 2 dozen ants in the morning. My travel friends found larger cockroaches in their rooms, thankfully no centipedes that bite. Housekeeping was hit and miss. They forgot some towels one day, and swept the dirt from the left side to right side of room another day.

Restaurants: The main one is the Brasserie. Busy every morning. The buffet breakfast is very basic. The only thing I found acceptable was the muesli. On the first day I ordered 2 scrambled eggs for $5, they were cooked in bacon grease (not butter), slimy and disgusting. Night meals were nothing special and relatively expensive as were the drinks. Small bottle of sparkling water was $7, pasta for $18. Also some things were called different names on the menu but were the same meals, e.g. the stir fry’s. The other hotel restaurant is the spaghetti house. It was great but you need reservations most days. I recommend the spaghetti Bolognese and the crumb topped fruit dessert – both excellent.

Beach: Kept clean. Water reasonably clean but very very shallow at times. OK for snorkeling, but very sharp and must wear foot protection.

Pool: Stay away. I used it one day. Full of kids doing whatever in the water. The pool was constantly murky with small particles floating. Certainly a bacteria soup. Pools shouldn’t look like this if maintained properly and daily.

Other: Roosters crow early morning and at random times during the days. Other guests are mainly from New Zealand or Australia and are mostly friendly. Hotel charges a lot for anything extra. Bottle of water for $6, better to walk 10 minutes and get it for half that at the convenience store. Laundry machines are $6 to wash, and $6 to dry, and $2 for a small baggie of soap. Clockwise and reverse bus stops at front desk, a good cheap way to get around, especially to go to town or Muri beach etc.

Check-out: Fast and easy. Got a later check-out at no extra cost.

I would stay again if no other option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaysways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Kia Orana Jaysways,
Thank you for taking the time to write an informative review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased you found our reception staff friendly & helpful and enjoyed the room upgrade we were able to extend to you - and consequently the amazing views!
In regards to your comments on the room and restaurant, we have taken these up with the respective Department Managers, thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Overall we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to deliver a value for money holiday experience, having a number of room categories that will fit a range of budgets that enable guests to match their budget with the style of accommodation they choose. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review and look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kia Manuia
Guest Relations Manager for
The Edegwater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    647
    286
    106
    74
See reviews for
516
601
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

If you intend staying at this resort please read the terrible and poor posts - they are accurate. Then consider the pattern in managements response - argumentative and belligerent. You can expect that tone throughout your stay and if you lodge a complaint on any issue expect the staff to tell you how wrong you are.

My room (Lagoon overlooking the pool) was basic and dated, the remote control for the TV was attached by wire to the bed side table. This is what you'd expect in a two star establishment. There were no blankets in my room just a single sheet on the bed, yes I know I cold have got one delivered. Wafer thin walls (not helped by an inter-connecting hollow doorway) meant you cold hear the people in the room next door cough and sneeze through-out the night. Expect to sleep when the yobs hanging around the pool call it a night because staff won't intervene. Don't expect the expensive wifi to work in your room either, coverage is poor and sporadic throughout the resort... let me guess they're fixing this or maybe it was just my room.

I tried to hire a car from the tour desk one morning, with one person serving I gave up after half an hour and caught a taxi into town to do the same in half the time (its about a $30 fare or you can catch the island bus- timetables at the resort). Visit the tourist info centre in the CBD for good service and sound advice. You can hire mopeds etc across the road from the resort or at multiple points around the island and in the CBD. You'll need a Cook Islands Drivers Licence, issued at the Police Station, get there early on Monday mornings at around 8.30 am otherwise you could queue for quite some time.

Breakfast was a basic continental at this resort, included in the room rate, no great drama there. However, if you are not early expect to scavenge for cutlery and sit at a table with a used and dirty table cloth - scattered with the earlier clients food scraps. The same came be said for dinner. Soiled table cloths are the order of the day. Service is hopeless and staff have that care free attitude, you'll get served when they are good and ready. The dinner menu and food is average. Try nearby restaurants that offer better quality, value and service. Kikau Hut, a short stroll away is excellent or if you have transport head to the Tamarind or Vaima. The Sails for lunch on a fine day offers an outstanding outlook.

You'll get a crowd at this resort and if that's what your used to no problem, they churn tourists here like you'd expect to see in a sausage factory. My advice, try a smaller resort, there are plenty on the island that offer better value for money and a more personable and pleasant approach. Some of the smaller resorts have "crowd free" pools, better food and service.

Summary: mutton dressed up as lamb, ordinary and disappointing. But let me guess, it's just me...

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
14 Thank Murray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Kia Orana Casual T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us here, and your expectations were not met.
Management take all criticism seriously when it is brought to our attention. If a guest has any concerns during their stay, we appreciate the opportunity to make it right, however we cannot find that anything was reported in regards to your concerns.
Your comments on regarding “yobs” in the pool at night, are guests enjoying themselves. Our pool closes at 10pm, with our 24 hour Security on hand to ensure guests adhere to these rules for the courtesy of other guests. We have however taken up your comment with our Head of Security in this regard.

In regards to your comments on the service within the restaurant, the majority of feedback we receive for our service and friendliness within the restaurant is positive. However we have taken your comments up with our Food & Beverage Manager. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Our tour desk is operated by an independent company, and due to the number of guests we have in house at certain times, there can be delays with service. We will take up your comments with the company involved.
We strive to deliver a value for money holiday experience. We have a number of room categories that will fit a range of budgets that enable guests to match their budget with the style of accommodation they choose. We have rooms ranging from our lead-in Garden Rooms up to Beachfront Deluxe suites and 3 bedroom villas which cater for 6 people. These rates include complimentary daily tropical breakfast. The feedback we have from many guests and travel industry is that we represent very good value for money.
Again, we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay here and wish you well for your future travels.
Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, while the communal guest areas were spotless our 2 bedroom apartment was below average. On entering our room for the first time a nasty nasty nasty as damp stench welcomed us, it was so bad we had to spray perfume in all the rooms straight away. Stained carpet, dusty rooms & missing knobs also awaited us. The website states that apartments are fully serviced every 3rd day unfortunately our room was not cleaned once during our stay. Grateful our towels were changed on a daily basis though. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you'd find at home e.g. cutlery, pans, pots, fridge/freezer, ice trays etc. Dishes are your responsibility. There is complimentary coffee, tea & sugar (no milk), once it's finished you'll have to supply your own. The bedrooms were filthy, behind and around my dresser there were used tissues & other rubbish from previous guests still there. The tops of the cupboards were covered in dark dust. The fan switch in my room was hidden behind the dresser so you had to move it forward to get to it and then it got even more annoying when there was no knob for it, made it hard to turn the fan on & off. The pool table is $2 a game, table tennis & tennis courts are free during the day. Food is average at the resort however the food at the spaghetti house was great, just be prepared to wait an hour for it. On a daily basis they had fun free activities for guests of all ages. Do not try entering the water without reef shoes or you will cut your feet, sand is absolutely beautiful though. The reception staff are extremely helpful and polite, we were able to get a late check out of 2pm at an extra cost of $50. I would suggest getting to the airport by taxi as it was $45 to take all 3 of us. Thankfully we didn't spend much time in the room during our stay however the apartment we stayed in definitely needs to be maintained and cleaned properly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamoaMatalasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Kia Orana Readers,
We have requested more information from SamoaMatalasi to enable us to investigate their comments further, as these are of a concern to us. To date we have not heard back, however our Executive Housekeeper & Maintenance Manager have been through our Apartments to investigate the issues raised and actioned them accordingly.
Kia Manuia
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Edgewater during September 2012. We were in blocks 3000 and in a beach front delux room. The room was faultless, clean and fantastic views of the lagoon and ocean. The resort itself was excellent, staff were friendly and helpful, food great and there was something on every night e.g music, show, coconut tree climbing and even the very famous International Crab Racing. Everything is available at the resort from car and bike hire to even the local bus calls in to take you around the island. We have no complaints at all and when we go back we will have no hesitations in staying at the Edgewater. A big "Kia Orana"

Room Tip: Beach Front Delux Rooms in Block 3000 away from pool and bars so much quiter and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Kia Orana Dennik,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed every aspect of your holiday, from our friendly & efficient staff to our perfect location and fabulous beachfront deluxe rooms! We have passed your comments on to all of our staff who enjoy receiving these, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again to our Resort in the near future. A big "Kia Orana" back to you!
Meitaki Maata
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we are a couple in out late 20s with no kids, so unfortunately this was not our cup of tea! the overall accomodation was fairly basic, but clean and tidy. Our particular apartment was poor in terms of location (no view whatsoever), so think location of the rooms would have a big impact on experience. the whole resort is geared for families and kids. location wise it is pretty close to the airport, so convienent, however the whole island is fairly convenient as long as you have a rental car so wouldnt choose accomodation based on this. overall I think there are better resorts that cater for all ages for a similar price.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Kia Orana melandjon,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased that you found our Resort clean and tidy and enjoyed our location. We are disappointed this was not your cup of tea however. We have a range of accommodation from our lead-in garden rooms to our beachfront deluxe suites and 3 bedroom villas which suit all budgets and types of travellers, which we have found caters for all ages, however, sometimes at certain times, expectations will not be met. Again, we are pleased though, that overall you enjoyed your holiday and the beautiful Cook Islands, and we do hope you are able to return to the islands in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Awesome room. We stayed in the beachfront deluxe. Loved the veiw from our porch. beautiful Sunset veiw from our room. We stayed in room 4003 and the housekeeper was so lovely. Only downfall was the island night which I booked well in Advance through the in room phone but when the night came around our room wasn't on the list so we were seated right at the back. This ruined the night for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystalung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Kia Orana krystalung,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a great stay and found your room awesome, and enjoyed the fabulous views and sunsets. They truly are spectacular!
In regards to your disappointment with your seating at our Island Night, this was clearly a communication error on our part and we do sincerely apologise for this. We hope that the scrumptious buffet and pulsating drums & dancing still made for an enjoyable evening all the same. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we do hope you are able to return to the beautiful Cook Islands and our Resort again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for a week Mid September in block 3000 the beachfront deluxe units......gorgeous rooms....gorgeous views as we were on the top level......great happy hour cocktails
BIG THANK YOU to the lady in the onsite car rentals ....so so helpful arranging all of our daytrips etc and rearranging them when we were far too hungover to go from the midweek pub crawl.....

JUST FANTASTIC ALL ROUND.......cant wait to come back next year.....

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a beachfront deluxe........quiet with beautiful views but still so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Jamie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Kia Orana Kim_Jamie_2012,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed all aspects of your holiday here with us! We have passed your comments on to all our staff, including the Tour desk staff :), and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort and Edgewater family in the future!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
3.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
7.0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing