We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge portions and great food”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge portions and great food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the first time we had eaten in the Tumunu restaurant having previously enjoyed a drink there and we were more than impressed with the standard and quality of the food and the service. I had the vegetarian platter, which was superb and huge....next time a platter between two of us will be more than ample! Pricing is very good and the ambiance is great....spend some time enjoying a pre or post dinner drink at the bar and chuckle at the endless numbers of witty signs which are strewn there, great fun. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Kia orana and Thanks so much for a great review. The reviews are seen by all of our staff - family. I truly think it is the only way that they can improve themselves and strive for an even better quality of service and food.
Hope you will visit us again when you are next in Rarotonga and enjoy once again our hospitality.
Kia manuia
Julie Bateman
for the
Tumunu Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    114
    58
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service but that's where it stops!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The service and atmosphere is fabulous - lovely staff - friendly however the food was so bad we couldn't eat it. All pre frozen and deep fried - they collected our barely eaten meals x 3, and the table over from us left with barely having touched their meals and so did the table over a bit further. However with such lovely friendly service it is difficult to be negative but truly the food was not good and the price was shocking - $30 for a plate of deep fried calamari rings, a few scallops (which were not nice) and some chips - the salad tasted bitter and horrible. This is the second time here and both times we have left unhappy. Sorry Tumunu but we won't be back a third time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WaikatoBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for your review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food. The re is no excuse for that. The staff have read your review and I can assure you that they are learnign from this. It is our policy that our team are made aware of the reviews/comments good or bad. Theyw ere truly mrotified and have stepped up since then. I hope that when you rturn to Rarotonga you will certainly come in and experience not only great service but great value for money meals as well.
Kia manuia
Julie Bateman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood platter for two....just beautiful!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Yummi seafood platter with a lot of different fishes to taste!
Not so expensive! The restaurant is really nice with a good atmosphere! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia orana
Thanks so much for the review. It is always good to get feedback, good or bad. The staff are always made aware of the reviews so they can learn from them OR just pat themselves on the back! We are really glad that you enjoyed them, the food and the Tumunu.
Kia manuia
Julie, Eric and their staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tumunu. Fine island dining.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow! A most unusual and very interesting little place to dine. Warm and friendly atmosphere, very attentive dining staff. Offers a generously sized meal and reasonable pricing. A 'must stop' for all to experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia orana and thanks so much for a really nice review. We like to pas these on to our lovely staff so they can see how people enjoyed their service.. Reviews are aways welcomed whether good, bad or otherwise, we all learn from being reviewed fairly. Hope that you will come back one day and call again to the Tumunu. Sorry that this is so late but I have been away. The girls were thrilled. Thankyou.
Kia manuia, good health, happy life, take care

Julie and Eric and the Team iof the Tumunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“totally enjoyable”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

loved the service and the seafood platter! We got a taste of all kinds of seafood and what we wanted included in the platter was flexible. we didn't want oysters so we added more scallops instead. the wallpaper was fun to look at while we enjoyed pre meal drinks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia orana and thanks so much for the great review. The staff were stoked. Yes - reviews are aways welcomed whether good, bad or otherwise, we all learn from being reviewed fairly. Hope that you will come back one day and call again to the Tumunu. Sorry that this is so late but I have been away. The girls were thrilled. Thankyou.
Kia manuia, good health, happy life, take care

Julie and Eric and the Team iof the Tumunu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing