We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dining at its best”

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Rotorua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family dining at its best”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from visiting our daughter and family in Rarotonga. On recommendation from friends we went to Tumunu for a family dinner. We had an excellent outside table in a garden setting. There was a good selection for the children and they were served first so didn't have to wait long. The waitress was friendly and obliging, taking family photos for us. The "ship 'n shore" which I ordered was perfectly cooked, tender steak and delicious seafood. The kids laughed at Nana and Poppa doing the twist to the "old school" music!
Would definitely recommend Tumunu to anyone looking for relaxed dining with great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello Ruth

Thanks so much for the ggreat review. You know it is really a great feeling when people enjoy the Tumunu Restaurant. It is even a greater buzz for us when we see people up dancing and having a good time besides just enjoying the fare.. Hope you come visit us again.
Kia manuia
JUlie and Eric Bateman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    120
    58
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eric is the best!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Best place on Rarotonga to meet friends, have fun, drinks and dinner!
Coming here since 1984.
Eric is the best!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HansT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hey thanks Heaps for the great comment. I am married to him and he certainly is the best....although he does have a few chinks in his armour occassionally.
Hope you continue to visit our Tumunu
Julie and Eric Bateman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A fun place to have dinner or a couple of coldies, yes it appears that it hasn't changed much in years but I imagine people get very sentimental about this place. If we come back and find our 'Thompike '12' still written in chalk above the door in 32 years time we might even shed a few tears! Parental guidance recommended though, lots to look at but some of those posters and photos are a bit on the x-rated side, especially the diving ones. All in good fun though!

My friend and I were lucky enough to meet Santa, though we weren't game enough to sit on his knee ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there and Kia orana
Thanks so much for taking the time to review "our quirky" Tumunu. It is home and a little like the Beverly Hillbillies and we are glad that it appeals in different ways to different people. We hope that you will enjoy it again one day and hopefully before the next 32 years expire.
Kia manuia
Julie and Eric Bateman

PS Santa rules when we have our annual party for our regulars, guests and staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was so yummy, atmosphere very nice, decoration unique. Service was a little poor. One of our tables orders were missed out so he did not get food until we had well and truly finished ours. No apology for this. Service at the bar and at the table was lacking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Kia orana Leanne

Thankyou so much for your review. Eric and I are very happy that you enjoyed your meal and our Tumunu. We do apologise for the meal mixup and the lack of service. Thisis extra ordinary for the staff. We have had a word with them and showed them your review. After doing this I am optomistic that this won't happen again. I apologise for the lack of service and appreciate your comments. Good, bad or mixed comments are what we need to maintain a standard and we do apprecite yours. We do hope that you will visit us again and comment once more when you may next travel to the beautiful Cooks.

Kia manuia
Julie and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and casual!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We made to feel very welcome when we arrived and enjoyed delicious prawns. We dined outside and the service was excellent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank UllaC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks so much for a very nice review. We like to show the staff our reviews as this gives them great satisfaction when they are so complimentary and they hope to learn from the ones that are perhaps less flattering. We know we have a great crew and as we are overseas at present, we feel they are doing an exceptional job.

We hope that you will return to the Tumunu one day and feel the service and atmosphere are just as you remembered it.

Kia manuia
Julie andEric Bateman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing