We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge meals & friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar

The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge meals & friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the Sunset Resort with a group of friends and we ate at the Anchorage on our last night. Wish we had have eaten there earlier because the meals were excellent. Very big and very tasty. Sonny is a great waiter and always has his customers laughing. keep up the good work.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank statsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    75
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

LOVED the rack of lamb with that delicious garlic mash... YUMMMMM. Breakfast was good and nice to see the fruit covered. Sonny was TERRIFIC!!!!! All the staff were great :-) Happily ate all our meals here and felt well satisfied. Not so keen on the island fries but they happily exchanged for french fries which was very good service. Virgin Pinacolada was my fav :-)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“The Place to Eat and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The friendly Staff - Waiters, food delicious and a great variety for everyone's taste. Reasonable rates. Theme nights, eg. Seafood Night. Why walk or drive elsewhere

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still a great place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had many meals here while staying at Sunset resort which this restaurant is part of. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay as the meals were all good and we didn't need to leave the resort if we didn't want. Had great theme nights and even do a weekly BBQ which was very extensive in its fare. Throughly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Clean up the breakfast buffet before you get somebody sick!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great staff; good lunches and dinners; blah breakfasts; dirty plates, bowls and utensils.

Staff couldn't have been better. Sunny, Lani, Virah, and the lady whose name I can't remember all did a great job making us feel like family. The kitchen staff knew what they were doing; meals were professionally cooked and presented.

The breakfasts were a bit blah: no variation in the menu whatever, and what with the same fruit being laid out day after day we got the impression that us guests were going to have to eat every bit of the old stuff until we got anything fresher.

The biggest problem was the dirty tableware. Bits of food stuck to plates, bowls, knives, forks, and spoons. One morning it took me seven tries before I could find a clean bowl. I've spent a few years in the food service business; this is serious. Somebody could get really sick eating off/with this stuff.

Our recommendation: Check the plates and bowls carefully, wipe your silverware, and you'll be OK.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grundoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing